We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed here three nights. The room rate compared to the room itself was really not worth it. You can tell they spent money in the lobby & the elevators. Unfortunately guests sleep in the room. The room iron was cheap, the thermostat was not working properly initially, a knob on one of the lamps kept falling off making it difficult to turn on/off, and when turning on the TV the audio would come through but there was no image. It was a black screen. Simply not worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geovani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Geovani,
Thank you for your business and your review.
I am sorry we were not able to completely satisfy you. I will share your comments with the housekeeping and engineering team to insure we fix those issues right away. Indeed these problems should not exist and as the other reviews show are isolated issues.
We thank you for your patronage and hope you will return to visit us on your next trip to Seattle.

Sincerely,
Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    827
    324
    117
    45
See reviews for
269
545
107
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We travelled here for continuing ed course/ couples weekend. This was a Priceline choice at an excellent rate for downtown Seattle, and was very convenient to Virginia Mason and close enough to walk downtown. The staff was among the most friendly and welcoming I've encountered- equal to Ritz Carlton. The room was updated with very comfortable bed. 4 stars instead of 5 because they charge $13/ day for room internet and $35/ day for parking. The Priceline rate was good enough to make up for this though. The heating/ AC unit was noisy so we just left it off which worked fine. Although the hotel is close to the freeway, there wasn't noticeable traffic noise at night. We had a cocktail in the rooftop lounge with great night time city lights.

Room Tip: Our room on the north side was quiet despite the proximity of the hotel to the freeway just east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slits007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you so much for the opportunity to have you as our guests.
We appreciate your nice comments about our staff and R view our roof top lounge. We too like the view and service. Parking in Seattle is indeed very expensive. Our parking rate of $35 is on the lower end compared to similar hotels. Parking rates in the city range anywhere from $30 to $45 per day.
Again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serve you again on your next visit.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We walked in and immediately was welcomed by a great smell, they had REAL candles lit so that was probably it :) We were welcomed by Tanya at the front desk, who promptly checked us into our room, and let us know a little about the surrounding area. She was incredibly helpful and was able to fill our requests that we had about our room facing west. The room was spacious, and very clean except for black curly hairs in the bath tub. Bed was incredibly comfortable, we slept like babies. Our view of the city was beautiful. While you can hear the hum of the highway it is nothing the fan in the room cannot drown out (we were on the 16th floor). All around, we were incredibly impressed by the professionalism of the staff at this hotel, as well as the cleanliness and decor in the room. Very happy with our stay and recommend to anyone who is looking to stay somewhere comfortable and clean!

Room Tip: I don't really see how you can go wrong with this hotel and a room they put you in. Obviously yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Sara,
Thank you so much for staying with us and your great review.
We appreciate your comments about Tanya, she does indeed do a wonderful job. Also your feedback about our candles was nice, real candles do make a difference.
We look forward to your next visit.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

A great location and great views of Seattle from the high floors, a nice concierge lounge. I had a large, comfortable room with a nice bed and large closet. Despite being right off of busy interchanges the hotel is dead quiet at night. Like most nice places in Seattle, it is expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Bradley,
Thank you very much for your business and your great review.
We appreciate your comments and look forward to have you back.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Room was nice, updated, but clearly still a bit dated. There's no video on demand. The bathroom has a weird sliding glass door. Parking is $35 a night. But the restaurant and the bar on the top floor were really nice.

Room Tip: half the hotel faces the freeway and it's loud. if you face downtown, you have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Btraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your business and for your review.
We are continously upgrading our hotel and wiil redo our guest rooms this coming winter.
I do appreciate your great comments about R view our roof top bar.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed at the Renaissance Seattle Hotel during a 2 day business trip to Seattle. The hotel is located in downtown Seattle, very close to the major attractions. There is a direct shuttle from the SeaTac Airport to the hotel, which made it very convenient.

Overall the hotel is well kept with a small but nice lobby, 2 restaurants, a bar on the top floor (with a beautiful view) and a Starbucks. The rooms were spacious with all modern facilities, though a little dated. The bathrooms were clean and modern. Did not have a chance to experience their service so am unable to comment on it.

Would definitely consider it during my next trip to Seattle.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickramBindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your review.
We appreciate your comments about our rooftop bar. I couldn't agree with you more, it offers great food and a great view, overlooking the Seattle skyline.
Looking forward to have you back.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cashmere, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel is nice and the staff very friendly. The restaurant on the top floor had a great happy hour and a beautiful view of Elliot Bay. The room was a bit smaller than most, and did not look like the pictures shown online. The frustrating part of our stay was that there is NO free Wi-Fi. You must pay 15.95 per day to use Wi-Fi. It's a major downfall when most 4 Star (and even lower star) hotels provide wi-fi access cat no charge.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Olivia,
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback.
I am glad you did enjoy your stay and R view the roof top lounge. I also appreciate your recognition of our staff service. All of our 513 guest rooms have the same décor and are properly shown on our website, some of the corner king rooms and suites are different of course. Over the last couple of years we spend a large amount of money to upgrade and improve our wifi system. While we do offer free wifi in public areas we do indeed charge in our guest rooms. We do offer free internet to Marriott Reward elite members. Most full service hotels have some kind of charge for in room internet service.
Again thank you for your stay and we look forward to have you back.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
W Seattle
#40 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Executive Hotel Pacific
#67 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#51 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance Seattle Hotel, a stylish hotel in downtown Seattle and one of the hotels conveniently located near CenturyLink and Safeco Fields, Pike Place Market, and upscale shopping. Our Seattle, Washington hotel eliminates travel stress thanks to easy access to major freeways and Sea-Tac International Airport. Unwind in spacious, guest rooms with stunning views of Puget Sound, the mountains and city skyline. From colorful paintings by local artists displayed in the lobby to a fully-equipped fitness center and high-speed Internet, our downtown Seattle hotel amenities outshine the rest. Bring a furry travel companion along to keep you company at one of the top pet-friendly hotels Seattle has to offer. Book your next event at our state-of-the-art 28th floor event space, and discover how our Seattle Marriott hotel seamlessly combines style, comfort and technology into an unforgettable urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing