We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Ranked #50 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stay in a lot of different hotels and need quiet clean rooms after my flight to relax. This hotel is real great, good location and pleasantly nice staff. Room service is good and real quick, amazing friendly and polite staff, I'll be back on the the 21st and looking forward to it, thanks to all!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Carramba89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you so much for your business and your great review.
We too look forward to have you back at the end of the month.

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 1,941 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

We arrived after a long drive and there was no place for our car and for a long time no valet to help us. We were half in the street with traffic struggling around us until we were finally directed to drive around the corner and squeeze into a spot on a very steep street. We then carried our bags to the hotel, had difficulty getting through the doors with them and checked in. Although the room was on the highway we were not bothered by the noise, the room was quite nice and large enough, our breakfast was ample and well prepared. THe room was relatively expensive and our arrived badly handled.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpeders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you so much for a staying with us and your comments.
I am sorry that check in did not go as it should have. We had a couple of days in March were we had a staffing issue with our valets and I do apologize for that. We have fixed the problem and are fully staffed now. I am glad you liked your room and hope you will back on your next visit to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The lobby is nice, but sets you up for a big disappointment when you see your room. The metal door opens to a poorly lit room with very loud traffic sounds... So loud, I was certain the window was left open, but amazed to discover it closed.

The beds are firm with little cushion and quite springy - Each time you move the bed will shimmy back and forth like an old Cadillac with a broken suspension. It even sometimes made squeaking noises from the compression of the springs, and I'm only 200 lbs.

At night (or more importantly) early morning, the lighting is inadequate until the sun comes up. Don't get me wrong, there are several fixtures (suitable for moving around), but even when they are all on, there is not enough light to look over your clothes in preparation for the day.

The TV was very small for the viewing distance. Parking was $40+ per night. The thermostat would only cool to 65. Housekeeping also apparently does not check the alarm clock in their cleaning routine - I was awoken at 4 AM from where the previous person set it.

I admit to nitpicking. In singularity, most of these items are excusable...But when considered together add up to a disappointing stay. I feel cheated. All in all an 'ok' hotel if your expectations are low - Certainly not what the pictures show or what I would expect at this star level.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for a high room opposite the highway, but they might ignore your request as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 907REVIEWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you and for your feedback.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would have hoped. We are in the process to replace all the windows on the eastside of the building that overlook the highway. In addition we start a complete guestroom reservation this fall.

We do value you as a guest and please to not hesitate to contact me directly when your plans bring you back to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel looks modern, clean, and well appointed. Rooms are large, beds comfortable, bathrooms have everything you need. Staff was attentive to their tasks, but not personable. Housekeeping did a great job making up my room, attentive to detail, and I felt my belongs were safe. The noise from the freeway was distinctive and made sleeping difficult. Next time I would bring earplugs. Nice property that is very well maintained with an efficient staff.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calguyCalifonria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you very much for the opportunity to serve you and your comments.
I am glad to hear that you liked your stay overall and your great comment about our bed and comfort of the room overall is appreciated.
We do understand the noise issue on the freeway side and the good news is that we are in the process of replacing all the windows on the east side of the building. So the odds are great that on your next trip to Seattle the issue will be resolved.

Again thank you and we look forward to have you back.

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were so pleasantly surprised with a great upgraded room and generous amenity. We are platinum this year and there was availability so the rooms controller was not stingy! They called it a mini suite, but it was larger than that. The young lady who checked us in was very nice and very friendly. (sorry, I didin't get her name-but her long hair did cover her nameplate).
You know how it is, you check in KNOWING that a "given" hotel is half full at best and they give you the most minimal of upgrades, if at all. Anna and her staff were also awesome. The concierge lounge is very comfy with the typical breakfast Marriott offers, only the eggs weren't rubber! There were brownies and cheese/crackers in the evening with reasonably priced wine/drinks.
We had a lovely stay albeit short. Thank you, Anna, thank you Renaissance. We will return if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky-McG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Vicky,
thank you very much for the opportunity to be your host and for the great review.
We do appreciate that you took the time to comment about our staff and service.
We do ho hope you comme back to Seattle and look forward to serve you again.

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I just completed six days in this Seattle hotel. The experience was pleasant, although there are some caveats.

Arrival:
I arrived on a Sunday morning from the east coast. As is normal for west coast hotels, rooms are seldom available for those of us who travel across the country and arrive, according the clock, only two hours after we left. The folks at the front desk stored my bags and provided me with a key to the Club Lounge to chill until my room was ready. An hour or so later I was escorted from the Lounge to my corner room.

Room:
This is an older hotel that was recently upgraded. My corner room was fairly current, yet the room lay out is certainly older hotel. The king sized bed filled the bedroom with no room for a dresser. This was solved with window bench seating around the windows; an interesting, fun touch. Beneath the seats were drawers that served well. There is also a bureau in hall.

Of note are extension cords under each night stand. This is very thoughtful considering many people must travel with CPAP devices. I usually have to move the mattress to (hopefully) discover an outlet.

The bath is okay - clean but nothing special. Toiletries are a small step above average quality. Linens are in good condition.

The living room has a nice desk with plenty of electrical outlets topside. The couch is not comfortable, but might be a hide-a-bed (I did not check). The TVs (BR and LR) are older flat panels, but work well.

Restaurants:
Breakfast has two offerings - the Club Lounge and the main restaurant, Maxwell's. The CL offers eggs, sausage, toast, fruit, toast, oatmeal, etc. The food is fine - not special, but certainly worth the trip to the 26th (?) floor. Breakfast at Maxwell's is via menu or buffet. I trolled the buffet and was well satisfied.

Lunch at Maxwell's was also a buffet; well worth the $16 price if in a hurry.

The 28th floor restaurant was visited once for dinner. The menu was limited but the food more than acceptable. Take your phone flash light with you - this place is so dark reading the menu is impossible without your own illumination.

Cautions:
As others have noted, you are heavily penalized for parking a car in this part of Seattle. The Renaissance will set you back almost $50 (including tax) for a night of storage. If flying, just take the train or cab from SEA.

Hills, hills, and more steep hills. Comparing these walks to the waterfront with those in San Francisco is fair - and perhaps more steep. Most people who walk trek to the wharf to dine on seafood (Elliot's is my favorite) take a cab back up the hill. Seriously. Not impossible, but nearly so if not properly shod.

Ratings:
Staff/Service 4+ of 5
Room 3 of 5
Cleanliness 5 of 5
Food 3 of 5

Summary:
This is a fine hotel worth the visit. Skip the car if possible and use the train or cabs. Sample the many good restaurants in this section of Seattle.

Room Tip: Try for a corner room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PkFloydLvr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you very much for your visit and great review.
I do appreciate your detailed account of your stay and considering that you spend a week in the hotel you had great things to say about our staff. and service.
We are indeed a little bit older than most hotels but continuously upgrade our facility. We just finished the health club and we are getting great reviews from our regular customers. Next we renovate the lobby and all of or public restroom and in the fall we will start with our guestrooms.

Again thank you for your nice comments and we look forward of having you back.

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend while attending a Seahawks game in November 2013. We booked the hotel on hotwire as a "hot rate" and were very impressed with the value we received from this hotel.

The only downside to this hotel is its location. It is a ten minute walk to the main shopping and dining district around Pike/Pine streets (with children this might be too inconvenient). I had read that some people complained of the noise from the freeway. Our room was actually located over the freeway and we did not notice any noise at all.

The rooms are beautiful. Spacious, clean, modern. The bed was extremely comfortable and I appreciated the extra seating space.

The lobby had a nice lounge to order drinks in before heading out for the evening.

The front desk staff was very accommodating as originally we only booked one night, then booked a second through Hotwire. They happily kept us in the same room and joined our reservation so we did not have to check out/check in.

A good hotel, and great value for the price we paid!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanie0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you very much Stephanie for staying with us and your nice review.

While we are a 10 minute walk to the shopping center of town we are that much closer to the stadiums.
Nice that you mention that you did not hear the highway despite having a room on the east side. It seems that our new windows, we have been testing since last fall, do work. We are starting tomorrow to install all new windows on the east side.

Again thank you for your nice comments about our staff and we look forward to have you back.

Rene Neidhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
W Seattle
#34 of 104 in Seattle
719 reviews
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#33 of 104 in Seattle
4,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#44 of 104 in Seattle
2,738 reviews
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £126 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance Seattle Hotel, a stylish hotel in downtown Seattle and one of the hotels conveniently located near CenturyLink and Safeco Fields, Pike Place Market, and upscale shopping. Our Seattle, Washington hotel eliminates travel stress thanks to easy access to major freeways and Sea-Tac International Airport. Unwind in spacious, guest rooms with stunning views of Puget Sound, the mountains and city skyline. From colorful paintings by local artists displayed in the lobby to a fully-equipped fitness center and high-speed Internet, our downtown Seattle hotel amenities outshine the rest. Bring a furry travel companion along to keep you company at one of the top pet-friendly hotels Seattle has to offer. Book your next event at our state-of-the-art 28th floor event space, and discover how our Seattle Marriott hotel seamlessly combines style, comfort and technology into an unforgettable urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing