We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but I'd take the Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
Ranked #34 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but I'd take the Westin”
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Most people would disagree with me on this, but I would take the Westin Seattle over this hotel. They both are great hotels and are both part of the great chain of Starwood Hotels. Here are the reasons I would take the Westin:

1). The Sheraton has a colder feeling to it in the lobby with marble flooring and just a bland feel.
2). Half the elevators go up to the floors 1-20 and the other half go up from 20-pool. Thus, if you are below floor 20, you need to ride all the way down to the crowded lobby and then swap elevators up to the pool.
3). Call me crazy, but this hotel seems to get more obnoxious travelers than the Westin. This is not exactly the hotels fault, but I can see a big difference. There were a bunch of people in the lobby cussing up a storm, in an elevator I was nearly ran over with a luggage cart even though I was in the elevator first. There must have been 10 smokers WAY too close to the door of the hotel (not 25 feet away). The hotel should control this.

Besides that, the pluses are:
Beautiful workout room. Holy cow, working out with a view and a very new machines is amazing. Rooms are decent, nothing to write home about but yet nothing to complain about. The location is nice, it's in a very busy area of Seattle if you like that. Plenty of shopping right next to you.

Still, great hotel, I just think the Westin is superior even though it's much older.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inspiration100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSeattle, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoy the hotels convenient but busy location and the new Sheraton Fitness Center. While we understand that you need to select a hotel that suits your travel needs, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Sheraton Seattle again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,716
    1,779
    526
    170
    88
See reviews for
734
987
190
1,841
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Two large, tall towers containing rooms attached at base by a few floors in common. The room, on the concierge floor (or one of them), was large with a good view. Resto, bar areas were enjoyable with fine food/drink. The common areas such as these, plus the main lobby is constantly jammed: the convention centre is less than a block away and conventions are obviously a large source of business here...usually three lines to check in each about 15-20 deep every afternoon. Our biggest problem was we needed the internet and the Sheraton's system (newly installed we were told) kept going offline..either the part where you had to identify yourself as a guest (and thus get free internet service) or the whole internet feed itself (the last three days we were there). Staff seemed to have no idea when anything would be fixed..just that IT was working on it. Loads of complaints voiced loudly in the bar area!! The concierge lounge was too small given the number of business travellers trying to use it, and the waitstaff keep the coffee and soft drinks hidden away, then bring them out to you with a piece of paper asking for your name, room and place to indicate a tip. Unlike most hotels of this level, coffee/tea/softdrinks were not available outside of lounge meal times. Despite a sign outside the lounge blocking children from entering (at all not just at drink times), breakfasts had screaming kids and one day at drinks a child was present. Really inappropriate we thought. So a good stay if you're at a convention, but shop elsewhere if just touring: Seattle is on the small side with good transportation so other hotels are equally or more convenient--although we did enjoy the rooftop glass enclosed pool.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew02459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSeattle, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your comments regarding the internet, club lounge and other areas of improvement. We truly value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Seattle Hotel in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed in the new Union Tower which has beautiful, spacious rooms with excellent amenities. The check in went super efficient, the service is excellent and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great concierges too who arrange everything for you regarding tickets, restaurant reservations etc. Nice fitness area and swimming pool. Very convenient computer located in the front desk area for airline check-in. Food in Daily Grill Bar is great.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Featherfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSeattle, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Seattle. We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay and had an enjoyable time in Seattle. We look forward to your return in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I have stayed at this hotel probably about ten times and even though its not the trendiest, not the fanciest, they deliver a consistant good product. I cannot recall a bad stay in this hotel. This trip we did opt for the parlor room (the living room area of a suite), which was very large, with the caveat of having a sofa bed. This came with free high speed internet, lounge access, and free local calls. It definitely helped having the perks, however I'm not sure I'd do it again when travelling with the significant other. (The ladies find the sofa bed a little uncomfortable, I'm fine with it.) All-in-all, another great stay at a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSeattle, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2009
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent and many other past stays with us. We appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Got a great rate through Priceline, the location was wonderful, in the middle of everything. Hotel was beautiful. Staff was rude, unhelpful, did not get the room requested, could not get help with large luggage in or out of hotel. We were there for a special cruise event, when we asked for directions from the staff they wanted a tip for giving directions to the trolley stop.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkercn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSeattle, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2009
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We apologize for the unfriendliness felt from our staff throughout your stay and will address this accordingly. Thank you again for your continued support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Stayed here over the Memorial Day holiday weekend. Got it for $79/night on Priceline. The location and price is great! We were able to walk or take the monorail to all attractions which was perfect since we did not rent a car. Room was very clean and work out room was nice and updated. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSeattle, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2009
Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear you had a terrific stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I moved to the Seattle Sheraton after two awful nights at the Westin Seattle. A devoted Starwood member, I have always understood Westins to be of higher calibres than Sheratons. In this comparison, it's exactly the opposite.

Huge and beautifully appointed, the Sheraton Seattle is at the center of everything; Nordstrom, Niketown, City Centre mall, Pacific Place mall and a very short, straight walk to Pike Place Market. If you don't feel like leaving the hotel, the gym is AMAZING and the pool quite inviting - I wished I had brought my suit.

Of the two towers, ask to stay on the renovated side. As a Platinum Starwood member, I enjoyed a generous, delicious spread each morning for breakfast in the Club Lounge and cocktails each evening.

Hotel also features a convenience store shop to buy sandwiches and light fare, as well as an attached restaurant, the Daily Grill (although ridiculously priced), and a gift shop. One of the very best features of all, however, is the free Internet Link on four house computers in the lobby.

LOVED this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writingiseasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSeattle, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2009
Dear Guest,
We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful experience during your recent stay at the Sheraton Seattle. From the convenient location to the many hotel amenities & offerings, we are happy you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#46 of 101 in Seattle
2,422 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,075 reviews
Motif Seattle
#45 of 101 in Seattle
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt At Olive 8
#9 of 101 in Seattle
2,415 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Seattle Hotel

Property: Sheraton Seattle Hotel
Address: 1400 Sixth Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-2318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#27 Business Hotel in Seattle
#31 Family Hotel in Seattle
#36 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Seattle Hotel is steps from Pike Place Market, Seattle Waterfront, Space Needle, and Washington State Convention & Trade Center. We have 47 meeting rooms, totaling 75,000 sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing