We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #44 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a fantastic location & is reasonably priced. They are not gluten free friendly at the resturant or the bar;-(. There are no radio docs for your phone & the rooms are dated. We paid $150 per night so I feel that the ammenaties equaled the price. The staff were super friendly & helpful! There is no shuttle service to anywhere either. I would recommend staying here if you are planning on touring the surrounding area. Also there are no fridges is the room and the pool was meh...but location is great!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambersimmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that the service was great and the location was perfect for you. Your feedback regarding the lack of gluten free food choices will be passed along to our Food & Beverage team so that we may provide additional options. We apologize that you were not aware of our mini fridges, we have a limited number available for a nominal fee. Thank you again for your feedback. The comments from our guests are incredibly valuable as we are always striving to be our very best. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,217 - 2,223 of 2,699 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel is well located, however, this hotel is dated and not maintained to a typical Westin standard. The housekeeping was lacking and again not up to Westin's standards. Elevators were very busy and we had to wait up to 10 minutes to get an elevator! Parking at $46 was above average for Seattle. Beds were small, not a full queen. Try the Sheraton or Hotel 1000 instead. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AaronVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to provide the highest quality in service and facilities, and we apologize that we fell short of your expectations. Your comments will be shared with our teams for improvement. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for the Seattle Marathon and it is a great location and the place to be, close to all the best of Seattle - Pike's Place, Nordstrom flagship store, shopping, the monorail to the Space Needle, etc. The round towers make for unique rooms (and a much better layout than the round rooms of the Chateau Lacombe in Edmonton) and we had a great view of the Space Needle. The tater tot app in the lobby bar is excellent and a great premarathon treat! The only complaints I have are that the pool/hot tub is in desperate need of an update, there is a very hateful 'weighted' minibar where if you even touch something you are charged (not so great when traveling with inquisitive 7 and 4 year old children), the elevators are painfully slow, and we were given a hard time because we wanted to use the hotel luggage cart at 5:30 in the morning without the bellboy. When traveling with children sometimes I believe it is best to move and move your stuff on a parallel plane and not according to 'hotel policy'.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Several times the family and I have spent the weekend in Seattle and the Westin is our choice. The close proximity to Pike Place and all shopping makes it ideal. The iconic circular towers makes it special and better than your standard box shaped room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank RobD65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

It was one of the worst experiences ever. They gave us a room that was already occupied, restaurant wait was over 2 hours with rude waiter telling us children that they just needed to wait for water. Then, we were trapped on a floor waiting for an elevator for at least 20min, with no access to get off the floor by stairs. Can you say FIRE HAZZARD???

So, I complained, and SILENT! I have not heard a thing from them. Not an apology, not any kind of acknowledgement. We are NEVER going back there!!!

You can check out any time you like, but you can never leave!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chi-Na S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for the poor service you received in Relish and the inconvenience of the long elevator wait. It is very important that we provide our guests with quick and excellent and service. Your comments will be shared with our management team so we may provide additional training to improve our service. Please contact us at ashley.mcfarland@westin.com if you would like to provide further details. Thank you again and we hope to be of service on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Have stayed here on & off for 25 years and sadly the wonderful energy and vibe of this perfectly located property is gone! Oh, and did I mention the poor service? Well then, allow me!

When we tried to check in to our adjoining pair of water view rooms I had reserved months prior I was told that one was ready but not the other... BUT "We will put a rush on that, sir, and call you when it is ready!" The Japanese fellow in line ahead of me had been told the same thing.

Apparently, at this Hotel that promise is the same as "The check's in the mail" and other famous non-truths because they never called! After almost 3 hours I went to the front desk and was told that our other room would never be ready AND we would need to change rooms. I rightfully complained to the assistant manager who offered a paltry $50 rate reduction on our $400 charge.
Hopefully they gave the Japanese guy a reduced rate too because he as in line right behind me and he still didn't have his room either!

But check-out time???... now that's a different matter! You must be out by 12 NOON or else.

This once wonderful property is now run like a chain hostelry... oh, which I guess it IS! Too bad.

I would suggest the board of directors of the "chain" shackle themselves to a night or two here to experience low service at a high price. And while they are at it they can enjoy a hamburger in the Burger Bistro, the ONLY in-house restaurant on site. A Burger Joint in a nice place like this? Wow, who was the blind interior decorator that made that happen?

Room Tip: Go for the North Tower only if you want astonishing views of the Space Needle and the bay... 40th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for the poor service you received with regards to the room mix up and your overall unpleasant experience you had during your stay. Your comments will be shared with our management team so we can continue to improve our service and scheduling. Please feel free to contact me at ashley.mcfarland@westin.com if you would like to provide further details. We hope to have another opportunity to be of service on your next visit to Seattle.Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed in the heart of downtown Seattle at the Westin . It's pretty much 5-10 mins walking distance to the Westlake shopping mall, nordstroms n macys and to Pikes Market n many many more great restaurants n landmarks. It was a few days before Xmas n they were very busy. Service was excellent the staff very helpfully n friendly n the concierge service was superb .we want to go back soon but in summer or fall so we can see n do more in this very beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor for the view n looking towards the space needle . We liked our king s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitunaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review and rating! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay during the Holidays. We will let our concierge know that they provided excellent service. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#32 of 104 in Seattle
4,658 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Pan Pacific Seattle
Pan Pacific Seattle
#17 of 104 in Seattle
1,602 reviews
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
W Seattle
#34 of 104 in Seattle
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#48 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £116 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing