We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are Very Good, Property is tired and worn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Ranked #48 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Staff are Very Good, Property is tired and worn”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is my third stay at this Marriott property and I daresay it will be my last. Overall, it just lacks any sense of the magnificent city it sits in. The location is not bad; you can walk to dining options in Capitol Hill or down to Downtown/waterfront.

The best thing about this hotel is the staff. They are friendly and gracious and helpful.

The worst thing about this property (and it is a deciding con) is the property. The rooms are clean and sheets are good but the furniture, walls, windows and carpet are overdue for a reno. It just lacks any charm or sense of current style. Renaissance Hotels often seem to not know what they want to project, but this one does and it is projecting TIRED.

The club lounge is a zoo--too small for the myriad elites trying to eat the Courtyard by Marriott-style "buffet." There were 10 full tables and 20 people standing around when I decided to walk to Top Pot for a donut.

There is a real lack of any luxury Marriotts in Seattle (pssst: Ritz Carlton, I am looking at you). But for the price this sad, old Ramada Inn-feeling property from the early 1990s just isn't going to cut it.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innkeeper_8DyerHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Innkeepers,
Thank you so much for staying with us and your great comments.
I am especially pleased that you liked or staff and service. We do agree with you on your comments regarding the upkeep of the hotel and we are continuously updating some areas of the hotel.
In 2 weeks we will open our new enlarged, 50% more equipment, health club.
In May we will have a new more modern feel to the lobby.
In June we open new meeting space on the 28th floor.
Later this winter we change all the guest room carpets and chairs, as well as an expansion of the club lounge. So really all the things you are asking for.

Thank you again for your great feedback.I hope that you will change your mind and return and check us out on your nest visit to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    857
    333
    121
    45
See reviews for
283
563
112
601
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had a great stay here. The hotel is nice I read reviews about the music and scented candles being a downside. We did not find these to be a hinderance at all, in fact we thought it was a nice addition. The biggest downside is the highway and the terribly dirty windows. We had two rooms and both had hideously dirty windows. Not much of a city view if you can barely see out the windows. Thankfully one of our windows in the second room was clean so we cut our losses and stayed there. To make matters worse we watched window cleaners accorss the way and found ourselves envious. The window dirtiness seems to be between the panes so perhaps its a replacement vs cleaning issue but regardless it detracted from our stay. When I told the check-out staff she said "I guess the window cleaners run out of oxygen up there." Not sure what I expected her to say but this wasn't helpful. Probably won't stay here again but it has many nice touches. Lobby is nice, rooms are clean, and location is great.

Room Tip: ask for a Northwest corner room (they specifically seem to keep them unavailable for the average tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skibikeMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback.
I am glad you had a great stay. We are in the process to replace all eastside guestroom windows. This will not only take care of the highway noise but also replace the windows that have the dirt between the window pans.
The Northwest corner rooms are indeed our most requested rooms and we have many repeat guests that request them every week.

We look forward to have you back.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was a trip to remember. I can’t remember the last time a Marriott Hotel has failed so poorly. I’ll hit the highlights: Pleasant check-in, however, a couple next to us were complaining about their room. This should have been the first sign. During our check-in the front desk clerk stated that we were placed in a corner suite, then corrected herself, and said we are next to a suite but “our room” has great views of the city. Thanks for the teaser and miscommunication! As a platinum elite and platinum for life member I was hoping the few business trips my wife takes with me we would get upgraded so I can show her the Marriott brand. I was wrong. We were placed in a tiny room. Now the problems seriously started. It was late afternoon on Friday and I had one more conference call before heading out to explore. During the phone call with I was met with a drill/jackhammer above us. That was a nice welcome. Perhaps the front desk should have said “We are wrapping up construction near your room and it won’t occur over the weekend”. Next, my wife tapped me on the shoulder to show me the cluster of extension cords that extended under our mattress from one side of the room to another (see picture). In order for her to plug in her iPhone we had to rearrange the daisy chained extension cords in a Level 6 Hotel. Marriot – you should be ashamed this is Level 6. How does this even pass building code? The electricians were so lazy during renovation, the outlets were not moved but rather three daisy chained extension cords were used to plug things in our tiny room. After these continual hiccups on a planned romantic weekend I had enough and walked downstairs. Respectfully, I allowed the front desk to clear other check-ins before I discussed my issues. I asked a series of questions such as what is the current capacity of the room, answered with just over 50%. This only increased displeasure because she alluded to half the hotel is empty and I was placed next to construction and the tiny room? After increased displeasure of the room I was placed into the “suite”. I thought it would help the front desk understand why I was complaining by showing pictures of the room I took on my phone. I was met with a gasp and surprise. I would expect the front desk to walk the rooms from time to time or understand what customers complain about? The “suite” upon check-in was spacious at first. After additional inspection I noticed every room has daisy chained extension cords under the mattress. That must be the way they shaved some cost on electrical? Then things got worse. Paint bubbling/chipping, broken vents, two showers within four feet of each other (see pictures)? To cap it off, while brushing my teeth I noticed weird trippy lighting. I looked up, and to my surprise, three unique light bulbs giving off three unique light shades (see pictures). Spectacular. It is apparent management doesn’t walk the rooms. At this point my wife and I just laughed and called this a Marriott fail. We will not be back nor recommend to coworkers to stay here. The Marriott on the waterfront is much nicer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InfoSecR0a4Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and your review.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I will look in to your comments and contact you directly to discuss the issues with you.
We strive very much to satisfy all of our guests and as much as we try we did not come through and for that am very sorry.
We will use your experience as a training tool to insure we improve upon our service.

Sincerely,

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Wife and I snuck away for a weekend in Seattle, stayed at the Renaissance for two nights. It was my first time in the hotel, my wife has previously stayed there as part of a stagette.

Pros
The hotel's location is great if you enjoy walking as we do. Since it's located at the top of the hill, each day started with a leisurely downhill stroll. The shopping area is only 5 minutes away, Pike Place Market is 10. The stadium area is a bit far but so long as the weather isn't too bad it is a pleasant walk. I quite enjoyed the steep, vigorous hike required to return to the hotel in the afternoon and evening! Very impressive staff, everyone was very friendly and concerned that we were enjoying our stay. We were constantly greeted with hellos. The front desk, doormen and lounge servers were especially gracious. The thermostat was perhaps the most responsive hotel temperature control I have ever seen. If you want the room to be 68 degrees instead of 69, this unit could make that happen.

Cons
We were on the 16th floor facing the I5 and there was considerable traffic noise. I sleep like a hibernating bear so it didn't bother me but I can imagine it would bother lots of people, it was quite noticeable. Our king size bed was decent, but it certainly didn't feel luxurious! Good enough to sleep on but I expected something more from a four star hotel. The shower worked great but the shower head was quite low. I am 6'5" tall and the shower head was plumbed to about 6' up and the water came out a couple inches lower than that. Unfortunately that was about the height of my shoulder blades, making for a somewhat awkward shower experience.

Overall, I would love to stay at the Renaissance again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Jake,
Thank you very much for staying with us and your nice comments about our staff..
We do appreciate your comments about the traffic noise and are in the process of installing new triple glass windows in all east facing rooms. That should eliminate all the traffic noise from the highway.

We look forward to see you again on your next trip to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The staff was friendly, the room was fine and the location was okay. At registration I handed over my business credit card for 'incidentals', as we had purchased our stay via hotwire.com. The card did not go through because, we were told, it was a business card. I gave them a personal card and it worked. What I found the next morning is that there was a $150.00 charge on my business card and two charges on my personal card; one for $50 (which we expected) and one for $130 for our dinner and bar expenses. We asked the very nice person at the front desk to please remove the charge on the business card, as it should not have been there in the first place. The very nice person had us speak to the manager, who politely explained that the charge would disappear within 72 hours. We said we would appreciate it if he would contact the bank and have them remove the charge. He assured us that he would.
Secondly, our dining experience was less than wonderful. The food was passable, but not great. I ordered a vegetarian cassoulet. Cassoulet is a wonderful dish that includes many steps in preparation and contains several ingredients. What I received was a dish of a baked vegetable. I told the wait staff that this was tasty, but it was certainly not cassoulet. He very politely explained that cassoulet is prepared differently, depending on where you go. My baked vegetable cost $20.00.
We mentioned this to the manager, as well. He said the charge would be removed and that he would speak to the restaurant manager. Again, he was very polite.
A few days later the charge to my business account was still there. We called and spoke to the assistant manager who assured us she had spoken to the bank and the charge would disappear, probably that very day. Three days later the charge remained. We called the hotel and asked to speak to the general manager, or at least get an email address for him or her. We were told that we could not have that information for 'security reasons', but that we could speak (again) to the assistant manager. We called three times and received no return calls. Unprofessional? You bet. Will we go there again? No way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evantamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review.
I am sorry that we were not able to satisfy your needs during your stay.
1. Since we charged your personal credit card, the hold on your business visa card should not have been placed. Unfortunately once it is there we can not easily remove it. It really is up to the bank to remove the hold.
2. Of course your meal should have been to your liking and I will review your comments with my chef.
3. Your comments about my e-mail address really intrigues me as I do not see a security risk myself and I have made very clear to my employees that my email address can be given out to all guests requesting it. I am very sorry about that miscommunication.

Despite the obvious shortcomings you did comment on the service in a positive way, and I truly appreciate that.

In closing I would like to apologize once again for the less than stellar performance from my team and hope that you will reconsider and return to stay with us on your next trip to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antimony, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We picked the Renaissance for our New Year's Eve stay since our celebrations were taking us close by, Columbia Center. The Renaissance is nice and modern feeling with a spacious lobby that is fresh and clean feeling. Everyone we interacted with was gracious and kind, my experience with a Marriott chain.

Our corner room was more suite like and spacious. Smaller and differently oriented than other rooms I've been in but I love the reuse of an older building. Rooms cleanliness was ok, the unique sliding door for the restrooms hides a mirror that the staff must forget about. Who knows what questionable substances were visible. The room heat and AC controls worked great, always a plus.

There's other reviews that the road noise is loud, you are next to I-5 but we were not much bothered at all on a higher floor. Where in the heart of a large city will you not have city noise.

I would absolutely recommend staying, enjoy your time in Seattle.

Room Tip: Great views from most rooms but if you are concerned about road noise I would ask for a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teek4100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you so much for being with us this past New Year's eve.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our service and we look forward to have you back next year.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

this is a very nice property, at Madison between 5th and 6th. This puts the hotel higher up on the downtown area, close to a major freeway. the water front is a quick somewhat steep (ten minute) walk downhill and a long very steep (twenty minute) walk uphill. The rooms are nice, modern, large and clean. The bathrooms the tub/shower, and mine had a desk and a chair with an ottoman. TV is large LG screen. Hotel has a 28th floor nice view bar and a restaurant (I didnt eat there). I am a Marriott Rewards member, so I ate in the club lounge on 26, which had good snacks and rich chocolate cake every night. I was on the 26th floor, so the sounds of the highway was a distant white noise that helped me sleep, although it could clearly be seen out my window. Staff was really really friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. No swimming pool or spa/hot tub, but a workout room.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are better; ask for away from highway if that bothers you. Elevators are somewha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank life2short
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you very much for your business and for your nice review.
We too like the view from R view.
I especially appreciate your nice comments about our staff and will share your comments with them.

Please come back real soon.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Executive Hotel Pacific
#66 of 101 in Seattle
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#36 of 101 in Seattle
4,132 reviews
W Seattle
#33 of 101 in Seattle
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#51 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance Seattle Hotel, a stylish hotel in downtown Seattle and one of the hotels conveniently located near CenturyLink and Safeco Fields, Pike Place Market, and upscale shopping. Our Seattle, Washington hotel eliminates travel stress thanks to easy access to major freeways and Sea-Tac International Airport. Unwind in spacious, guest rooms with stunning views of Puget Sound, the mountains and city skyline. From colorful paintings by local artists displayed in the lobby to a fully-equipped fitness center and high-speed Internet, our downtown Seattle hotel amenities outshine the rest. Bring a furry travel companion along to keep you company at one of the top pet-friendly hotels Seattle has to offer. Book your next event at our state-of-the-art 28th floor event space, and discover how our Seattle Marriott hotel seamlessly combines style, comfort and technology into an unforgettable urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing