We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, easy walking to University of Washington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #29 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We booked this hotel with the express purpose of being close to University of Washington to see our son off to grad school. This is the perfect location for that, but not if you want to see downtown. Downtown Seattle is not walk able from here, you will have to drive or take a bus or the hotel shuttle and it's at least 25 minutes. The hotel was clean,comfortable and provided a nice free continental breakfast. Our room had a very comfortable queen bed with a pull out sofa, desk, microwave and fridge. The bathroom was clean and divided so that someone could shower and there was an additional sink/mirror combination outside the bathroom. There was a clean, picturesque , moderate size pool outside with a nice sitting area that we enjoyed the first day there.. In addition to the school, there are several small markets and pub like restaurants near the hotel. I enjoyed the stay very much, it had everything we needed for the purpose of getting our son to school. We did rent a car so that we could visit the sights . The hotel has a shuttle service but we didn't utilize that this trip. There is also the Portage Cafe attached to the hotel which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. We didn't eat there this trip.

Room Tip: Good choice of hotel for visiting UW, not good location if visiting downtown Seattle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loridemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear loridemo,

Thank you for writing such a detailed review! It was our pleasure to make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town to visit your son!

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

The University Inn is perfect when visiting the U of W. Walking distance to everything, quiet, large and very clean rooms with comfy beds. We brought both of our dogs and the treatment they got was amazing. Huge dog bed, food and treats!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Michelle H,

Thanks for your kind review of University Inn. It was our pleasure to take care of you and your four footed family members! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Ideal for everyone visiting Seattle, decent price and great location in the university area. The hotel has all the little touches making it a great stay, from a free breakfast bar (offering basic items) to tea/coffee and muffins throughout the afternoon, down to steriswabs in the rooms for wiping down the phone/tv remote.. Secluded pool offers relaxing break. Free courtesy shuttle to various Seattle locations. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Room Tip: Top floor (4th floor, elevator available) very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterJtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear PeterJtrips,

Thank you for providing so much detail in your review. Also, thank you for your kind words about our team, we're proud of them. We hope to welcome you back soon to Seattle! In the meantime, all the very best.

Marco Baumann
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

If you need to be close to the university area (like I did) this hotel is a very good pick. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the cleaning crew is nice. For example I ran out of toothpaste and the desk supplied me with a few small tubes which lasted during my last days. There's a pool too but I never tried it. The breakfast is OK, nothing fancy but it includes what you expect to find. It is a bit of a hassle coming from the airport with a couple of bus changes so if you have a lot of luggage a cab would be better. I walked downtown a couple of times which took me about 30-40 min. There are busses of course but if the weather allows it at least one walk is recommended for the sights. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in the university area and it is pretty buzzing at night. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bengtnitram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear bengtnitram,

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay. We're delighted that our location and amenities were helpful to your stay in the U-District! Thanks again for your review. When your travels bring you back to Seattle, we hope to welcome you back!

Marco Baumann
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We were told we were up graded to a room with 'pillow top bed' and other amenities. The room seemed typical for hotels of this level. The room had a queen bed and a couch. It was nothing special. The sheets were rough and the pillows were all hard. The hotel is going for a retro sixties look, but it really doesn't work. The breakfast is not very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear GeoT,

Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry that the hotel was not to your liking. Thank you for giving us a try!

Amanda Guyton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Perfectly acceptable place to stay. We will definitely stay again. They have lots of ammenities outside of the room itself that make this place worthwhile - shuttle to various popular locals, bicycles to borrow!, pleasant outdoor pool, more than a sweet roll for breakfast. We hadn't realized how easy it was to get to downtown from this area - we will come back for a vacation and feel less isolated than staying downtown.

Room Tip: Our room with a balcony overlooking the pool was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Laura F,

We were delighted to have you as our guest and are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback!

Marco Baumann
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I had high expectations for this hotel based on the website photos and verbiage. I thought the rate was a little on the high side but wanted somewhere comfortable as my son and I were driving up from San Francisco that day. It was a long and towards the end arduous drive so was really looking forward to a good night's sleep. Our room was in the South Wing overlooking Roosevelt. Even with the window closed it was noisy and at 5:30 am, a truck delivering to Portage Bay was extremely noisy. The truck ran its engine at fast idle right below our room and then the unloading was accomplished with much banging and a bit of yelling. Also, for a hotel of this price, the bathroom amenities were kind of chintzy. These were the wall mounted dispensers for soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Really, even Motel 6 gives you a bar of soap. Besides these issues, the room was comfortable and the staff - friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. The breakfast was decent and helped offset the fatigue from the lack of sleep. One suggestion would be to keep the pool open later. I know it could be a noise issue but it would see more use.

Room Tip: Avoid the South Wing overlooking Roosevelt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear John K,

Thanks for taking the time to review University Inn. I’m glad that our staff was able to take care of you however, I apologize that our in-room amenities were not to your liking. For future stays, we do have bars of soap available upon request. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 103 in Seattle
1,376 reviews
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#37 Family Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £96 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy- The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can't be beat. Here you're just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing