We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but not amazing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice, but not amazing.”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

I stayed at the Sheraton for five days with two children (ages 9 & 10) while visiting Seattle. The room was small-to-average, and the beds were comfy. Staff was pleasant, but nothing out of the ordinary in a positive or negative way. The city view was nice, and the pool on the 35th floor had a nice view of some nesting eagles on a nearby building. The pool, however, had a very strong smell of chlorine, and I suspect the chemical balance was off the day we used it.

The best part about the stay was the single-serve Starbucks coffee maker in the room, and the easy walking distance to Pike Place Market and public transportation. The worst was feeling nickel-and-dimed on the parking (valet only, approx. $45/day when fees & tips are included), and the internet ($9.95/day for a service that I feel should be free). Also, the television was typcial of the hotels that vend movies these days - impossible to determine current program listings, because the only menu keeps spitting you out at the movies for purchase. While I know these practices are typical of many upscale hotel establishments, I have stayed at many that don't make you feel that their private motto is "whatever the market will bear". This was not one of those.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amphimixus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,513
    1,667
    497
    159
    78
See reviews for
652
912
182
1,667
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

The Sheraton Hotel was everything we expected it to be. The room was large, decorated beautifully, great view out the window, sparkling clean bathroom with fluffy white towels. The King size bed had loads of soft cuddly pillows with the softest sheets and comforter to nestle under at night. We wanted to take the bed home when we left the hotel.

What a great location...we were within a short walking distances to all the tourist attractions....many wonderful restaurants were close by. If you needed transportation....it was pretty much everywhere you looked. Plenty of buses, cabs, tour buses in every which way.

We enjoyed our stay at Sheraton and would recommend this Hotel to anyone who was planning to stay a few days in Seattle. It lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2cruiseCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSeattle, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are extremely pleased to hear the Sheraton Seattle exceeded your expectations for your visit to the city of Seattle. It was truly our pleasure to make you feel comfortable throughout your stay. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

There's no better location in downtown Seattle. If you're there for a convention, the convention center is right next door. And if you're there for a visit you're within a quick walk of just about anything you could want. The room was nice and spacious, quiet and had tons of natural light. We got a very good price on Priceline, but they still put us in a nice room on a high floor. Our room was usually cleaned before noon. The internet connection was a little slow, but not debilitating.

My only real complaint is about the valet service. It took forever to get our car. In fact, it took longer to get it if there wasn't anyone else around compared to when there were tons of people trying to drop off or pick up cars. I'm not sure if it's the system or what, but give yourself a few minutes to account for it if you need to get somewhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSeattle, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2009
Dear Guest,
We are thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay at the Sheraton Seattle. From the room to the hotels’ location, we are happy to hear you enjoyed it all. We appreciate your feedback regarding the valet process and will review this information with our team. It is our sincere hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton and city of Seattle in the near future. Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm Desert
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Located about half a block from the convention center, this was a very good location to stay a work related conference. I stayed on the Club level and enjoyed the breakfast each morning. A very nice selection of fresh fruit. An enormous bowl of fresh berries, which included blueberries, blackberries, raspberries and strawberries were very sweet. There were bagels, pastry assortment, cereals, yogurt, fruit juices, coffee, tea. Really plenty for almost anyone to get through the morning. The early evening appetizers were somewhat less appealing. The hot choices were pretty low quality. The cheeses and crackers were nice. Drinks were expensive at 9.00 for glass of wine. The downstairs happy hour drinks were very reasonable and I would recommend they extend the happy hour prices to the Club guests. The soft drinks were free, but seemed restricted. You had to sign a sheet with a spot for gratuity, even if you were just grabbing a cold drink. I had never seen such a thing before in a Club type facility, as we had to use our card to gain entrance. Kind of felt poor class for his level of facility. Overall, it was very nice for morning and only okay for evenings. The free internet use was a great perk. The bedroom was clean, the bed comfortable. The woman who kept my room neat and clean was very good. Quick and efficient, plus very kind. The staff were very nice and efficienct overall. The concierge had many suggestions for dinners, which I found very good for the most part. She specifically told me to avoid some of the Douglass restraunts as she did not think they were too good. Luckily, I did not take her advice, as one of my favourite meals was at Etta's and also enjoyed two of the others I tried. The one with the bakery attached Daphnes (?) was incredible. I was there for an entire week during the conference and it was very nice and comfortable overall. I would stay here again for the same type of function. For a small quaint visit of a couple of nights, I would rather stay at the Inn at the Market.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepladypalmdesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSeattle, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Seattle. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the many amenities the hotel has to offer as well as the wonderful dining options within the city of Seattle. Glad to hear you had a great stay overall and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Most people would disagree with me on this, but I would take the Westin Seattle over this hotel. They both are great hotels and are both part of the great chain of Starwood Hotels. Here are the reasons I would take the Westin:

1). The Sheraton has a colder feeling to it in the lobby with marble flooring and just a bland feel.
2). Half the elevators go up to the floors 1-20 and the other half go up from 20-pool. Thus, if you are below floor 20, you need to ride all the way down to the crowded lobby and then swap elevators up to the pool.
3). Call me crazy, but this hotel seems to get more obnoxious travelers than the Westin. This is not exactly the hotels fault, but I can see a big difference. There were a bunch of people in the lobby cussing up a storm, in an elevator I was nearly ran over with a luggage cart even though I was in the elevator first. There must have been 10 smokers WAY too close to the door of the hotel (not 25 feet away). The hotel should control this.

Besides that, the pluses are:
Beautiful workout room. Holy cow, working out with a view and a very new machines is amazing. Rooms are decent, nothing to write home about but yet nothing to complain about. The location is nice, it's in a very busy area of Seattle if you like that. Plenty of shopping right next to you.

Still, great hotel, I just think the Westin is superior even though it's much older.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inspiration100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSeattle, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoy the hotels convenient but busy location and the new Sheraton Fitness Center. While we understand that you need to select a hotel that suits your travel needs, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Sheraton Seattle again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Two large, tall towers containing rooms attached at base by a few floors in common. The room, on the concierge floor (or one of them), was large with a good view. Resto, bar areas were enjoyable with fine food/drink. The common areas such as these, plus the main lobby is constantly jammed: the convention centre is less than a block away and conventions are obviously a large source of business here...usually three lines to check in each about 15-20 deep every afternoon. Our biggest problem was we needed the internet and the Sheraton's system (newly installed we were told) kept going offline..either the part where you had to identify yourself as a guest (and thus get free internet service) or the whole internet feed itself (the last three days we were there). Staff seemed to have no idea when anything would be fixed..just that IT was working on it. Loads of complaints voiced loudly in the bar area!! The concierge lounge was too small given the number of business travellers trying to use it, and the waitstaff keep the coffee and soft drinks hidden away, then bring them out to you with a piece of paper asking for your name, room and place to indicate a tip. Unlike most hotels of this level, coffee/tea/softdrinks were not available outside of lounge meal times. Despite a sign outside the lounge blocking children from entering (at all not just at drink times), breakfasts had screaming kids and one day at drinks a child was present. Really inappropriate we thought. So a good stay if you're at a convention, but shop elsewhere if just touring: Seattle is on the small side with good transportation so other hotels are equally or more convenient--although we did enjoy the rooftop glass enclosed pool.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew02459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSeattle, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your comments regarding the internet, club lounge and other areas of improvement. We truly value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Seattle Hotel in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
195 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed in the new Union Tower which has beautiful, spacious rooms with excellent amenities. The check in went super efficient, the service is excellent and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great concierges too who arrange everything for you regarding tickets, restaurant reservations etc. Nice fitness area and swimming pool. Very convenient computer located in the front desk area for airline check-in. Food in Daily Grill Bar is great.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Featherfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSeattle, Manager at Sheraton Seattle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Seattle. We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay and had an enjoyable time in Seattle. We look forward to your return in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#45 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#11 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motif Seattle
#55 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
The Roosevelt Hotel
#40 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Seattle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Seattle Hotel

Property: Sheraton Seattle Hotel
Address: 1400 Sixth Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-2318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#27 Business Hotel in Seattle
#31 Family Hotel in Seattle
#36 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Seattle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Seattle Hotel is steps from Pike Place Market, Seattle Waterfront, Space Needle, and Washington State Convention & Trade Center. We have 47 meeting rooms, totaling 75,000 sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Seattle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing