We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location; liked everything but the extra charges”
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #43 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Returned to Seattle after several days on the road and sightseeing, and the Westin was an excellent choice for a final night in town and morning dash to the airport. The room was unexpectedly large, even though "traditional" (meaning no nice view). The pool and fitness center are easy to access and open late. The hotel is an easy walk to Pike Place and other in-town attractions and restaurants. Great breakfast bakery two blocks away.

Outrageous was the $46/night parking charge ($41 if self-parked) and the multiple-dollar-per hour charges for internet access in the rooms. Even the computers in the "business center" charge 40 cents per minute for internet access.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,946 - 1,952 of 2,641 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

I had a quick trip to Seattle for business so just a single night in this hotel.
Very friendly staff at the front desk on both check-in and check-out, something of a norm at a Westin.
The double circular towers add a hip, modern feel and the restaurant makes a mean burger!
All in all, a nice hotel and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank metta_bhavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The location is great but way to expensive for what you get and they nickle and dime you for everything. From the $16 extra for wifi to the $45 per night for parking. Lol they even boast about a new green service where they don't tend to your room unless you ask in the name of saving the environment aka we give you less service and charge you more so our bottom line is bigger. Very pathetic we stayed two nights couldn't check out quick enough. However I must say the staff were pleasant. As a seasoned traveler I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdk345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for choosing The Westin Seattle and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I regret to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience with us. Due to the prime location of our hotel and our the busy summer season, our prices are very comparable to nearby hotels in similar categories. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I travel to Seattle each summer to visit family and we always stay here. If you've been to a Westin, you get the same Westin consistency on the interior which I like. This location is unique in that it has two circular towers. Depending on where you are obviously you get various views. This trip was a fast two night stay so we did not ask for or need anything fancy so we got what they gave us, room 1233 in the North Tower. This room looked straight north and gave us only a view of the Westin Building across the street. It also had the roof of the convention floors and such just a few stories below. Again, we didn't need anything special so this was not a problem. I will mention though that the exterior noise in this room was excessive due to the seagulls on the roof below and surprisingly from the monorail that had been behind us and out of view. Other times when we'd stay we'd have breath taking views of the Sound.

Pros: clean facility and room. The staff are always nice and seem to go the extra mile. If you like consistency, Westin has it and this location is no exception. Close walking distance to most everything and their bus/train systems that will take you everywhere else.

Cons: none that I can see. My only negative encounter was my own fault for not asking. There is a restaurant (Relish) in the lobby and on getaway day I wanted their breakfast buffet without asking how much. I was surprised when the bill came that it was $25 for just me and for very little selection, my fault.

Room Tip: Definitely ask what your view will be, the higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I'm a big fan here. It may not be as nice as other Westin properties, but I am very impressed. The staff, including Theodore Smith, is as good as they come. Mr. Smith had us with a view of the Puget Sound as promised. Great views! I believe we were on the highest(40th) floor of the North tower. Once we arrived, realized the air conditioning in room was broken. They fixed it and gave us a fan in the room to try and cool it off. I am in the glass business and they probably need to get glass with better efficiency as you couldn't totally enjoy the sunset. The glass was no match for the sun and it was hot no matter that air conditioning was fixed.
Now back to the good parts, there is an indoor pool and jacuzzi . The hotel couldn't be more centrally located for all purposes. Near the monorail to the space needle, light rail Westlake Center stop which can take you to Safeco field and SeaTac airport, and near shopping(Westlake Center, flagship Nordstrom Dept. store & Pacific Place/waterfront/Pike Place area. We requested a late check out and they gave us until 4PM and that was helpful. Much to like and very pleased.

Room Tip: Puget Sound View very good. I am sure space needle views are good but noticed a building coming out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sgood111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyGuestServices, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We hope you will join us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We took a long trip to celebrate my birthday this year and stayed in several different places along the way up and down the coast (Ca, Or, Wa, etc). This hotel was a welcome retreat, worth paying for an upgraded room view of the water on a high floor. Although with its central location, and the way the towers are built, I'm sure all the rooms have great views. Comfortable, clean, and within walking distance of the local attractions (pikes place market, space needle).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Abby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Love the bedsheets very luxurious I do not want to get up. I would like to know what kind of bedsheets it is. Great view from our room and our room is big with two armchairs to lounge reading. We requested queen beds but got two double beds so I gave it four stars. Clipper Vacation arranged for our stay with our tours and we all requested queen beds. Concierge very helpful they let me charge my iphone since I forgot my charger for this trip. Location is about 4 blocks to Pike Place nice walk and Emerald Trolley picks up at this location to take you to all the stops the trolley goes to. Shopping is close by. Bathroom upon check in has urine smell inside. I have to use my lavender room spray. I bring my lavender spray on my trips to relax and freshen hotel rooms. I should give it three but I like the room and sheets

Room Tip: I requested near elevator and it was very quiet and easily accessible, higher floors better view we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#32 of 103 in Seattle
4,555 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,175 reviews
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt At Olive 8
#9 of 103 in Seattle
2,478 reviews
Belltown
Warwick Seattle
Warwick Seattle
#45 of 103 in Seattle
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#22 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#48 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £136 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing