We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service was terrific”
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MarQueen Hotel
Ranked #54 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2007

I read all the reviews, but questioned if they were "planted" or for real. Well, they were for real. Everything we asked for was taken care of immediatly. It was as if the desk staff knew what we wanted before asking.

Loved the room, especially the kitchen and small reading/parlor. Robes were provided as well as coffee and tea. We did some shopping at the market down the street which saved us a few dollars on food but don't miss Peco's restaurant across the street. They have a Happy Hour breakfast between 9:00am and 11:am with just about anything on the menu for $6.00. Lots of other dining options within a few short blocks.

Should we return to Seattle, this will be our first stop.

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank readytogo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,215)
There are newer reviews for MarQueen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2007

The service at the front counter and valet was above average. The hotel has a very bad smell as soon as you enter. The smell is musty/ moldy and is not only at the entrance but in the room we stayed in room 214. The excuse by the front desk employee was that the woman's rest room on the first was the cause of the odor and it comes and goes. The bed mattress needs to be updated. Air flow / ventalation needs to be examined - the A/C was a window type that was not adequate for the room size. The daily valet was pricey at $18 per day. The Space Needle was within 10-15 minute walk- would not suggest taking a family on the walk in the evening hours as some of the street people gave us concerns. Overall, an ok stay- if you have allergies or do not like the "grandma" musty/ moth ball smells suggest paying a little extra to get better air quality.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Zipjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

My friends and I stayed here at the start of a road trip to California - a great way to start our trip! The MarQueen is a beautiful period hotel with lots of original features. The staff are really helpful and there was a free wine reception the first night we were there. Our room was large and very comfortable. The kitchen area is great , there's air con, TV, WIFI, a seperate sitting area etc. We also found it to be a great location for exploring Seattle - great restraunts right opposite and walking distance to the Space Needle. Compared to other hotels in Seattle - very good value too!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank clarasri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

My husband and I chose the Marqueen as our wedding hotel in July. After talking with almost every other hotel in seattle, the Marqueen had the best rates for the rooms/amenities (they also run a stay 3 nights, get the 4th free- check out their website for these deals!), excellent location and were amazingly easy to work with. They offered us a small block of rooms without needing a guaranteed %, and being a detail fanatic, I went back and forth with the guest service manager MANY times and he was always super nice. They also left us a bottle of champagne in our room the night of our wedding! Very thoughtful.

The rooms are like small apartments- the pictures posted by previous guests are very accurate and we also stayed in room 202 (has a nice view out the front of the hotel onto 1st?). They have a small kitchenette, built in dining space, huge bedroom and a small sitting room. We used 202 as the brides getting ready room, and it housed all the people and comer/goers without ever feeling crammed.

The marqueen itself is an older building with great architecture and light, so we also took our 'first sight' pictures here before we headed off to the wedding as bride/groom.

What I like most about hotels, once they have the basics down (large room, clean, internet, etc) is the service. And with a bellman to help you the second your car pulls up, and who opens/closes the front doors for you every time you arrive, and the front desk who were very nice... the marqueen adds the extra touch you're looking for! Esp during your wedding weekend.

Other details:
- Only drawback (for some, but I didnt think so) is that they dont serve breakfast. But you have a kitchenette or Pesos across the street has very yummy breakfasts!
- Very close to multiple restaurants on lower queen anne, 2 large grocery stores, a Kits Camera (which came in handy), dry cleaners, Kinkos and 2 starbucks- all within a 4 block radius of the marqueen.
- Super clean rooms and the maids were really good about not disturbing all our wedding stuff, yet still organizing the room during service.
- They have a downtown shuttle which was awesome (fyi- the marriott on lake union doesnt have a shuttle- we had some guests staying there and overall, were disappointed).
- Parking was easy, although we valeted with the hotel most of the time for minimally more.
- FREE internet, which also worked well/fast! Hooray.

* I didnt notice an elevator for older guests or handicapped, although there might have been one. But they do have rooms on the first floor.

Overall, 5 stars and we highly recommend the Marqueen! Enjoy.

(I havnt added our own pics, as room 202 was already posted by another reviewer, and we were quite messy in our room! But their pictures are very good and truly show the room as we had it as well)

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank seattle&munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2007

We stayed at the MarQueen hotel for just one night & it was wonderful. Previous reviews mentioned the noise from the front of the hotel so I requested a room on the 3rd floor at the back and it was very quiet. It was a 5 minute walk to the Seattle Rep Theater, with lots of restaurants to choose from along the way.
Our room was quite large with hardwood floors, crown molding & no musty smell whatsoever. The room and the hotel overall was very clean and beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JP21Portland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

I enjoyed my stay at the MarQueen immensely, the reception staff were very polite, professional and helpful. The ambience and scented smell of the reception gave it a very welcoming, warm and homely feel. I stayed in 201 and was right by staircase on first flr so luggage wasnt a problem despite no elevators.
Noise from Pesos bar/restaurant outside and Queen Anne avenue was quite excessive, but this was no problem with windows shut. Appreciated opening windows to air con, although AC was quite loud. Bathroom was good, kitchen & breakfast area was large. Microwave, large fridge and coffee machine. No washing liquid and tea towels made using kitchen difficult but appreciated kitchen towels. 10/15 minutes walk from Space Needle. Local Safeway was convenient too.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kdtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2007

Stayed at Marqueen for a week. Expensive. Different experience than staying at the typical hotel-chains. More "charming". Variable service from front-desk, but mostly positive and helpfull staff. Room (211) was spacius and quite (asked for quite room, and got it), but no view. Window faced a brick wall. Probably better in 3 floor.

Cleaning could have been better, and the hotel in general should soon have a general clean-up.

Close location to space needle and Belltown.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thomasl_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at Queen Anne
#74 of 102 in Seattle
1,079 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 102 in Seattle
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarQueen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarQueen Hotel

Address: 600 Queen Anne Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £106 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarQueen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Queen Anne's main street, and just a short distance to downtown Seattle, the MarQueen Hotel is in the center of a vibrant neighborhood close to local tourist attractions. Enjoy some of Seattle's most popular restaurants, nightlife, boutique shops, Pacific Northwest Ballet, Seattle Opera, and Space Needle, right outside our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your MarQueen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing