We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont rely on shuttle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Room was clean, bed ok not that comfortable and not king size which I thought I booked. Breakfast was pretty poor, cereals and toast but toaster was broken!! no one around to help fix as all self service. Only booked this hotel because we thought we could leave car in car park and use shuttle to get into Seattle. First night a Saturday night we managed to get a shuttle slot to take us downtown but even though we booked shuttle to pick us up they forgot and we were stuck in town with the drunks and beggars at 10.00pm in a strange city. Ended up getting a taxi back to hotel. During the following 2 days could not book shuttle when we needed as it only ran once an hour and was booked well in advanced. We did get a refund of taxi fare but staff did not seem that bothered and no apology !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbarala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear BarbaraLA,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced with our shuttle. I am embarrassed that our team did not apologize and take better care for you. Please know what you experienced is not in keeping with our service standards and I will address the issues immediately. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I can be of any assistance, aguyton@universityinnseattle.com.

Sincerely,
Amanda Guyton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
There are newer reviews for University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were very happy with this hotel...only 10 mins away from Seattle harbourfront and Seattle Centre. The rooms were spacious, free parking (in Seattle, that is a godsend), free Wi-Fi and Starbucks coffee a plenty. Breakfast was pretty basic, but good...can't complain about free breakfast. Staff were helpful for the most part. Not sure why the pool was not functioning when we were there last week, but that was unfortunate. Nice thing is you can walk around the UW campus, what a great campus and we had fun shopping at the UW bookstore on Brooklyn. Compared to other hotels in downtown Seattle, this is great value for under $200 per night. If I stayed at Bellevue, I would be at least a 20-30 min ride into downtown. Only thing to be mindful of if you're driving is the crazy traffic on I-5...the lanes can back up for miles...leave early for any event just in case.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Dan H,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel! I apologize that pool was not operational during your stay. I’m glad to hear your stay overall was a good one. We hope to see you again the next your travels bring you to the Emerald City!
Cheers,
Amanda Guyton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My family attended a wedding in Ballard and stayed 4 days in two rooms at the University Inn. I have stayed at this hotel several times and never had a problem. Interior and rooms are stylish and comfortable, quiet and safe. In my room was a flat screen TV, free internet, and frig/microwave/coffeemaker. Breakfast included with the room is only OK. But there is a great place for breakfast just next door. A nice benefit is that the University Inn is very close to the great Burke-Gilman trail in Seattle, great for walking, running, biking. Parking is free, but tight.
Best of all, the staff is very courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: quiet rooms are opposite side from Roosevelt Street
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnrw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear johnrw52,
Thank you for writing a review. I’m glad you’ve chosen to return to University Inn time and time again. We look forward to your return soon.
Cheers,
Amanda Guyton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Visited the Seattle University Inn and stayed for two nights. The hotel was clean and the staff was super friendly. The location is convenient and the shuttle service downtown saved us a ton in parking fees. Continental breakfast was good in the morning, basic but it was plenty. Free parking is a nice thing too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear jeff H,
Thank you for reviewing University Inn. I’m glad you were able to take advantage of our free parking and utilize our Pineapple Express shuttle service to downtown Seattle. We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers,
Amanda Guyton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This little hotel on the edge of UW is a good place to get into campus. They also have a shuttle bus that will drop you off right in the middle of downtown Seattle. Very friendly nice people. Breakfast is bare bones, but the coffee is Starbucks so I am happy. The bathrooms are small and old, but have been re-done recently. Overall a nice place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cadreamin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear cadreamin3,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. It was our pleasure to take care of you during your stay! Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Cheers,
Amanda Guyton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel is within walking distance to UW and has reasonable access to the highway. The rooms were very clean and the staff quite helpful. It looks like the hotel was remodeled within the last few years, but the bones are old. The walls are thin and the parking lot looks like it missed the same upgrade.

Room Tip: Street view worked for me. The other side faces student housing?? An even bigger building and also...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear glen p,
Thanks for your review! I’m glad you enjoyed the few changes we have made to our rooms. We are currently working on giving the parking lot a face lift as well! We hope to seeing you again the next time you are in Seattle.
Cheers,
Amanda Guyton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

First: the staff was over the top helpful. The front desk staff gave us some great tips to make our first father/son major league baseball game a true success. The cleaning staff was super friendly and kept the hotel looking great. The room was clean and had a keurig for morning coffee.
I have one recommendation and that is get a top floor room...could really hear the hard walkers on the floor above us. I would stay again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuckyLaRue3715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear LuckyLaRue3715,
Thank you for the nice review. We hope you enjoyed the M’s game! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Cheers,
Amanda Guyton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 102 in Seattle
1,368 reviews
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#37 Family Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £99 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy- The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can't be beat. Here you're just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing