We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to expectations for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
568 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations for the price”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I had high expectations for this hotel based on the website photos and verbiage. I thought the rate was a little on the high side but wanted somewhere comfortable as my son and I were driving up from San Francisco that day. It was a long and towards the end arduous drive so was really looking forward to a good night's sleep. Our room was in the South Wing overlooking Roosevelt. Even with the window closed it was noisy and at 5:30 am, a truck delivering to Portage Bay was extremely noisy. The truck ran its engine at fast idle right below our room and then the unloading was accomplished with much banging and a bit of yelling. Also, for a hotel of this price, the bathroom amenities were kind of chintzy. These were the wall mounted dispensers for soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Really, even Motel 6 gives you a bar of soap. Besides these issues, the room was comfortable and the staff - friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. The breakfast was decent and helped offset the fatigue from the lack of sleep. One suggestion would be to keep the pool open later. I know it could be a noise issue but it would see more use.

Room Tip: Avoid the South Wing overlooking Roosevelt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear John K,

Thanks for taking the time to review University Inn. I’m glad that our staff was able to take care of you however, I apologize that our in-room amenities were not to your liking. For future stays, we do have bars of soap available upon request. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    280
    70
    23
    5
See reviews for
281
167
51
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations. I was there for 9 days with my two son, one of whom stayed on at UDub. The shuttle was very helpful as we went sightseeing on a couple of days - decide where you are going and at what time and make a reservation the day before - don't wait till the day of, unless you are willing to be flexible with the time.
Breakfast was nice - HB eggs, bagels, mini-muffins, cereal, etc.
The front desk staff were always cheerful. The room was spacious - even with 3 adults and our luggage we did not feel cramped. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UmalifromRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear UmalifromRT,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We're delighted to have made a great impression on your stay with us. Glad you were able to use our Pineapple Express shuttle service. Looking forward to welcoming you back...

Marco Baumann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Awesome customer support! I had to cancel my reservation last-minute due to a medical emergency. Staff member I spoke to was quick to help; cancelled my reservation with no fuss, and left a note for the manager explaining my situation. I was pleasantly surprised when I didn't get billed for a single night, despite the hotel's clearly stated cancellation policies and despite cancelling just hours before I was supposed to arrive. Most of hotels I've stayed in, and I've traveled all over the world, would NOT have been as generous. This type of outstanding business practice...putting customers before profit...earns loyalty. My family and I will always stay at this hotel when we're in Seattle.

We eventually reschedule our trip and since our business was with UW, the hotel’s location was perfect for our stay. The UW campus and plenty of places to eat are within 4-5 blocks of the hotel; very easy walking distance. The staff and manager were as pleasant and helpful as I’d expected. Our room (2x queen) was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The only issue we had was with the people above us being noisy at 1 am…sounded like they were stomping around and dropping their luggage. One call to the front desk quickly resolved this issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s3r3n1ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear s3r3n1ty,

WOW! Thank you so much for your kind words! We are proud of our spirit of hospitality and of our people delivering it. We're delighted that we have made a fan out of you! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Marco Baumann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Location was awful, not close to anything, Say they are Dog Friendly, but way to many 'Rules' and the Dog friendly rooms they put you in are less than desirable. Not worth the 161.00 a night, plus addition 20.00 for taking the dog. And the Rooms are not sound proof, was up half the night, hearing other guests coming and going, toilets flushing, baths running, not impressed.
And the free continental breakfast, is a joke, you have to microwave all your own breakfast, from the eggs to the French Toast! The '' Pineapple Cupcakes''served complimentary from 4-6 are tiny sized cupcakes, and they place out 1 tray of about 20 of them, also terrible!
Won't be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Bosmann,

Thank you for writing a review. I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We use all feedback as a tool to better our services and amenities for all of our guests. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I can be of assistance, aguyton@universityinnseattle.com.

Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The University Inn is situated a bit out of town in a slightly run down area very near the University. The hotel is a typical city centre hotel. The rooms are not large but clean and comfortable. There is a complimentary breakfast, free wifi a nice pool and pleasant helpful staff. Free parking is relatively easy in their own car park. They run an hourly shuttle into the centre with a return on the half hour. But in the end, rather than use the shuttle, we used a parking app and found parking very near Pike's Place Market for CAN $11 all day which gave us flexibility and was cheaper and easier than a taxi. Disabled visitors should be aware that there are some internal stairs in reception which might be a bit of a challenge but otherwise, very nice convenenient and well priced hotel.

Room Tip: Disabled visitors should be aware that there are steps to the lobby and again once you are in recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perryburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear perryburns,

Thank you so much for your review! Very thoughtful of you to note the steps in the lobby, it will be helpful to future guests. We offer two entrances into the hotel, one on each level for each building on our property. We're happy to accommodate all our guests with comfort and hospitality.
Thanks again for your feedback about your stay.

Marco Baumann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were quite pleased with our July stay at the University Inn. The staff was friendly and helpful. The traditional two-queen room was spacious enough for our family (for two adults, one preschooler and one toddler) and it was quite clean. Our kids liked the cheerful decor. It was nice to have the extra sink outside the bathroom as the bathroom itself was a little cozy (but otherwise fine). Our room faced Roosevelt Way, so there was some muted rumbling from heavier vehicles into the evening but it didn't bother us. The air conditioner was a little noisy, though, so we did have to keep the room on the warmer side at the night to avoid having the fan wake up the kids. With the warm summer weather, we actually got to enjoy a dip in the small pool.

Breakfast was serviceable but not a highlight (cold cereals, instant oatmeal, yogurt, bananas & apples, so-so baked goods and french toast--the coffee in-room was much better than the coffee at the continental buffet), and there is limited seating when the hotel is busy. But the hotel is within walking distance to a number of university-oriented restaurants, and downstairs is the excellent Portage Bay Cafe (where we had an amazing lunch after checking out from the hotel on our last day).

We really appreciated the free parking. We were able to walk to the University of Washington and we drove to other sights. We would've liked to take the shuttle but that would've required installing our child seats in the shuttle.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjp103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear cjp103,

Thank you so much for your feedback about your stay with us. We really appreciate the thoughtful review you wrote and look forward to welcoming you back! We will continue to strive to provide value and excellent service to all our guests! Hope to see you again soon!

Marco Baumann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Room was clean, bed ok not that comfortable and not king size which I thought I booked. Breakfast was pretty poor, cereals and toast but toaster was broken!! no one around to help fix as all self service. Only booked this hotel because we thought we could leave car in car park and use shuttle to get into Seattle. First night a Saturday night we managed to get a shuttle slot to take us downtown but even though we booked shuttle to pick us up they forgot and we were stuck in town with the drunks and beggars at 10.00pm in a strange city. Ended up getting a taxi back to hotel. During the following 2 days could not book shuttle when we needed as it only ran once an hour and was booked well in advanced. We did get a refund of taxi fare but staff did not seem that bothered and no apology !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear BarbaraLA,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced with our shuttle. I am embarrassed that our team did not apologize and take better care for you. Please know what you experienced is not in keeping with our service standards and I will address the issues immediately. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I can be of any assistance, aguyton@universityinnseattle.com.

Sincerely,
Amanda Guyton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#62 of 100 in Seattle
1,335 reviews
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#32 of 100 in Seattle
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#37 Family Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy- The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can't be beat. Here you're just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing