We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but falls a bit short”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Ranked #48 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice, but falls a bit short”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I'll start off by admitting that I am a Marriott property fan, so when I stay at a Renaissance and it doesn't have the touches I'm used to it's always a bit disappointing. The Seattle Renaissance (part of the Marriott family) is lovely - great lobby and a spacious and attractive room. The person who checked me in was pleasant and welcoming. Now for the down sides - the bed isn't as comfortable as Marriott beds and the pillows are very hard. I was shocked to be awakened by freeway traffic noise beginning at 3 a.m. (no insulated glass on the freeway side of the hotel?). And this is picky, but would be important to some Trip Adviser readers - I had a very difficult time turning on the lights by the bed. The switches aren't intuitive and once located, certainly aren't accessible for many people. All this isn't to bash the hotel at all, just to provide others with info that might help them choose a better room if they stay here.

Room Tip: Request a room that isn't on the freeway side if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you so much for being a loyal Marriott fan and of course for staying with us.
I am sorry you did not like our pillows but I have good news for you, we will get the new Renaissance bedding program in the early part of next year.
Again thank you and I hope we will see you soon again.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    870
    333
    123
    45
See reviews for
291
569
114
606
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for walking to pikes market and downtown seattle. Also, a short walk from the monorail. It was too foggy on our stay, but I hear the view of sunrise is breathtaking in the winter from the upper floors of the hotel. Clean rooms, friendly staff, overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 31Megan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank so much for staying with us and for your great review.
I am sorry that it was foggy while you were here. You heard correct the view from the rooftop lounge is absolutely stunning, so you will have to come back to see it for yourself.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pemberton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Nice property, hotel rooms clean and fresh. Staff were helpful and courteous. Hotel is short walk to downtown core. Hotel is beside highway but didn't notice it as we turned on the fan for A/C unit which drowned out the noise. Pillows were a bit too large for myself, but that's my personal opinion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Dustin,
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your great review. We do appreciate your great comments about pour cleanliness, our staff and service.
Thank you and I hope you will be back real soon.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our stay in Seattle. The hotel is located in downtown and walking distance to restaurants and about a 15-20 minute walking distance from Pike Place Market. It is on top of a hill so be prepared for a steep hike. I nearly keeled over after walking up to the hotel the first time. There is also a Bartell Drugstore a block away which is really easy to pick up for anything that you might need.

The rooms were nice and clean and the front desk was friendly. The concierge was knowledgeable as well and gave us some good recommendations for sight seeing in Seattle.

Overall, the rooms were decently sized. It might be a little cramped for four people but it can fit two perfectly fine. Parking is expensive but I'd think it's about the same price as any downtown parking establishment. We also booked our stay through Priceline since rates can be pretty high to stay in Downtown Seattle but I thought we paid a decent amount for a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrganizedTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We really appreciate your visit to our hotel and your great review.
While it is hilly if you approach the hotel from the western side of the city, it is a much easier approach from the north. I do appreciate your nice comments about our front desk and concierge staff. We truly try to make every stay an experience.
We look forward to your next visit with us.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastsound, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel offers quite good service but the room was disappointing for its four star rating-no full length mirror, dim lighting throughout, the irritating & overly complicated Lodgenet TV. The bed was comfy but the furniture had seen better days.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you Gwen for staying with us and your nice comments about our service.
Each room has a full length mirror behind a sliding glass door and you will be happy to learn that we no longer have the Lodgenet TV system. We know offer cable TV.

I hope you will return to stay with us on your next visit to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Although we arrived early, we were given room 1212 without a wait. The room did not disappoint. We walked downhill to Pike's Place, ate lunch at Steelhead Cafe, breakfasted at Specialties Bakery down the escalators at Columbia Center, and bought wine to take on the ship at a nearby drug store. We had taken a Stila Limo from the airport to the hotel for $45. We rode in a taxi to the seaport for $16.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunni65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel when you came to Seattle this summer and your great review.
While check in time is 4pm we always try to get people in the room as early as possible. I am glad we had a room ready for you.
We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel is situated right downtown in the center of everything. Less than a mile walk to Pikes Market, Pioneer Square and the football and baseball stadiums. Rooms are large, well maintained, and overall the hotel is a good one. We managed to get a room through Priceline on a football weekend for under $150, which is well worth it. Parking is not cheap and there is a height restriction, but you can park after 8pm on Saturday and all day Sunday for free on the street. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Although it is only a block from I5 we could not hear anything, west side would give you good views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We are so pleased you got our hotel through Priceline and for taking the time to write this great review.
We are indeed right in the center between the market and the stadiums.
On your next trip try R view pour roof top lounge with great views over the city. I guarantee you won’t be disappointed.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#34 of 101 in Seattle
4,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Seattle
#36 of 101 in Seattle
550 reviews
Executive Hotel Pacific
#65 of 101 in Seattle
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#51 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance Seattle Hotel, a stylish hotel in downtown Seattle and one of the hotels conveniently located near CenturyLink and Safeco Fields, Pike Place Market, and upscale shopping. Our Seattle, Washington hotel eliminates travel stress thanks to easy access to major freeways and Sea-Tac International Airport. Unwind in spacious, guest rooms with stunning views of Puget Sound, the mountains and city skyline. From colorful paintings by local artists displayed in the lobby to a fully-equipped fitness center and high-speed Internet, our downtown Seattle hotel amenities outshine the rest. Bring a furry travel companion along to keep you company at one of the top pet-friendly hotels Seattle has to offer. Book your next event at our state-of-the-art 28th floor event space, and discover how our Seattle Marriott hotel seamlessly combines style, comfort and technology into an unforgettable urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing