We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend! Loved it!”
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MarQueen Hotel
Ranked #53 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We've previously stayed at "historic boutique" hotels before and have been disappointed. However, the MarQueen definitely exceeded our highest expectations! The history behind the hotel is very interesting, and photos with detailed captions describing the history are located throughout the hotel. The staff was helpful, friendly, and attentive. The newly added continental breakfast was delicious, especially the coffee! And the rooms were the best!!! Loved the decor, large comfy bed, full kitchen (with dishes and utensils), and lots of room! Also enjoyed the hotel-provided shampoo, conditioner, lotion, oatmeal soap, and aromotherapy patches to assist in a restful night's sleep. The location was great, too! Within blocks of the Space Needle and a short drive to downtown Seattle. Would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojobsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2009

This venerable brick building served originally (in the early 1900s) as household quarters for automobile mechanics. There were other uses before its renovation as a hotel. Excellent value on Priceline: about $60 (vs current $149, less 10% AAA). Old building, wood floors creaky on occasion if you care. Occasional "bumps" perhaps in plumbing.

Downsides: expensive ($20 valet-only / but secure, off-street) parking. Other reviewers complain of street noise but my room faced on Queen Anne Avenue at ground level and I experienced no disturbing noise. Earplugs and heavy drapes provided. No elevators; bell staff will help you to upper-floor (or to any) rooms, or ask for a first-floor room.

Upsides: easy access to public transportation; a free scheduled shuttle to Pike Market, downtown/Westlake, Convention Center, Ferry Teminal; walk to Seattle Center/OperaHouse/Space Needle/Theatres. Safeway, Starbucks, Bank of America and many restaurants within two blocks. Very spacious well-lighted rooms (I estimate 750 sq ft, with large living/bedroom, ample kitchen/dining/work area, sizable bathroom, walk-in closet with terry robes); king beds, sofa, big TV, nice bathroom linens and unusual amenities, a kitchen area with dishes andflatware, apartment refrigerator, coffee maker and coffee, microwave, sink, charming decor. Easy working temperature adjustment. Friendly staff. Guest laundry in sister hotel (Inn at Queen Anne), 2 blocks. Flawless free wireless (about 1/5 of home high-speed, depends on user traffic and probably slower in summer) but ample for me). Generous included continental breakfast, generous hours. Newspaper at door each morning.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike110742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

This hotel is quite deceiving. Visit their website, read their literature, even walk into their lobby, and you'll believe that you are in for a treat... though quickly you'll be terribly disappointed. It wasn't long after check in that I needed some ice. After roaming the halls and not finding an ice machine I call the front desk, only to find that there is no self serve ice machine... ok, I could live with that, but waiting for it to be delivered (30 minutes later) was not okay. Next up, I decide to take advantage of their shuttle service... of course that is not as advertised- it must be arranged 24 hours in advance and only stops at a few locations at fixed times throughout the day! Inconvenient and impractical. Ask the front desk for directions, tourist advice, ANYTHING, and you're confronted with a whole lot of Uhhhh's and hmmmm's. Not helpful! All of this I could deal with, but the clincher came when the "free wi-fi in every room" wasn't working in our room. I went to the front desk and told an (overwhelming) blond agent my problem, and she said that the wi-fi was complimentary and thus not guaranteed. When I pressed the issue, she said she'd talk to the manager, but as I walked away she said some incredibly rude and degrading things about me!!! Of course, I was eventually contacted by a manager who said there was nothing she could do about the internet, but when I told her what the front desk agent had said,she said I must have misheard!!! Urgh... I've never been confronted with such an overall lack of professionalism and ineptitude in all of my travels. There must be better places to stay in Seattle.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lomesola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

If you want to come to Seattle and actually experience what it's like to live in town, this is the place to stay. The rooms are converted turn-of-the-century apartments, which are quite common in the city. Like many of those apartments, the hotel has updated and improved the rooms only where necessary, but keeping up the mainenance as best as possible, while retaining the historic charm. There is a catch; the plumbing is old, noisy, and unpredictable. I haven't had a shower like that since I moved out of my old North Tacoma home (c. 1923). So many different temperatures, such a short amount of time! Charming, sure, but definitely NOT enjoyable. I would recommend upgrading the plumbing to a modern recirculating hot water system. Also, the television in the room was old, not HD, and was clearly wearing out. Again, this is what living in Seattle, especially on Queen Anne, is ACTUALLY like.

The flip side, of course, to the imprefections is the absolutely excellent location. This area of Queen Anne is one of the most convenient areas in Seattle to stay in. Restaurants, bars, shopping, entertainment are all very numerous and right around the corner in literally every direction. And although the view of the water and mountains from the front of the hotel is excellent, I recommend a short walk up the hill to Kerry Park for the best view in the city (get your own directions, I know you know how; maps.google.com). I will warn you, it's a very steep hike up Queen Anne Ave. But well worth it for the view.

As a former resident in the neighborhood, I can tell you street parking in the area is difficult to say the least. For this reason, I utlized the hotel's valet parking extensively. You get in and out privelages, but I recommend calling ahead from your room to have your car brought up as it does take a few minutes, especially around check-in and check-out times.

I found the staff (especially the doorman) to be VERY attentive. I took more advantage of their services than usual as I was staying at the hotel for my brother's wedding (held off-site), and I was thoroughly impressed. They met every reqeuest and didn't give anyone any grief over any of it.

Another warning: rooms on the front of the hotel are subject to noise from bar across the street (and just general late-night street noise) that can last into the wee hours of the morning. if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the back. The catch with that is, you don't get the view. Personally, I'd rather have the view. The street noise really wasn't bad except for one guy who came out of the bar yelling up a storm at 2am. He was gone quickly and I was back asleep.

Room rates are reasonable. They're not the cheapest you'll find in Seattle, but for what you get, they are reasonable. Other reviews complaining seem to be out of touch with what things cost in a city like Seattle. I've paid considerably more for rooms in downtown that were not as large and had half the character.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pglein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

In a city full of over-priced hotels, pretentious venues and expensive parking, my wife and I have struggled to find a reasonable place to stay for our occasional trips from Eastern Washington.

This hotel was a nice surprise. It is an old and partially renovated apartment building (I say partially, because the vault of the rooms are basically untouched beyond paint, the floors need a good polish and kitchens are not updated) with pleasant and tasteful decor. Our room had a fairly new Queen Anne (?) style bedroom set and a nice small sitting area, but really could not escape the feeling of just being old.

The advantages are clear: it is a good value if you can get a room in the lower $100's (the rack rates are not a great value), it is walking distance to a number of theaters, activities and neighborhood restaurants, the kitchen is a nice plus (so you can stay in a hotel and box your unfinished dinner), street parking is available in an area that is not so seedy that you don't get over the initial nerves and the rooms are pretty comfortable if you can get past the lack of updated trimmings.

By the way, our doorman was unusually attentive. Maybe someone reads these reviews...

;-)

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ZagreusAmmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

As many other travelers have noted, this is a beautiful old building (actually a former apartment building) on the fringe of downtown Seattle.

The hotel is located at the foot of Queen Anne Hill, a lively commercial and nightspot area.

The building itself has a lot of potential. It was built around the turn of the 20th century, and is loaded with "Old World Charm", as they say. The owners have tried - rightly - to capitalize on this heritage, with historic photos on the wall, and Victorian-style potted palms and plants in oversized urns.

There are lovely oriental carpets and the rooms are large- - they are really "single" apartments (size-wise they are between a one bedroom and a studio).

So what's the problem? There are a few, actually. We noted that the management has TRIED to capitalize on the historic nature of the building, but they have come up a bit short.

To wit: The aforementioned potted plants? Fake. The oriental carpets (and the rest of the carpeting, for that matter) were tired and dingy. Not filthy, but dowdy. The red carpet (a nice touch) on the marble steps at the main entrance was marred by two crushed cork-tipped cigarette butts on the night we arrived.

These details belie a standard of cleanliness and care that is noticeably below par. The place aims to be your glamorous old aunt but actually comes off a bit dowdy. The old girl needs a good scrubbing and some TLC.

Then there is the matter of service. We have stayed at the Marqueen three times, and the service has been uneven. Sometimes very good, but more often simply lackadaisical, and occasionally surly. (Open note to management: An establishment that employs a "doorman" should instruct that person to OPEN THE DOOR for people as they approach, and not merely watch as patrons struggle to do so on their own).

One gets the impression that these problems -- irritating though they may be -- are not insurmountable. Nothing that a visit to the beauty parlor for the building, and a refresher course in boardinghouse manners for the staff couldn't cure.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank trippPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

My family and I stayed at the Marqueen in early September, and we were thrilled with the lovely charm and ambience of the hotel. It felt more like our own little apartment room rather than a plain hotel room. My wife especially loved the little 'sitting room' area.

There was a nice little kitchenette in our room, but please be warned that there are little or no utensils in order to cook anything more than a very simple packet meal. We are used to self contained rooms in most hotels including mixing bowls, can openers, cork removers, olive oil and other basics, but you don't get any of that here.

Nevertheless, there are a couple of great supermarkets only a block away which can supply these and lots of great ingredients to cook.

The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the Seattle Center and Space Needle. We stayed here for nearly 2 weeks, and had absolutely no noise problems from the surrounding bars or other rooms. We were on the second floor facing at the back of the hotel.

Definitely a highly recommended property, and we would stay there again if ever in Seattle.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DevanSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 104 in Seattle
1,583 reviews
Inn at Queen Anne
#73 of 104 in Seattle
1,086 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#46 of 104 in Seattle
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarQueen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarQueen Hotel

Address: 600 Queen Anne Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £83 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarQueen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Queen Anne's main street, and just a short distance to downtown Seattle, the MarQueen Hotel is in the center of a vibrant neighborhood close to local tourist attractions. Enjoy some of Seattle's most popular restaurants, nightlife, boutique shops, Pacific Northwest Ballet, Seattle Opera, and Space Needle, right outside our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your MarQueen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing