We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming with a few hiccups”
Review of Hotel Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Valencia, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming with a few hiccups”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at the Sorrento Hotel to be close to Seattle University. The location was great with beautiful St. James Cathedral nearby and lots of great restaurants on Pike. The hotel had a few issues during our stay like the elevator breaking down, lack of housekeeping to clean our room and no staff to cover the lounge. When we notified the staff at the front desk that our room had not been cleaned, the clerk unfortunately responded, "what would you like, some towels?" All other staff were much more accommodating.

The beds were extremely comfortable, the towels plush and new, and the coffee and tea delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookieLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and provide honest feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and sincerely sorry that our service did not mmet expectations. I would love the opportunity to discuss specifics directly. Please contact me at any time, I hope to hear from you.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    223
    68
    25
    10
See reviews for
108
357
69
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Sorrento Hotel in Seattle for two nights at the end of a 2700 mile road trip through the northwest United States. The hotel is gorgeous, with beautiful woodwork and antique accents throughout. To say this hotel is oozing with charm would be short-changing it. The staff was great. We had booked a regular room, but we were offered an upgrade to a suite for a very small surcharge. The suite was incredible! The room was huge and beautiful. It was even used for filming the movie "Sleepless in Seattle." The hotel location was in easy walking distance of everything in downtown Seattle. When we go back to Seattle, we will be staying at the Sorrento Hotel again.

Room Tip: The suites are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Wow! Thank you for your enthusiastic review. Sincerely, appreciate your feedback and have passed on your praise to our staff. Thank you again!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Booked a room in advance, but were offered to upgrade upon check-in for $25/night. We accepted it and glad we did it! It was the cuties little suite, old fashioned style like the hotel, but everything seemed new. The atmosphere was great. The nice french press coffee from bodum reminded of home (Denmark), the bed was comfy, the bathroom clean. The staff was pleasant and the valet parking (although pricey as it is in big cities) worked well and was quick. A 15 minute walk to downtown up and down the steep streets, but we didn't mind, actually loved it as we don't have it in DK...would highly recommend it - it gives a nice contrast to the modern city centre...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our location. It was our pleasure to have served you.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

If you are looking for old world charm, beautiful rooms, great bedding, exceptional service and amazing location, this is the hotel for you! Valet parking is amazing and front desk staff could not have been better! I was very impressed with the curiousness of all staff from housekeeping to restaurant. While this was a business trip.....it will Definently be a future trip for my husband and me.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you for such a nice review. I have shared your comments with our staff! Glad you had a pleasant experience and hope to see you again soon.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We highly recommend the Sorrento! My husband had done his research and decided this beautiful historic, elegant and centrally located hotel was the place for us and my brother and his wife to spend the first two nights of our joint anniversary celebration vacation (which was to start in Seattle). It did not disappoint and in fact far exceeded our expectations!
Our oh so helpful courtesy car driver was amazing: running us to to Pike Place for the early morning experience my husband was looking forward to, and getting us to the train station with time to spare...
We enjoyed the musical entertainment and food so much that we dined in the Hotel both nights...the bar and wait staff were especially helpful.
The room was luxurious, and we were given both a complimentary upgrade to a suite as well as a surprise bottle of wine in both our rooms for our Anniversaries...
Thank you all for a truly memorable visit! We hope to return one day soon....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amarjit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! I am so glad that we were able to play apart in your joint celebration. Hope to see you again soon!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We just completed our most recent stay at this grand hotel. My wife was recovering from surgery and the staff could not have been more helpful and caring. The Sorrento is an historically significant structure. The public spaces are gorgeous and the guest rooms are gracious, elegant, and very comfortable.

This is the only hotel we consider when in Seattle. Vibrant local neighborhood as well.

Finally, the in-house restaurants are some of the best in town. Don't miss the Hunt Club.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room. The rooms with a parlor are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you Gerry! Again, we hope that your wife is recovering comfortably and hope to see you again (under better circumstances!). Thank you.


Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed here the first night of our honeymoon, before leaving on the NCL Alaska cruise the following day. Service was excellent, they treated us very well and even left us a surprise in the room since it was our honeymoon, a bottle of wine with a nice welcome card. The courtesy car service was great, saved us some cab fare and a more comfortable ride as well. Stayed in the junior suite and it was very nice and very spacious. Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very clean, great room. Staff is what made this place great. From the front desk, to the concierge and courtesy car drivers, to the bartender in the restaurant. They let us leave our bags for the day the following week when we returned from the cruise since we had a redeye flight. That way we were able to enjoy a day in Seattle without having to drag our bags around. They even still had a hairbrush at the front desk my wife had left in our room the week before. Great stay, Great Hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalopez52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Congrats again! We were thrilled that we were apart of your special event! Best Wishes!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#10 of 101 in Seattle
2,037 reviews
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#22 of 101 in Seattle
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Sorrento
Address: 900 Madison St, Seattle, WA 98104-1234
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#18 Business Hotel in Seattle
#23 Family Hotel in Seattle
#25 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on First Hill overlooking downtown Seattle the Sorrento Hotel infuses a classic old world style with modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing