We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Ranked #49 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed at the Renaissance Seattle Hotel during a 2 day business trip to Seattle. The hotel is located in downtown Seattle, very close to the major attractions. There is a direct shuttle from the SeaTac Airport to the hotel, which made it very convenient.

Overall the hotel is well kept with a small but nice lobby, 2 restaurants, a bar on the top floor (with a beautiful view) and a Starbucks. The rooms were spacious with all modern facilities, though a little dated. The bathrooms were clean and modern. Did not have a chance to experience their service so am unable to comment on it.

Would definitely consider it during my next trip to Seattle.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickramBindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your review.
We appreciate your comments about our rooftop bar. I couldn't agree with you more, it offers great food and a great view, overlooking the Seattle skyline.
Looking forward to have you back.

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,964 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel is nice and the staff very friendly. The restaurant on the top floor had a great happy hour and a beautiful view of Elliot Bay. The room was a bit smaller than most, and did not look like the pictures shown online. The frustrating part of our stay was that there is NO free Wi-Fi. You must pay 15.95 per day to use Wi-Fi. It's a major downfall when most 4 Star (and even lower star) hotels provide wi-fi access cat no charge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Olivia,
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback.
I am glad you did enjoy your stay and R view the roof top lounge. I also appreciate your recognition of our staff service. All of our 513 guest rooms have the same décor and are properly shown on our website, some of the corner king rooms and suites are different of course. Over the last couple of years we spend a large amount of money to upgrade and improve our wifi system. While we do offer free wifi in public areas we do indeed charge in our guest rooms. We do offer free internet to Marriott Reward elite members. Most full service hotels have some kind of charge for in room internet service.
Again thank you for your stay and we look forward to have you back.

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife and I arrived on one of the busiest day's of the the year, 19 January 2014. You see this was the big day, Seahawks vs. 49ers for the NFC Championship! We had requested an early check in and while this is not guaranteed Marriott has always been good about doing what they can. When I arrived at the lobby to check in at around 10:00 I was met at the counter with and attitude and lack of desire to help me I was taken a back. I was told there was nothing that could be done to even try to get me into my room early and it very well may be 16:00hrs before I could check in. Frustrated I approached Chris Sullivan a few minutes later and explained what had taken place. Chris explained that game day's are usually pretty crazy and this being the big game it was sure to be even worse. Non the less Chris assured me that he would do everything he could to get us into our room. He took down my cell number and assured me that he would personally call me when our room was available. He check our bags and put us at ease. Two thumbs up to Chris!!
Our room was a corner suite that was clean, nicely appointed and ready to go at 11:00AM. Overall our experience at the Renaissance was fantastic and Chris had a lot to do with that!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFreudenberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Mr. Freudenberger,
Thank you very much for your great comment about Chris Sullivan. It was a crazy day indeed. While we can not always accomodate all early check in requests, check out time is 12 noon afterall, we try to please as much as we can. I am glad he was able to accomodate you in this case.
Please come back for a more relaxing 2 days in Seattle.

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have stayed at this property a number of times. Usually, I book it thru a trade show so usually my rate is discounted from "Full Retail". That said, the location is good. Initially, I was concerned that the property was right on the highway, but it was a non-issue for me (even on the 12 or 15th floor). I believe there are around 20. The concierge lounge served a nice breakfast and its an easy walk down the hill to other downtown sights and restaurants. I think there are a large number of properties from which to choose, but you can't go wrong here. Nice sheets, high quality service, perfectly spacious enough rooms for 1 or 2 people - all you would expect from a Renaissance. I will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Right on the highway so anything 15 or higher is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGR528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you very much for your repeat business.
We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next stay.

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have stayed here before and it has always been a nice stay. At the moment, much of the areas are under remodeling and the major problem is that in some parts there is a chemical smell. Other than that, it was very nice. The staff are very helpful and my corner room was very comfortable. The room is quite large with a sitting area plus the large bedroom. All was clean and tidy. The beds are comfortable with plenty of pillows. I certainly would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you much for your stay and your nice comments.
We are indeed winding down a couple of construction projects, one of them a new health club and a new meeting space on the 28h floor. I am pleased to see that our staff took care of you and look forward to your next visit.

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have read several reviews including some from other platinums before I stayed at this property. Some of the reviews lowered my expectations, which made my experience even more delightful. Great corner room given to me, great top floor restaurant. Great breakfast restaurant, great concierge lounge, great people. First choice next time in Seattle. I was there over a weekend and a home Seahawks game and even with all of that it was quiet and elegant. The people that wrote the bad reviews must have been in a bad mood found no other reason for their comments.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank WyomingLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Larry,
Thank you so much for your business and your great review.
I am especially pleased about your comments about the restaurants. We too think the 28th floor restaurant is a great space to spend and view the city skyline.
We look forward to have you back.

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Nice enough hotel, but the lobby, elevators, bar & restaurant areas are very heavily scented by what staff said were burning candles. Had the rooms been scented as well, we would have had to check out. It was horrible! The uphill side rooms overhang the highway -we were on the 19th floor and it was very noisy, so request a room on the downhill side. With the exception of the overpowering scent, this is a nice enough property...nothing special...and a 15 min walk to the shopping/restaurant centre so you might want to cab back if carrying packages.

Room Tip: Rooms on the water side are much quieter -the north side hangs over the highway & is quite noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vak00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and your great feedback.
I am sorry that you did not like the scent in the lobby during your stay. As you can see from the next review, same day, some of our guests really appreciate it and most comment very favorable about the scent.
We have listened to pour guests and are starting to install new windows in early February. This should reduce the noise complaint drastically.
Thank you again and we hope you will return to stay with us on your next visit to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
W Seattle
#34 of 105 in Seattle
779 reviews
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#42 of 105 in Seattle
2,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#30 of 105 in Seattle
4,799 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#8 of 105 in Seattle
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £122 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance Seattle Hotel, a stylish hotel in downtown Seattle and one of the hotels conveniently located near CenturyLink and Safeco Fields, Pike Place Market, and upscale shopping. Our Seattle, Washington hotel eliminates travel stress thanks to easy access to major freeways and Sea-Tac International Airport. Unwind in spacious, guest rooms with stunning views of Puget Sound, the mountains and city skyline. From colorful paintings by local artists displayed in the lobby to a fully-equipped fitness center and high-speed Internet, our downtown Seattle hotel amenities outshine the rest. Bring a furry travel companion along to keep you company at one of the top pet-friendly hotels Seattle has to offer. Book your next event at our state-of-the-art 28th floor event space, and discover how our Seattle Marriott hotel seamlessly combines style, comfort and technology into an unforgettable urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing