We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for seeing Seattle.”
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #46 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Grimsby
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for seeing Seattle.”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel centrally situated for the Space Needle, EMP museum and Science Centre. The staff are helpful and friendly and the room we had offers great views of the city. Bars, restaurants and shops are all close by. The rooms are large modern and tastefully decorated. The Westin is a top hotel and easy to find being 5 minutes from the highway, just perfect for our needs.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisnTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, bars and the Monorail to Seattle Center. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    943
    375
    114
    59
See reviews for
533
609
70
827
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The Westin is in a great location downtown. Within walking distance to Pike's market, the waterfront, aquarium. Great shopping all around. Lots of good restaurant & lounges located nearby. There is a monorail to the space needle across the street. The light rail station is 2 blocks away. We took the light rail to Safeco field for a ball game and it only took 15 minutes. I felt very safe walking in downtown Seattle at all times day or night.

The hotel itself is decent if a little pricey. The rooms have large floor to ceiling windows. The bed is comfortable. There is a coffee maker but be warned the coffee is very strong. There is no fridge but a mini bar instead. Everything in the room was clean and well maintained.

The hotel is definitely geared to the business traveller. Everything is pretty expensive.The hotel lounge serves good strong drinks. The restaurant is a casual gourmet burger type place. There's also a little coffee stand. I didn't use the pool.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Service is good here. Given the location I would stay here again. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to explore the nearby attractions, shopping and restaurants while here on business. Hopefully we will have another opportunity to be of service when you return to Seattle. Thank you again for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

It's always nice to be in the middle of everything, the center of attention. The Westin is all that and more. We recently spent three nights here for a conference and had a splendid experience. Staff were sharp and attentive, rooms were updated and comfortable and it is close to all the things you'd care to do in Seattle. This is a BIG hotel so be advised. It does feel a bit formal and stark, so if you're looking for small and cozy, look elsewhere. The Westin does know how to take care of guests and that does feel personal. We had breakfast at Urbane and found the food and service impeccable.
You can walk to at least a dozen great restaurants. The monorail runs right out front and the station is down a couple blocks. That opens up Seattle Center as an activity destination. Waterfromt and Pike St Market are also easy to access. This is a great urban hotel in a captivatingly beautiful city. Come, stay, enjoy.

Room Tip: Get a room above floor 10 on the West side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for your review. It is rewarding to learn you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. While we are a large hotel, our goal is to provide warm and personal service to our guests. We are glad you had the opportunity to experience some of the many attractions Seattle has to offer and look forward to your return. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a jumping off point for an Alaskan cruise. The room had a great view of the city and was centrally located downtown. We were in walking distance to the city's above ground tram system, restaurants and Pike Place market . We used the tram to travel to the Space Needle. Drinks and little appetizers were available in the lounge area. Definitely stay here again if we're back in Seattle.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive comments and glad you enjoyed your stay with us prior to your Alaskan cruise. Should your travels bring you back to Seattle, we hope you will choose The Westin Seattle to be your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

We checked in on May 18 and had great service from the SPG gold desk. The hotel was very full for the weekend, but the check-in person went beyond expectation in accommodating a special room request. When dropping by the desk with a question two days later, she cheerfully responded and pulled up my bill without me ever sharing my name or room number.

I have stayed in many Starwood hotels and was very impressed with my service experience at the Westin Seattle.

The hotel also is in a good location for easy walking to the downtown and market attractions. Several excellent Tom Douglas restaurants are nearby. Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notourhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for your review. It is rewarding to learn you enjoyed your stay and received great service from our front desk staff. We will share your comments with our team along with our thanks. Thank you again for the positive review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Nice hotel, just down the street from stores, restaurants and attractions like the Space Needle.
Rooms were very clean and nice. Pool was great. The only complaint I had was that the elevators weren't working properly. I am not sure if they are fixed or not now, but they weren't working well when I was there. Otherwise, great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davhb221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for your review. Our location near the Monorail to Seattle Center, restaurants and shopping make us a great choice for a Seattle getaway. We apologize for the delay in elevator service. We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights on weekend. The location is good. You can walk most spots or get on light rail. There are other options equally as good though. The hotel is VERY big and commercial. Definitely geared towards business folks. They did give us a great view of the sound. But that was the extent of our good service. Never saw a bell hop, concerige not much help. Staff a little snotty and you can tell they don't really care. You are just a number here. I had concerns about safety issues here. They have several entrances and no security that I can see. Seattle itself to me is a little seedy. The hotel is in an ok location but to me the whole city seems unsafe so the hotel location itself isn't much different. The location is very close to several good restaurants including most of the Tom Douglas restaurants. The restaurant in the hotel Relish is good for a quick bite and we did get great service there. We also payed WAY to much for this hotel. If you get a good price it is prob worth it. The whole city was booked up this weekend though and so we took what we could get. And paid around 250 a night. I found myself wishing we were staying at Hotel Andra which was around the corner and looked more personal. I also found the hotel cleaning staff to just do the minimum. Nothing more than making the bed really. Also sheets and food left in halls and ON THE ELEVATOR for long periods of time. Not really what I expect from a Westin.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margiemom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsMgrTWS, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We work hard to provide high quality service to our guests and disappointed you found the concierges and other staff members were not warm, helpful and welcoming, and your room was not thoroughly clean. Please accept our apologies and be assured your comments will be shared with the leaders in the areas of concern. The safety and security of our guests are our top priority. We have security officers on duty 24 hours a day who tour the entire hotel and respond immediately to emergencies. Should you ever experience a disturbance of any type while staying with us, a call to the operator will result in the dispatch of security officers and management staff to the scene. Additionally, all our staff members are trained to report anything out of the ordinary. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have another opportunity to be of service when your travels bring you back to Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#37 of 101 in Seattle
4,159 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,024 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#9 of 101 in Seattle
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#10 of 101 in Seattle
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Property: The Westin Seattle
Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#22 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#48 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing