We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MarQueen Hotel
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had 5 ofnus in a family room for 3 nights, and it was fine. Price was ok, room was comfortable ( beds very much so) only gripes were a ver noisy air con, and as it's an old building, no elevator ( who becomes a problem when you need to get luggage to the 3 Rd floor!). That said, the doorman was very helpful and carried most of our stuff for us, so I'm not complaining! Location is excellent, lotsnof really good restaurants right next door, and only 3 blocks frommthe Seattle centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the main road, a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveller1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    397
    159
    70
    63
See reviews for
293
417
78
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel was wonderful - it reminded me of my Grandma's house in the city. The rooms are large and our unit had a little kitchenette. There is no elevator , so we stayed on the ground floor - which limited our view and privacy as the people walking by on the street could see us and we could see them. So, its a choice - use the stairs all the time or limit your view. The room was comfortable- we were able to control the temperature ourselves. The kitchenette had plates and glasses, but no cleaning supplies - so we could not wash our own dishes. The housekeeping staff washed them , but I am not sure they used soap either as the dishes were not very clean - I used a bit of hand soap which was o-kay. There are tons of restaurants within walking dishes and a great little market around the corner. Walking distance to Seattle center made for a great visit. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions - would print them out for us.
The hotel states that you can either park on the street or use their valet. Parking on the street is very limited- so just expect to use the valet - which is about $30/day. If you need to do your laundry - you can pay them or do your own , but then you have to walk 2 blocks and wait. I would definitely recommend this place - very comfy and welcoming

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank envy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Our family really enjoyed our visit and stay at the Marqueen Hotel. Employee (Bellman?) Andrew was exceptional. He was so helpful and cheery. Whether it was helping us with luggage, getting the car, giving us restaurant info, he was always kind.

Room was very large, even a small kitchen. Hotel was confidently located to the Needle, the EMP museum and the Chihuly Glass exhibit. Even walking distance to Pikes Place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Always difficult to retrofit an old building but they did a good job. Still would be nice to have an elevator and more outlets. Mattresses very firm, a bit sore in a.m. Great service and staff. Excellent 3 star hotel, good 4 star ....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Full disclosure: Before moving to Boston I lived in this neighborhood for six years.

I recently stayed at the Marqueen Hotel with my husband for a week's vacation. Knowing Seattle well I knew that I would be happy staying in Queen Anne. This particular area of Queen Anne (known as Lower Queen Anne as you are situated right at the bottom of Queen Anne hill) is a short walk, taxi or bus ride to downtown and the immediate area has a lot to offer in the way of bars, entertainment, and restaurants.

Our check-in was easy and we were told that we had a room on the second floor. Not an issue for us but people booking here should know that there is no elevator in the Marqueen, though someone will help you with your bags if you need assistance. I was so happy with our room - we had a large, quiet room on the second floor that came with a (large) kitchenette. The room had a comfortable king-sized bed, nice pillows (and lots of them), an air conditioner for warmer days, and a great little sitting area with a loveseat and two armchairs. There's a coffee maker in the kitchen but I highly recommend popping down and grabbing a coffee from one of the coffee shops nearby such as Ladro or Uptown. Every morning I woke up to find a copy of the day's paper outside of our door, and I enjoyed grabbing a coffee and then settling down at the kitchen table to read the paper, catch up on email, and drink coffee. It was incredibly pleasant.

The bathroom is very nice including a full size tub for those who like a long soak after a day of sightseeing. The water pressure was good and water in Seattle is not too hard, not too soft - just right. Wi-fi was free and reliable, we didn't have any problems with our connection.

The rooms at the Marqueen are so charming, it made me very happy to have such a lovely place to come "home" to at the end of each day. The building is well-maintained but it's almost 100 years old now, having been built in 1918. They've done a great job keeping the original style of the building while offering modern amenities.

Room Tip: For people with mobility issues be sure to request a room on the first floor as this hotel does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattle_ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Enjoyed our brief stay here. Very nice lobby, dated rooms with questionable décor but generally agreeable. Our stay was unfortunately cut short by a situation with another guest...yet even in this respect, the staff were extremely professional, understanding and accommodating. Recommend this hotel and will try another stay myself in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I love the Marqueen. The hotel is eccentric, fun, quirky, beautiful, and convenient to a lot of Seattle's attractions.
The hotel is attractively decorated including a lot of fun old pictures from the Queen Ann area. There is real wood floors in some areas as well as cast iron tubs and with water fittings that is clearly from a by gone age. Despite being 100 years old the hotel is very clean. The MarQueen was originally small apartments and the rooms reflect their previous use. Out of the four different rooms that I have been in three of them looked more like apartments than hotel rooms. The rooms I have spent the most time in had a main room, a setting room, a bathroom, and a kitchen with a full size fridge and a regular kitchen table. The only negative "quirk" about the Marqueen is that they seem to be deferring some maintenance. Everything worked just fine but the shelf above the sink tended to lean toward the sink so that everything wanted to slide into the sink. Like wise the tub was completely clean but the porcelain was chipping off the inside.
The service at the MarQueen is excellent everybody is friendly and helpful all the time. Not once did I feel like the staff was overworked, minimum wage people who were counting the minutes until they got to leave. These folks take pride in their work!
If you do not mind a little walking the MarQueen is in a fantastic spot. It is surrounded by great restaurants in all directions and lots of local attractions. From the hotel we walked down to Pike's Market and all along the water front as well as up QueenAnn to the shops and restaurants there.
Some "must sees" if you stay there is Seattle from Kerry Park, the fountain by the Science museum, and of course Pike's Market.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kp1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#33 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Inn at Queen Anne
#72 of 100 in Seattle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarQueen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarQueen Hotel

Property: MarQueen Hotel
Address: 600 Queen Anne Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarQueen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Queen Anne's main street, and just a short distance to downtown Seattle, the MarQueen Hotel is in the center of a vibrant neighborhood close to local tourist attractions. Enjoy some of Seattle's most popular restaurants, nightlife, boutique shops, Pacific Northwest Ballet, Seattle Opera, and Space Needle, right outside our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MarQueen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing