We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, great location”
Reviewed 3 September 2010

This is by no means a new and modern hotel but it is so clean, the service is great and it's so darn charming and romantic. We'd definitely stay there again. Our first night we had a queen size bed which wasn't going to work for us (our mistake for not requesting a king on check-in). The second day we requested a king room - no problem - they cheerfully changed our room for us. The $32 per day parking is steep. We decided that in light of that and the cost of a rental car, parking fees wherever we went - we just wouldn't bother renting a car again. Cheaper to do cabs. Wonderful hotel - we recommend it - the staff is great!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    217
    66
    25
    10
See reviews for
107
352
69
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

If you go on expedia, you can get an amazing deal on the Sorrento suite - a large 1 bedroom beautifully appointed suite. The hotel was built at the turn of the century and has preserved that decor - high ceilings, antiques, Rookwood tile, walnut paneling, etc. The staff are young, intelligent, and actually engaged in their positions! Excellent service. We are light sleepers so the very quiet (and safe) location in the middle of the medical district was ideal. We also like to walk - the hotel is a 10 minute walk from downtown (waterfront), and a 10 minute walk from the funky Broadway area, so it was perfectly situated for us. If you like your hotels to feel quiet, intimate, boutique, and oozing with character, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The Sorrento was on a "best list" over four years ago based on the certificate in the lobby. I can understand why it hasn't been on any lists since and it only has its owners to blame. Broken windows (or ones that don't shut), leaking AC units (if you have one), worn and mismatched furniture. The list goes on. We were in two different suites and most everything needs to be repaired or updated. It looks like a historic luxury hotel in the lobby and exterior but sadly it's crying on the inside for some TLC. The staff was awesome though but I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank herculepoirot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Wow, I stayed here for my honeymoon and it could not have been better. Now, my wife and I are not accustomed to luxury so every tiny detail was a pleasant surprise. Ie they change the elevator carpet every night at midnight to display the new day. Also our room had a beautiful bathroom the size of a new York apartment lol jk but it was large with a double size bathtub and marble tile. The service was great extremely helpful and courteous. The only downside and this is not the hotels fault but Seattle esp. This area is very hilly so if u are fit have no worries everything is accessible from walking but if walking is problematic U may want to find a different location. Since I don't mind walking thus is definitely my new go to for Seattle if I ever come back or recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -rasta-blanket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, AZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The Sorrento Hotel is definitely at the top of my list. Charming boutique hotel with turn of the century charm but up to date amenities. At the top of a hill and a 15-20 minute walk from Capitol Hill or downtown, the hotel was generous with the Towne Car. The service was excellent, the young staff knowledgeable about restaurants, and all apparently emotionally invested in the hotel. Travelocity failed to let the hotel know our son was with us, but we were quickly upgraded to a suite. Thank you Sorrento for a great first time in Seattle.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank book_junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

The Sorrento remains my "go to" hotel in Seattle. I love the old world charm, great location, friendly staff, quirky crowd and generous rooms. In fact, I've never stayed in two similar rooms or suites -- I like that. Nothing cookie cutter about this place. This time I was upgraded to a suite (thanks to AmEx platinum) overlooking the porte cochere. It was chilly, rainy and windy in Seattle and I couldn't get the heat in the room to cooperate, but the top notch comforter and bed linens were so inviting they almost compensated.

The lobby and adjacent bar can be lively if there's live piano, but the Hunt Club restaurant is, regrettably, just serviceable. The signature palm trees out front are looking a bit forlorn (I don't think this variety grows well this far north -- just sayin').

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irreverent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We were delighted with our choice in this Hotel, the rooms were shic, modern & beautiful. A little bit small but perfect for our two night stay. The people in the lobby were very friendly and made us feel at home. I hate how swanky hotels make you feel uncomfortable and not welcome but that certainly didn't happen here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lib817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
431 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#13 of 100 in Seattle
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Sorrento
Address: 900 Madison St, Seattle, WA 98104-1234
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#18 Business Hotel in Seattle
#23 Family Hotel in Seattle
#25 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on First Hill overlooking downtown Seattle the Sorrento Hotel infuses a classic old world style with modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing