We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid choice in Seattle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Solid choice in Seattle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed here recently to get some work done without distractions. The room was comfortable, reasonably sized, clean and had a comfortable lounge chair to do hours of work in. Parking was reasonable when you consider it is downtown. The staff I dealt with was helpful and pleasant. One thing that baffled me was charging for wi-fi. They wanted something like $12 to use the internet in the room. When I called down to the front desk, they told me the rates and said if I came down to the main area it is apparently free. I don't understand the discrepancy. Seems like if you are paying to stay in the hotel and use the water, lights etc., wi-fi should be included. Other than that, it was a pleasant stay and I would recommend it. Location is good for Seattle.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieOSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Leslie,
Thank you so much for staying with us and your nice comments about our hotel and staff.
Most full service brand hotels charge for the internet because of the additional costs and not everyone that stays in a hotel uses internet. It is more like parking a service that is offered but expensive for the hotel to provide.

I hope you will stay with us again on your next mini vacation in the city.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    832
    324
    119
    45
See reviews for
270
548
108
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I did not stay here at this hotel while in Seattle, but I did spend a few days here for a conference. It's way too busy of an environment for me. The hotel I did stay at was a far enough distance from that life style. The meeting spaces were large. I liked the design of the place though the carpet is absolutely terrible. I thought the place popped with color and was very open. The furniture seemed well used, but were still comfortable. It was a bummer that the B level restrooms were under construction and that there aren't any restrooms on the lobby level. There were lines for the women's restroom on the 2nd and 3rd floor constantly. The front staff and valet were very friendly and helpful. Though the male housekeeping staff that cleaned the conference rooms between sessions were rude and seemed to not care. The elevators made me feel uneasy compared to others I have been in. I felt like I was still on the elevator when I wasn't anymore.
Thank you for the hospitality. It was all in all a great experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganRae47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for attending the conference at our hotel.
I am sorry that the bathrooms were closed for renovation, but every so often we need to update the facilities and make them look fresh and new.
I appreciate your comments about the lobby. We like our new concept as well.

I do hope that the next time you do come to Seattle that you have an opportunity to stay with us.

Rene Neidhart
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hotel staff very friendly, we were there for a conference for a week the biggest issue was the internet, very poor for business travellers.
Curtains and furniture could use a change out, otherwise very nice place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duckie660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for your business and your comments.
I do appreciate your overall review but I am a little bit surprised about your internet problem.
We have 100 megabits of band with available and will double it to 200 by mid year. 100 is the required band with by Marriott.
I am sorry you had problems with your computer but I can assure you this is an isolated case.

Again thank you for staying with us and I hope you will be back soon.


Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
252 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just a very nice place. We stayed here while at a conference and although the conference room was freezing cold, the accommodations were very nice. The staff was very good. I thought the lobby and bar furniture looked a little tired, nice styling but tired. It looks like it either wasn't great quality or it just took it's toll.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for the opportunity to have you as our guest.
I am glad you did enjoy your stay and especially our staff.

We look forward to have you back on your next visit to Seattle.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICT
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great location, very central and an easy walk to everything in the downtown area, Pike Place, shopping etc! Very friendly and helpful staff, rooms clean and comfortable. A very special thanks to Fefita (?) at the front desk, she was super friendly and went out of her way to help me with recommendations for tours and restaurants, pointed me in the right direction for everything. As for some of the reviews noting the freeway noise, there is some noise, but, all in all, when you stay in any downtown hotel anywhere you are going to get noise. I'm from a big city so am used to it. All in all I would recommend this hotel for the friendly staff, great location and also ease of access when driving into Seattle!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and your nice review.
We appreciate your comments about our staff and service.
As I mentioned before we are replacing all windows on the eastside with new
windows that reduce the noise level.
We appreciate your recommendation and I will personally thank Fefita for a well done job.

Thank you


Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We recently stayed two nights at the Renaissance. The first night, we were given a room on the 8th floor facing the highway, and it was unbelievably noisy for such a hotel where you'd expect better sound-proofing. The noise did not let up through the night and we were unable to sleep, and I ended up calling in the early morning hours to see if we could get a room change the next day. The girl gave us no apology whatsoever, told us to call back in the morning. I called again in the morning with the same experience, and was told we should come back to the hotel between 2-4 pm to see if we could get a room change as they would be assigning rooms at that time. Again, no apology, and no effort to try to help us, which I thought was below average customer service for such a hotel.

We walked back to the hotel at around 3 pm to request a room change and this time had better luck. We were originally given a room on the same side of the hotel but higher up, but she then offered to talk with her manager who gave us a bigger room on the 21st floor facing 5th avenue with double-glass windows for better sound-proofing, which was an upgrade from our regular room. Friendly service this time around, and the room was quiet and spacious and much more comfortable. We had a great second night with their comfortable bedding.

Overall, I would give them a 3-star rating based on the first night on the 8th floor, and a 5-star rating based on the second night on the 21st floor facing 5th avenue.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room with double-glass windows, with preference for higher floors not facing the hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeruginosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and your feedback.
I am sorry that we did not have a quiet room for you the first night and for the lack of empathy from my employee. I will address this issue with my front service team.
We are in the process of installing new windows on the east side of the building. The feedback we are getting from our guests that have stayed in those rooms is very positive.

Again thank you for your nice comments and we hope you will be back on your next visit to Settle.

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Good things- I got a room on the north side of the 25th floor, very nice view. Very easy walk to Pike/Pine corridor.

Bad things- Highway 5 noise. Bed felt a little too broken in. Flat uncomfortable pillows.

Awful- the bathroom door! It was not a door, it was a sliding "privacy screen" made from frosted glass. It does not lay flush with the wall, so you have no privacy. I had to run the shower to use the restroom. I joked with my husband that if we hadn't been married so long I would have had to go down to the lobby.

Overall, it was fine because I got a good rate on Priceline. If I paid full price I'd be annoyed.

Room Tip: You'll probably be able to see the space needle in a room on the north side, but the west side w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiveAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene N, General Manager at Renaissance Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback.
We generally do not get a comment about highway noise on the north side of the building.
I am sorry about that.
The sliding glass doors, are in general well received as they give more room to move around than a traditional door.

We do appreciate your feedback and hope you will be back to our hotel.

Thank you

Rene Neidhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
W Seattle
#37 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Executive Hotel Pacific
#66 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Seattle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Seattle Hotel
Address: 515 Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98104
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#37 Business Hotel in Seattle
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#51 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Renaissance Seattle Hotel, a stylish hotel in downtown Seattle and one of the hotels conveniently located near CenturyLink and Safeco Fields, Pike Place Market, and upscale shopping. Our Seattle, Washington hotel eliminates travel stress thanks to easy access to major freeways and Sea-Tac International Airport. Unwind in spacious, guest rooms with stunning views of Puget Sound, the mountains and city skyline. From colorful paintings by local artists displayed in the lobby to a fully-equipped fitness center and high-speed Internet, our downtown Seattle hotel amenities outshine the rest. Bring a furry travel companion along to keep you company at one of the top pet-friendly hotels Seattle has to offer. Book your next event at our state-of-the-art 28th floor event space, and discover how our Seattle Marriott hotel seamlessly combines style, comfort and technology into an unforgettable urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing