We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so restful getaway...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not so restful getaway...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Stayed at the Renaissance Seattle Hotel for 2 nights for a little R&R, shopping and dining. On booking the room, I requested a high floor, and we found our room on the 16th floor. The room itself was very nice; clean, updated bathroom, comfortable beds. Disappointing that it overlooked the highway.

We enjoyed the restaurant and lounge R View on the 28th floor, with breathtaking views of Seattle harbour and the Space Needle.

Don't be shocked that the Valet parking is $36 per day.

The biggest downfall was that the room was constantly filled with noise from the I5. Combined with the noise from the air conditioner, spending time in the room was irritating, and I did not sleep at all... so much for a restful getaway to Seattle.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank quirkygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and your feedback.
I am sorry that the traffic noise did disturb you at times. We are working on a solution to reduce to noise levels in our rooms.
I do appreciate your great comments about the rooftop restaurant and the service of our staff. We do believe that the view from R view is as good as any in the city.

While we do charge $36 for valet parking our self parking rate of $30 is significantly below the valet parking rate and below the average hotel parking rate in the city.

We are looking forward to your return visit to us on your next visit to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    833
    324
    119
    45
See reviews for
270
548
108
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at the Renaissance in Seattle this August. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay. Even though we booked through Hotwire, they honored my Marriott preferred status and offered free WIFI. Based on previous reviews, I requested a room on the west side of the hotel away from the highway. We had no noise issues on the 5th floor on the west side and still managed to score a king room!

Pros:
1. Well appointed business class hotel
2. Self park for $30+tax = $36 which is a little cheaper than valet at other hotels
3. Comfy bed, clean room

Cons:
1. Hotel is at Madison and Sixth Ave, which requires a very steep hike up hill. We learned that Pike Street has the least incline and walked on that street before heading east to the hotel
2. Noise can be substantial on the east side of the hotel, try to request a room on the west side or a higher floor on the east.
3. Bathroom has a sliding door which doesn't offer much privacy...

**Parking garage can be treacherous, so it's best to avoid driving since you don't need the car in downtown Seattle. We took the Light Link everywhere we didn't want to walk and it was sufficient.

Overall, a great experience for the price. We would stay at the Renaissance again....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us and the nice comments about your experience.
Your approach to the hotel, walking East to 6th and to the hotel on 6th avenue, is indeed the easiest way to the hotel. An alternate way of getting to the hotel is with the #10 busline right from Pike place market, the trolley stops right in front of the hotel.

We hope you will return to Seattle and the hotel real soon.

Rene Neidhart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

A nice, upscale hotel in downtown Seattle. It's expensive, being in downtown, and parking prices are a bit of a sticker shock. But the beds are way comfy, the rooms are pretty big and really clean. Maxwells' is a pricey but good place for breakfast (in hotel, second floor). The 28th floor lounge is quiet and has good views of the city. Again, food and drink is a little pricey. I choose to stay here as a one-night minivacation - a little luxury. Generally I eat dinner somewhere else around town and relax in the hotel (most rooms come with a bathrobe!).

It's about three blocks from the waterfront and a good walk uphill. You can walk to restaurants on the piers and get your blood going on the walk back.

Staff have always been friendly and outgoing, especially with recommendations on local places to eat (I mean LOCAL, little hole in the wall places you'd drive right by that are very well priced with fantastic food!). Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongshotDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments about our hotel.
We are very proud of our service and product. Especially the lounge on the 28th floor has been a great hit with locals and visitors alike.
We change the menu on a quarterly basis and the view is the best of any hotel in town.
We look forward to serve you again on your next visit.

Sincerley,

Rene Neidhart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We went through hotwire.com to book this hotel and what a mistake it was. Selected a 4-star hotel and in my opinion this hotel should not be rated higher than a 3-star. The service and staff were excellent. However, the accommodations were very outdated (although their website states that the hotel was recently renovated). Along with the outdated hotel, our room remained a very HOT 82 degrees throughout our stay which led to much discomfort and 2 hours of back and forth contact with the hotel staff. We paid $20 for a room upgrade for a better view of the "harbor" which didn't really matter since we were not able to open the curtains which was our only solution to keeping additional heat out of the room. Also, it close enough to the Pike Market if you drive but quite a walk of up and down hills. No pool and no spa. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parveen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. I do appreciate your nice comments about our staff and our service. We do pride ourselves on great customer service.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations in regards to our product.
We continously upgrade our hotel and start on a major upgrade of our guest room corridors next month. Our guest rooms were recently refurbished.
I am sorry that you had issues with the a/c unit. We have fixed the problem in the meantime and everything is in fine working order.
I hope you reconsider and will stay with us on a future visit to Seattle.

Sincerely,
Rene Neiddhart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We just returned from 3 nights and while it wasn't a bad stay this hotel is plagued by a litany of little issues that could be easily rectified. The good part; the beds are comfortable, temperature control including openning windows perfect and the location is pretty good. Water pressure OK but not great. On the downside the pillows are terrible and then the litany of little irritants:
- no robes (even cheap terry ones would suit this level of hotel)
- no wine glasses and $3.50 charge to have delivered
- a "free" business centre with a charge for internet
- water bottles provided with no indication that they are $3.50/per
- typical north american charge for in room wifi
Marriott can make this hotel worthy of the Marriott name but we are unlikely to come back to see if they have.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us and your comments about our hotel.
While we try to satisfy everyone we do sometime miss an opportunity and for that I do apologize. We do offer bathrobs and free water in our club levels rooms. In our other guest rooms we have stickers on the bottle cap that indicate a $3.50 charge. We will monitor the situation and review if we should go with the traditional hangers in the future.

Thank you again and I hope we will be able to serve you on your next visit to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Received a reasonable rate in comparison to other downtown Seattle hotels on priceline. Was skeptical going in after reading some reviews on trip advisor. Here is how it broke down for us:
Arrival- pretty easy to access. Drove into the parkade upon arrival. Caution to those with trucks/SUVS as clearance was only 6' 2 which is the bare minimum for a standard half-ton truck. We barely fit through. From there we went up to the lobby for easy check-in, made requests for king sized bed and room facing west (away from freeway) both of which were met. Stayed on 15th floor which made for nice views.
Room- Decent sized room for the amount of time we spent inside. Clean and modernized. Shower was pretty low with minimal pressure and temperature kept randomly fluctuating. Bed was large and comfy.
Location-after reading other reviews, was initially concerned with proximity to Safeco/Harbour/Pike Place. Was pleasantly surprised to find out everything was a relatively close walk, Safeco being the longest at 25 minutes or so. Read a lot of complaints about the steep hill going back up but there are alternate routes from Pike Place/harbor.. just consult a map! Otherwise it made for good exercise.
Service- Concierge desk was very helpful in choosing restaurants, transportation options and providing other advice. Friendly and easily accessible at a variety of hours.
Conclusion- Came from Alberta to watch the Mariners/Jays series and take in the sights. Left wishing we could stay longer at this fantastic hotel in a very diverse and fun city. Don't forget to check out three Rview lounge on the 28th floor for a nice drink and view of downtown skyline.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for yuour great review about our hotel and staff.
We do appreciate you took the time to write to us especially about our great roof top lounge.
Indeed we believe this to be the best roof top bar in Seattle.
Again thank you and we hope to see you again real soon.


Rene Neidhart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Loved this hotel, it was beautiful and they gave us a suite since we were there before going on a cruise for our 50th wedding anniversary with our family. The only downside is if one decides to walk to the Pike Market, it is straight downhill which wasn't too bad on the way down. But coming back up was pure torture. So I would suggest taking a cab either or both ways. That is the only reason I gave it 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryGinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Mary,

Thank you very much for your great commentsabout our hotel and our staff..
While we are somewhat on a hill, there is an alternate approach from Pike Place Market that is less steep and much more comfortable to walk. Taking 6th avenue from and to Pike Place is less of a challlenge than going down to first. The city becomes flater on the northern end.
On your next visit with us keep this in mind and your stay will be more enjoyable.
Thank you again.


Rene Neidhart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
W Seattle
#37 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Executive Hotel Pacific
#65 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#51 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance Seattle Hotel, a stylish hotel in downtown Seattle and one of the hotels conveniently located near CenturyLink and Safeco Fields, Pike Place Market, and upscale shopping. Our Seattle, Washington hotel eliminates travel stress thanks to easy access to major freeways and Sea-Tac International Airport. Unwind in spacious, guest rooms with stunning views of Puget Sound, the mountains and city skyline. From colorful paintings by local artists displayed in the lobby to a fully-equipped fitness center and high-speed Internet, our downtown Seattle hotel amenities outshine the rest. Bring a furry travel companion along to keep you company at one of the top pet-friendly hotels Seattle has to offer. Book your next event at our state-of-the-art 28th floor event space, and discover how our Seattle Marriott hotel seamlessly combines style, comfort and technology into an unforgettable urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing