We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance from the 1900s”
Review of Hotel Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #24 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Sorrento Hotel was opened in 1909. Classic decor, carefully maintained to keep the old charm fresh, infuses the interior. The Fireside room is a lovely old gathering place (or lobby) that is now used as a place for customers and hotel guests to get a drink or grab a bite to eat. The restaurant and bar are nearby, so you have access to the full menu.
The customer service was top-notch. The valet staff/doormen are courteous and are available to drive you to any destination in town - or pick you up after a movie.
We stayed the week before Thanksgiving, which means the place was in full holiday swing. Hot cider at the registration desk was available all day after morning coffee service.
The hotel is proud of being in business for over 100 years. They have kept pace, mostly, with amenities and updating their rooms. The mini-suite has a small bathroom (shower and toilet) with a larger vanity area that includes the room closet. The room has plenty of space to relax in - the bed taking up one portion and a sitting area with a couch, several chairs, coffee table, desk and chair. A small nook contains the coffee maker and ice-bucket. A large screen tv brings you the news or entertainment, as you expect. A mini fridge provides a safe place for your late night snacks.
The location of The Sorrento, on Madison and Terry, is ideal for walking around some of the best parts of Seattle. The hills, on the other hand, are not for the faint-hearted. That's why we walked over to Pacific Place to see a movie, grab a bite and then walk over to Westlake Mall for shopping. On a different occasion we grabbed a ride to Pike Place Market. On our walk back we visited the library, considered the city art, grabbed lunch at a hole-in-the-wall pizza joint (best deal in town for pizza by the slice) and took the hills one-by-one, visiting shops and buildings as we climbed back to the hotel.
I frequent the Fireside room since I work nearby and find the place convenient for meeting my ride after work. The wood paneling is from Italy, the music is often appropriately from the 1920s and 1930s. The wait staff are excellent, some even know my name and my drink and food preferences.
While I feel the room rate was worth the stay, it is a bit steeper than I usually like to pay for a hotel room.
For business travelers, a business center is present on the lower level, with free printing and computer access. Free Wi-Fi is available with access code.
The room had one of the best bed mattresses I have slept on in a hotel.

Room Tip: The mini-suite is a nice change from the standard hotel room - a separate area for sitting, chatting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lokisdottr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Wow! Thank you so, so much for such a wonderful review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and absolutely thrilled that our staff made such an impression. You have made our day.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

We recently stayed in the Sorrento, built in 1909, for a long weekend in Seattle. It was very comfortable, good value, with a comfortable bed and updated marble bathroom. I recommend it for anyone traveling to Seattle to see the sights. It's located close to the Library with easy access to both the Pike Market area and Capitol Hill.

Room Tip: We were upgraded without fuss to a junior suite which was a convenient size at a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PJV1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to submiting such a kind review. I am glad you found our Hotel to be so comfortable. Hope to see you again soon!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

A lovely hotel with lots of charm and wonderful staff. The public hotel areas well suited the atmosphere of the Seattle landscape, and the rooms were kept up-to-date with a huge TV, free Wifi access, and comfortable beds. Did I mention that the rooms were huge! The restaurant was nice, and had a good selection of various foods, but sometimes the quaint darkness made it look like it wasn't open. All the staff were very eager to be of assistance, and the complimentary car rides within the city centre were great, saving us lots of time and money. The hotel is well situated, being only a brief walk away from the waterfront, the monorail, and the shopping district. It was well priced, and the only real downside was that it was occasionally noisy in the room of you happened to have someone in the room above - you can hear them walking around and so forth. Other than that, a wonderful hotel and great service, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants something more than a boring and generic chain hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wattostudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you so much for the kind review. I am so glad you found our rooms spacious and comfortable. I am also glad to hear that our complimentry car service came in handy.Thank you again!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Seattle’s Sorrento is considered a boutique hotel with only 76 rooms. As such, it has a homey feel to it. We occupy room 608, used in the popular movie, “Sleepless in Seattle.” To think – we share a bed with Tom Hanks or better yet, Meg Ryan! Actually, it was used to depict a New York City hotel room occupied by Meg Ryan’s boyfriend.

The Sorrento at 900 Madison Street on historic First Hill has been a special draw from way back in 1909, with rich, Italian architecture and personalized service. (When we wanted a ride downtown, we just asked – they provided complimentary service.) And the bedding here is so comfortable that the hotel routinely sells it to the public.

The Sorrento boasts an affinity for the arts. Inside the beautiful, oak-paneled main floor Fireside Room with large luxurious chairs, they offer live jazz and often conduct “Silent Readings” throughout the year, offering discounted beverages and food. You bring a book and simply read quietly in the elegant atmosphere, and this has become a fun outing for the likes of the mayor and other city notables.

For lunch, inside their warm, oak-paneled Hunt Club, a neighborhood favorite for locals, I choose “The Combo,” selecting tomato soup, Caesar salad with savoury whiskey-dipped pralines and half a Reuben sandwich, while my spouse opts for vegetable soup, green organic salad and a farmer’s sandwich featuring cheese, bacon, tomatoes and turkey on artisanal bread.

In the evening, we visit Marion Oliver McCaw Hall at the Seattle Center to see Madama Butterfly, Puccini’s opera in which a Japanese maiden catches the fancy of a caddish American Naval officer, crosses cultural boundaries to become his bride, and grapples with a serious predicament while faithfully awaiting his return.

Room Tip: Go for room 608 - The bed alone is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Wow! Thank you for such a kind review. I am thrilled that you found our beds to be so comfortable! I have shared your comments with our staff and appreciate the great feedback!
Hope to see you again soon!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I had a one night getaway on New Year's night at the Sorrento. Always wanted to stay here and this was our first time. It's a lovely old hotel that maintains the old charm and character.
Pros:
Staff was wonderful - all the way from the valet, housekeeping, desk staff to the Fireside Room and Hunt Club wait staff.
Food at the Hunt Club was AMAZING!!!!
Loved sitting in the Fireside Room with a pre-dinner cocktail Tried the signature Sorrento 75 - it was yummy!
We stayed in a deluxe room with a queen bed - lots of good lighting - nice tv - enjoyed the robes and the french press coffee!
No street noise - very quiet.
Very comfy bed pillows.

Cons:
Overnight valet parking was very steep at $39!
Hunt Club very spendy - although the food is wonderful.
Our bed had a dip in the middle so we tended to slide toward the middle and it make it hard to get comfortable - I would expect a fantastic bed for a hotel such as this.
It was very warm in our room and the cooler fan did not cool the room at all and was VERY loud - needless to say - with the bed and fan and heat - we did not get any sleep.
Bottled water in the room was $4! (Get water from the lobby and bring it up with you)

So, overall, loved the hotel and the experience - very romantic and wonderul food....but I probably would not pay the price again based on the bad sleeping experience.

Room Tip: Maybe ask if there are rooms with newer mattresses....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eservedio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Happy New Year!
So glad you spent the Holiday with us.I am happy to hear that our staff made such an impression and you enjoyed your stay.Thank you.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is the most beautiful, cozy hotel - actually, it feels more like a home than a hotel. The rooms are gorgeous - we stayed in a Sorrento suite, which was spacious and gracious. The staff were so friendly and nice and the lobby was really lovely. We were there over Christmas, so I really didn't want some cold, impersonal place - the Sorrento was just perfect. I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to feel at home in an unfamiliar city.

Room Tip: The Sorrento suites are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you so much for such a nice review! I am glad you found our rooms to be spacious and comfortable. I am more thrilled that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I have passed on your kind comments. Thank you.

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at the Sorrento Hotel for four nights in September. At arrival, we were immediately impressed with the staff. They were quick to greet us, assist us with our luggage, and park the car. Check in was very easy and quick. Everyone we encountered was very pleasant and welcoming.

We stayed in a Corner Suite and the room was large, almost like a small apartment. On one side of a small hall was a very spacious sitting room. To the other side, the room with bed. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. There was no street noise that we could recall. Comfortable robes are provided, but no slippers, which would have been a nice to walk around in the room and bathroom. Housekeeping was very efficient. Once we left the room, they were quick to attend to it. On the first day, they left a small gift of retro candy and a handwritten welcome note. A small gesture, but it goes a long way in separating them from the others. There was a French Press in the room and an honor bar, which we did not use. However, the shop across the street had great breakfast sandwiches and large coffees that we brought back to the room to enjoy.

The L-shaped bathroom was also spacious. The pedestal sinks were attractive, but they don't have a lot of space for toiletries. Small table is provided, but it was far from the sink (closer to the toilet in the L-shape), so was not really useful. The shower was in a standard sized tub, and not separate, with a shower curtain. Not a lot of room to move around and thought the curtain was white, it seem to block the light.

The hotel is away form the beaten path. However, the hotel provided a car to take you within a five-mile radius, which takes you to almost all the major attractions. We did not eat at the restaurant, but did go to the bar. The bar is wood paneled, dark, and charming, taking you to another world. The bartenders were friendly and efficient. They had some interesting specialty drinks, though we did not try any. Live entertainment on the weekends that is a draw, while not becoming too crowded.

In all, we really enjoyed our stay at the Sorrento Hotel. We would definitely consider staying here again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L&JinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandallObrecht, General Manager at Hotel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am thrilled that you found our Hotel to be charming. I am also glad that you found our Housekeeping and Lounge staff to be so friendly. We hope to see you again soon!

Randall Obrecht
General Manager
Sorrento Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#36 of 104 in Seattle
2,388 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 104 in Seattle
2,091 reviews
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#20 of 104 in Seattle
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Pan Pacific Seattle
Pan Pacific Seattle
#16 of 104 in Seattle
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento

Address: 900 Madison St, Seattle, WA 98104-1234
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#18 Business Hotel in Seattle
#23 Family Hotel in Seattle
#25 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £134 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on First Hill overlooking downtown Seattle the Sorrento Hotel infuses a classic old world style with modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing