We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GreyGreg
Dundee

Would go back

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jun 2008
Having travelled by Amtrak from Vancouver where we had been at a very up-market (and much more expensive) hotel a slight re-adjustment of expectations was necessary but that didn't take long. Although the train was late and it was after midnight but we received a bright welcome.Breakfast in the morning seemed initially like a rugby scrum but it works and somehow you do find a seat. It's very efficient with any shortages readily replaced, and you can make your own waffles.Everything was easy going and generous - free coffee, afternoon snack, internet etc.
Staff on the desk were exceptionally helpful and efficient.
We deliberately didn't have car for this part of our trip but location wasn't a problem. As well as the free shuttle we found the metro buses frequent, cheap, easy to use and the drivers extremely helpful.
Although there are many cheap eating places around, with our student days long behind us we were initially disappointed with dinner options without travelling downtown but at Roosevelt and 50th there are two very acceptable restaurants, one Italian (wine half price on a Tuesday! - we were just lucky) and one Indian.
Date of stay: June 2008
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£341
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £341
  • Agoda.com
    £281
  • Official Hotel
    £341
3.5 miles from Staypineapple, University Inn, University District
Free Wifi
Room service
£258
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £262
  • Agoda.com
    £204
  • Hotels.com
    £263
3.3 miles from Staypineapple, University Inn, University District
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£233
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £228
  • Agoda.com
    £199
  • Hotels.com
    £253
3.0 miles from Staypineapple, University Inn, University District
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
£262
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £262
  • Hotels.com
    £262
  • Tripadvisor
    £262
3.1 miles from Staypineapple, University Inn, University District
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£196
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £196
  • Agoda.com
    £170
  • Hotels.com
    £196
3.2 miles from Staypineapple, University Inn, University District
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
£245
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £253
  • Skyscanner.com
    £240
  • Expedia.com
    £253
3.8 miles from Staypineapple, University Inn, University District
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£168
Fully refundable
  • Choice Hotels
    £152
  • travelup.com
    £148
  • Expedia.com
    £168
15.7 miles from Staypineapple, University Inn, University District
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Save with Hilton Honours Rewards
  • Booking.com
    £290
  • Skyscanner.com
    £229
  • Expedia.com
    £290
4.2 miles from Staypineapple, University Inn, University District
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £211
  • Algotels
2.7 miles from Staypineapple, University Inn, University District
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Expedia.com
    £184
  • Skyscanner.com
    £177
  • Hotels.com
    £195
3.2 miles from Staypineapple, University Inn, University District
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
View more hotels in Seattle
Reviews (1,490)
Filter reviews
1,490 results
Traveller rating
787
465
158
55
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
787
465
158
55
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pineapple portage bay cafe u district medical center comfortable beds front desk staff yogurt per night convenient location light rail few blocks space needle shuttle downtown roosevelt bedding keurig
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,386 - 1,391 of 1,490 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2008

You can believe all of the reviews, this place really is great. It is what hospitality is all about. My daughter has just graduated from UW and this is the hotel we have stayed at from day one, and we kept coming back. From the pleasant and welcoming lobby, 24 hour offering of quality tea and coffee, outstanding free breakfast (make your own waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereals and oatmeal, etc.), afternoon snack, free shuttle service around town, convenience to UW campus, comfortable and clean rooms to free parking, you cannot beat it. My parents even drove up with their dog for the graduation and they accomodated them with one of their pet friendly rooms. I really have nothing negative to say about this place. They do a great job!

Date of stay: June 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Eurotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2008

My husband and I are here at the University Inn right now. It's definitely the place to stay in Seattle. The room we are in has one queen bed and a nice sitting area, with a microwave and mini-fridge. The lobby stocks Tazo teas and the breakfast buffet is tasty! The parking is easy--right next to the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

The location is fantastic--right in the heart of the University District, walking distance to UW campus, and all the surrounding bars and restaurants. It's also very close to I-5 and just a few minutes drive into the heart of downtown.

We both HIGHLY recommend staying here. As one reviewer said, it really does feel like a little home away from home.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any question about this hotel...

Date of stay: June 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank art163
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2008

We stayed at the University Inn on June 3 and 4. The directions from the airport were great, we had no problem finding the inn. Parking is a bit cramped but since we didn't use the car while we were there it didn't matter.

The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and very quiet which we appreciated.

We went sightseeing and when we were finished, I called the Inn and they sent the shuttle to pick us up which was a great accomodation.

I would stay there again when visiting Seattle, you couldn't ask for a nicer, cleaner, moderately priced hotel than the University Inn. Thanks to all the staff there.

Date of stay: June 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MichiganCarollee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2008

This is a really pleasant hotel in the University District. Our room was comfortable, fresh, clean and quiet. The buffet breakfast was good and there were complimentary snacks available at other times. On checking in I was told to go and help myself to what was available. Staff are relaxed, helpful and friendly.
There is a complimentary shuttle available to various locations. Metro buses run frequently and it is a quick and cheap trip to downtown.
The U District has plenty to offer in the way of bars, restaurants etc. This was my first stay at the University Inn but I will always make it my first choice whenever I stay in Seattle. I filled in a comment card at the end of my stay and was pleasantly surprised to receive a letter of thanks for so doing. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2008

I've just returned from staying here for 5 days on business.This hotel offered a nice continental breakfast each day. They had waffle irons to make homemade waffles and feel a little less like being away from home. The woman overseeing the breakfast was so sweet and friendly each morning. They also had a mid day snack daily and it also was quite a selection. The front lobby has a dish of candies and was sampled on many occasions. The room was enjoyable with a refigerator and microwave. It had a wonderful triangular window extending past the edge of the building allowing for a great view to look out upon the city.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank meghaneire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews