We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location but tired hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #46 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersGold level
Norway
Level Contributor
191 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“good location but tired hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

stayed here for a conference. The bedroom was big and clean and we had a great view from 47th floor. Staff were very helpful and attentive. I felt the hotel was tired and dated.
Our room had interconnecting doors on both sides, which were so poorly insulated that we could hear the people talking in the rooms next to us (as well as baby crying in the midle of the night.)
The conference rooms were extremely variable in temperature. One was freezing (even the guys were bringing jackets to wear!), another was too hot and stuffy...
Great location, but not sure its worth the money, especially as no breakfast included in price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenBNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    809
    324
    95
    50
See reviews for
444
520
63
665
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, NL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We were in Seattle on vacation and arrived April 2014. We stayed on the 37th floor in a deluxe king view with a breathtaking city view, it was heavenly! The location was perfect, monorail to the Space Needle right outside, a 10 minute walk to Pike Place Market and the Great Wheel. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. The only downside was the hotel restaurant which was a Relish, I would have expected a much better restaurant with a better menu at such a lovely hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for the views, for the comfy and spotless rooms, the comfy beds and the great location for tourists! Well done Westin!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the views and location of our hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at the Westin Seattle for four nights. The location can't be beat. We were able to take light rail from and to the airport and walked between the hotel and the station.

I fell for a teaser offer from the hotel ahead of our stay and booked a high floor room with a view. The view was absolutely stunning. We were able to see the Great Wheel, Pike Place Market and the sound.

I still found the room way overpriced, even with a conference rate. We had two double beds in the room, which was smallish by today's business hotel standards. There was only one tiny nightstand between the beds and it was completely occupied by the lamp, phone, and clock radio. While I appreciated having a desk and two conversation chairs and a small table, the extra bed meant the room was absolutely crammed full of furniture. There was a small closet with one tiny chest of drawers. For two people (even light packers like us) on a four-night stay, I found the room to be too small. We couldn't stow our luggage out of the way and it seemed like we were constantly tripping over each other and our luggage. I can't even imagine the horror of trying to fit four people into this room.

There were plenty of outlets for charging devices. We just had to find them. There was a charging station tucked behind the TV.

The room had a safe, though ours didn't work and we didn't bother to call and get it fixed.

The room and the bathroom were clean. The bathroom had a magnification mirror. Once the fluorescent lights warmed up, the bathroom was well-lit. I really appreciated the light directly over the tub/shower. And we both liked the rain shower head.

The staff here were gracious, attentive, and friendly.

I'd stay here again if the price was right, though I'd shop for a better value and a larger room.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor with a view of the sound. Try to avoid a room with two beds--that's too muc...
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciate what Westin is doing in terms of water saving and energy saving. As an alternative to "no maid service", I'd prefer a "light maid service" option where the maid will still empty trash, vacuum, and change out a towel or two if needed.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank athena-fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the views, convenient location and friendly staff. Your comments regarding the room will be communicated to our staff as we are always seeking to improve the guest experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great place to be. Located in centre of the city, cozy rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank スラムダンクカズ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I just returned from staying in one of the "deluxe suites" at the Westin and while the view was excellent I found the amenities to include the bathrooms really tired especially for a "Deluxe Suite". Truthfully the tub/ shower reminded me of my days staying at a Motel 6 or some other budget hotel where you had a chintzy shower curtain and water pressure I'd liken to that of a clogged hose. I have no issue paying for quality but this wasn't what I'd term "deluxe suite" except for the view.

On the bright side the staff were brilliant in every way. One night we had a rather large party and Mali worked her wonders to get us into a great Indian Restaurant down by Pike's Market.

While I'd stay there again in main part because of the views I'd definitely NOT waste my money for a suite

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TahoeJoe1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are happy to hear the location was an excellent fit and the customer service was exceptional. Thank you for your feedback on the bathroom. We are always looking to improve and take our guests suggestions very seriously. We hope that you will give us another opportunity of service again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

It is downtown and close to Nordstroms, however, for the price of the room at $259.00 I've stayed at nicer hotels with more amenities for allot less money. There is only one restaurant in this hotel and it's claim to fame is hamburgers! I'll review Relishes under restaurants. Wi-Fi is not free!! unless you join there points club not a big deal just irritating to deal with at check in. The only parking available is there valet garage and it's billed to your room at the rate of $47.31 per night! We were there for the U of Arizona event there were supposed to be rooms for $180.00 but they weren't honoring that since the block of rooms were closed out. Not a great experience with two rooms, valet and over priced hamburgers!

Room Tip: At least ask for a view, none of the windows open so it does get stuffy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjklf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niva, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Couldn't have been a better stay. The staff was friendly and were quickly to help us getting a crip and refrigerator for our baby. We stayed in a Grand View Room and it was worth every $, fantastic view - will stay there again definitely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rixsine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#39 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,663 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,776 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#12 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
W Seattle
#40 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Property: The Westin Seattle
Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#48 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing