We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhygenic coffee maker in bathroom, free earplugs on bedside table to counteract trains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unhygenic coffee maker in bathroom, free earplugs on bedside table to counteract trains”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Seriously unimpressed by this hotel.

We are a family travelling with our 2 teen sons and had an overnight stop here in a "Deluxe" Room and the only good thing really was the location for the NCL cruiseships. We were given a room at the back near the train line and on the table beside the bed was a complementary single set of earplugs with a note explaining they had had previous complaints about train noise and this was their solution! This is obviously cheaper for them than soundproofing the windows with double glazing I guess. But 1 pair??? Were we meant to share them, perhaps have 2 hours each?

The room was quite dated, and a small portable TV inside a huge TV cabinet looked ridiculously out of place. We didn't expect 5 star but it was hardly "deluxe" either. Inside the bathroom was a big shock to see a coffeemaker placed next to the sink beside the toilet. When a toilet is flushed , all sorts of bacteria fill the air. All I could think of were bacteria from previous occupants. Ugh! This was a regular sized bathroom and this struck me as so totally unhygenic, it turned my stomach.

We went down to dinner having made a reservation for 8:30pm on arrival, only to be greeted by a pretentious server who told us our reservation was for 9pm not 8:30pm. Our memory is not that bad since we made the reservation just 90 minutes previous with the front desk. We assured her it was for 8:30pm and reluctantly she placed us at a table in the middle of the room as far away from the celebrated view as possible. There were 2 free tables next to the window. We asked about each in turn: the first she said was too narrow for 4 people (strange as we breakfasted at the same table next morning! ), the other she said she had other people waiting for. So okay no view! But the main thing was the noise. The restaurant was next to the bar and the noise from there was unbearable. Why can they not divide the two areas off properly?

So we were handed the menus and seeing the prices of main courses at approximately $40 a dish, it really was not worth paying $160 + tips to sit in an unpleasant environment like that so we left the restaurant and instead ordered room service. Portions were miniscule, but still cheaper than the restaurant and quieter at least - we consoled ourselves with the fact we would be able to eat better on the cruiseship next day at least!

We called the concierge and asked about free wifi. He told us it wasn't free but that he would make a special effort and get us a code. Like one of the other contributors above, we were made to feel like the guy was doing us a big favour (tip me tip me?). Really we felt quite uncomfortable asking.

I would not recommend this hotel to stay or eat in. If you are desperate for a hotel close to pier 66, it is conveniently situated, but we recommend you ask for a room at the front of the hotel and eat somewhere else. And do not use the coffee maker in the bathroom!

The hotel asked for a questionnaire to be completed via email when I returned home as well as any comments to be sent to them seperately. I completed both a week ago reflecting our experience and have heard nothing since. So I think customer service there is also pretty poor.

Room Tip: Make sure the coffee maker is not in the bathroom. If train noise bothers you, ask for a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyof4explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveCocks, General Manager at The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
I asm sorry to learn of your disappointment in your stay with us. We can usually do provide outstanding service and accommodations as many fellow reviewers have stated previously.
Please feel free to contact me personally if you wish to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,820
    1,011
    441
    221
    125
See reviews for
636
1,640
175
608
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,438)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We booked a city view room. It was very nice, clean and oh so cozy. (Very small for the price.) The location is great. The hotel supplies a complimentary shuttle van around the downtown area. We were able to park our car and either walk or use the shuttle both days during our stay. The staff were extremely pleasant and friendly. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. As someone else mentioned in their review, the trains were noisy, but the noise didn't hinder our sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovewine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveCocks, General Manager at The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your posting and nice comments.
Always pleased when someone points out that the trains really are not that bad. We really wonder about this and if people travel to other downtown locations such as Manhattan. Now that is noise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is a typical Pacific- northwest style hotel. I was very impressed when I arrived and the views of the ocean are amazing. A drink/ meal in the bar is a must, simply for the view. Try to drink/eat in happy hour too.
I stayed in a double room with a stone tiled bathroom and log fire (this was just for decoration!). My room overlooked the Space Needle.
There are a couple of things that disappointed me though. The room was quite small. When travelling with two large cases, there was little space. Secondly, the wifi is not complimentary, which for a 5* hotel is quite poor in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveCocks, General Manager at The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
We agree a must is to join us in Six Seven for cocktail and a meal! We are very proud of it. And thank you for your feedback and comments as well.
Look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

We stated in a city view room with a view of the space needle. The room was very small for the amount we paid, just enough space for a bed and a chair. However it was very clean and the bathroom was a good size with a very powerful shower. The hotel is opposite a train track, trains run day and night, they are loud but we didn't find this a problem as we were so tired from all the sightseeing. The biggest disappointment was the lack of wifi. As we had European phones this was the only way we could access the Internet. It was very frustrating to have to pay to use it. Finally on our last night we decided to have a drink in the hotel bar. The views are amazing and one of the reasons people stay there. However the bar man refused to accept out driving licences as ID as they were European and not American. We had been in the us three weeks prior to this and not heard this before. It was a frustrating end to our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbutravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveCocks, General Manager at The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Your comments and observations are very much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to post them.
Not sure about the ID situation. We do request/require a photo ID if age is questionable for serving adult beverages. It does not matter whether it is US or European. Just has to be a government issue ID with a photo.
Thanks again for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Definitely book a waterfront room as this is what distinguishes this hotel from others in Seattle. Large balcony for viewing spectacular sunsets! Easy walking to Aquarium, Pike Market, and convenient to cruise departure points. Excellent restaurant/bar at the hotel. Staff is friendly and attentive; pleasing "lodge-style" decor. Definitely will return!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynhess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveCocks, General Manager at The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
You've said it all and said it perfectly!

Thank you very much for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We were guests of the hotel for two nights. All services were spectacular. The view was like no other we have ever had in a waterfront hotel. Food and service 5star; but if you need sleep, you better check to make sure a band has not been booked for your stay. On our 2nd night the band started at 9....right under our room! It quit at midnight. We are old rock and rollers, so the music, generally speaking, was not a problem. The problem was that our room walls vibrated with the drummer, and the singer was yelling. It was awful!
The ad for the hotel starts with....."Know More Sleep"..... we knew none that night. Too bad!
I say that if you are going to have a live band, advise your customer so that he/she can choose a different room location, or maybe even a different hotel.

Room Tip: If you need sleep, book a room at the very far ends of the wings from the main entertainment area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmondtravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveCocks, General Manager at The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback. And thank you for the feedback about the live music. It has not fallen on deaf ears....

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The whole facility is so beautiful, and in such a perfect location. All of the staff we encountered was kind, enthusiastic, and professional. We were given a complimentary upgrade upon arrival, normally a $100 charge. We were in an ocean-side room, with a view of everything from the Ferris wheel to the end of the Olympic range in the distance. Our upgrade included the claw-footed tub in the already sensational bathroom, that had a view of the sound due to the pocket doors opening the bathroom, to the living space.
The restaurant was wonderful. I admit I am a bit confused by the tree art: trying to hard to mesh contemporary with rustic? I never made up my mind. Kind of Tim Burtonesque though. Our waitress was excellent, along with the rest of the staff. We were never wanting, but nothing was intrusive. Just quietly attentive. We sat in one of the booths along the back wall, which I suppose is less desirable, however it afforded us a great view of the room (for people watching) and of the Puget Sound. We even had a full on view of the sunset over the Olympic Mountain Range. The booth I thought was more romantic than the rest of the seating in the restaurant, or even out on the balcony.

Room Tip: Do what you can to get an ocean-side room. The rooms furthest out into the sound, and affording the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveCocks, General Manager at The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
All we can say is "Wow", what a great review and thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel

Property: The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 2411 Alaskan Way, Pier 67, Seattle, WA 98121-1313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of Pier 67, The Edgewater hotel offers an easy walk to Seattle downtown vibrancy, stunning views and lodge luxury. Surround yourself with the beauty of the majestic Olympic Mountains, the sparkling waters of Elliott Bay and the velvety-pink sunsets of the Northwest sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing