We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The lobby is pretty with bright retro furnishings and a constant supply of Starbucks coffee and excellent Tazo teas. The staff are friendly and helpful. Troy was especially welcoming. The elevator is quick. The room was quiet, spacious and the king size bed was comfortable. Bottles of water are available in the room for free (and these days this is not common). The outdoor pool is lovely. There is a free shuttle to and from the city (with reservations) and the location of the hotel itself is great. It's not downtown but only a mile or so from places worth visiting such as Fremont and Capitol hill. I look forward to staying here again. It is now my favorite place to stay in Seattle.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmelapplepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Carmelapplepie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I’m so pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful; I agree – Troy is a true gem. I’m glad we are your new hotel of choice when visiting Seattle. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    290
    72
    23
    6
See reviews for
290
173
51
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ota, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We enjoyed a pleasant stay while visiting University of Washington. The hotel was very quiet and clean. Basic breakfast was included in self-serve area. Good location for visiting University at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Heather A,

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Thanks for your review.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times and it keeps getting better in service and amenities. For a single traveler or family, this is a great place to stay in Seattle. It's close to the freeway and 10 minutes from downtown. Free parking. Great complimentary breakfast with a microwave and fridge in every room. I had a Keurig coffee/tea maker in my room with a nice selection of coffee, tea and hot chocolate. The buffet bar in the lobby offers a bigger selection of teas and hot drinks 24/7. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Free Wi-Fi. Walking distance to the UW campus and shopping on "the Ave". I haven't used their free shuttle service to downtown and the airport but it's a wonderful service to take advantage of if you don't have a car. Although parking is free, the parking lot gets full quickly because it is shared with the restaurant next door (Portage Bay Cafe). I've had to find on the the street parking in the past when the lot was full.

Room Tip: The newer wing has nicer rooms. My corner room at end of floor had a great view of Mt. Rainier and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Liz T,

Thank you for reviewing University Inn. I’m glad you have been able to take advantage of many of our amenities during your stays with us. Hopefully, you’ll have a chance to utilize our complimentary Pineapple Express shuttle service to local area attractions (Unfortunately, we do not service the airport but we can provide you with several options that do!) the next time you are in Seattle. We look forward to your return soon!

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seychelles
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I would stay here again for the awesome bed!! Shuttle bus service to downtown Seattle was great and the hotel is within walking distance of the "Av". University district eateries everywhere.
yummm!!!
Staff were extremely helpful 24/7 and the Housekeeping staff were so honest. I would recommend this boutique hotel to everyone who asks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senseidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear senseidoc,

Thank you for your kind review! I’m glad you took advantage our Pineapple Express Shuttle Service and found our staff helpful and friendly. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Seattle.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We were able to walk to the UW campus from the University Inn. Breakfast was included; had to walk (really run through the rain) to the Watertown Hotel for a workout but that was fun; the Watertown is a sister facility so the workout room was free. There were about 7 bicycles on the wall at the workout area; I presume on a sunny day you can take these out. The University Inn is clean, basic, but with funky additions like geometric pillows that appealed to my 18 year old daughter. There was an outdoor pool that no one used, again, it was raining. We'll stay here again because the location was perfect.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor on Roosevelt; might be less noisy on the parking lot side, higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear Anne M.,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of University Inn. I’m glad you were able to utilize the fitness room at our sister property, Watertown Hotel. Watertown Hotel’s guests are able to utilize our seasonal pool as well. The bikes you mentioned are available for guest use and can be checked out from the front desk. Hopefully the weather will be nicer during your next trip so you can use them! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Hotel is very nice for visiting UW. Close to the university and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. They checked in our luggage both before and after our stay, so that we could visit the university. They also let us into a room early, after our trip to Seattle. Will stay here again, if the kid decides to go to UW.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlumasSierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear PlumasSierra,

Thank you for your kind review! I hope you had a great tour of the University of Washington. I’m glad we were able to accommodate a check-in earlier than our normal check-in time of 3:00 pm. We hope to welcome you back in the fall!

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

An employee of the University of Washington recommended this hotel. Very pleased with this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Comfortable room. Close to the campus and just about 15 minutes from Pike's Market. They offer a free shuttle to the market. Beats paying $18 for parking for 2 hours by the market. My room was very clean and the beds comfortable. They offer a free breakfast. Free parking.

Room Tip: Since this was my first stay,I can't make any comments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Dear chris1916,
Thank you for writing a review. I’m delighted that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary parking and local area shuttle to the downtown area. We will upgrading our vehicle to a roomier 13 passenger bus in the very near future.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Seattle!

Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 101 in Seattle
1,352 reviews
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#37 Family Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy- The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can't be beat. Here you're just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing