We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Not fancy, but still very nice and well priced. Free parking is a BIG deal in Seattle. Rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. Staff was uniformly great. Free WiFi. In room Tully's coffee appreciated. Starbucks for breakfast downstairs. Cupcakes at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Elizabeth S,

Thanks for the review. It was our pleasure to take care of your during your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    270
    67
    22
    5
See reviews for
267
160
49
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very near the University of Washington and within walking distance to sooo many places. The hotel is beautiful, the beds are comfortable & the breakfast is great! If you stay 2 nights, the 3rd night is free. The front desk staff couldn't have been more friendly, welcoming, knowledgeable or helpful. This is the place to stay in the university district in Seattle, WA.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debmanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear debmanz,

Thanks for writing a review! I’m glad you were able to take advantage of our 3rd Night Free promotion. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Happy New Year!
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I was wary of this property from the pictures, but it was perfect for a site visit to the University of Washington. It's fresh and modern, fairly limited parking and offers a shuttle bus to attractions. A plus, there's an umbrella in the room for your use! With on-site breakfast and a great Starbucks within a block or two, this is a very recommended hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGuySTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear TravelGuytSTL,

Thanks for recommending University Inn. We are glad we were able to change your impression of the hotel for your UW visit! We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We love staying at the University Inn. The location is convenient to downtown Seattle and all events in the University District. The rooms are clean and comfortable and I've never found noise to be a problem. It's not a "luxury" hotel, but provides everything we could need, including free parking. Best of all, the staff are really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyToo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear HappyToo1975,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was our pleasure to provide everything you needed during your stay. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality. We hope to see you again soon!

All the Best,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friday harbor, wa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel has a wonderful location in the U district, free parking and love that Pineapple can do attitude, and a complimentary shuttle to downtown.

Part of the hotel is under construction, but one would never know as they have closed off this section. So that is amazing.

Great beds, and love the products in the bathroom/shower area as I had forgotten body creme, the towels in this hotel were only mildly scratchy. One of my few pet peeves!

What I did not enjoy, was the unfettered children running up and down the hall at 8 AM... Come on parents, at least be polite and wait till 9 AM...

Room Tip: Was on the street side, just by the red neon sign, loved the way the room glowed, and then closed th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Ruth O,

Thank you for reviewing University Inn! We are pleased to see you enjoyed many of our amenities and that our construction was not a disturbance. I apologize you were disturbed by other guests. Please do not hesitate to give us a call and we will address the issue immediately. We hope to see you for your next visit to Seattle.

All the best,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbank, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay !

It is close to I-5 - and is located close enough to downtown Seattle that getting there is not a problem.

It is quiet - and - the rooms are very clean & nice (NOT fancy - just nice).

The staff was extra helpful & very friendly !

The breakfast bar was well-stocked & quite good.

There are some very good restaurants close by in the University Village area.

AND... a REAL plus iz --- FREE PARKING !

We WILL plan to stay there again !

Room Tip: Our room was facing the parking lot - which may be quieter ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Wayne963,

Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to take care of you. We look forward to your return!

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Couldn't get a wink of sleep here with the insane amount of nose from adjoining rooms, hallway running and early morning house keeping. No sound deadening at all. Can here if a room above you is using the sink and shower like it was your own bathroom.

Had a three night stay here and had to jump through hoops to cancel the remaining nights off a non-refundable deal. Explained that this hotel is not as advertised. Might be great if you are visiting people in college and are currently in college; but if you are here to actually rest forget about it.

Severely disappointing. Beware of the high Yelp and TripAdvisor reviews that are based off the good value and location of this place. But it is more of a glorified hostel.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, no sound deadening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ImperialStout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear ImperialStout,

Thank you for your review!

We're very sorry that your stay with us resulted in the negative impressions you shared in your review. This is certainly not the experience we hope for our guests. If you could please contact me at aguyton@universityinnseattle.com; I would like to both to offer my apology for your experience and to learn more about the details of your stay. It's feedback like yours that helps us to make University Inn a better hotel. Thank you for taking the time.

Sincerely,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#60 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#37 Family Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy- The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can't be beat. Here you're just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing