We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice in a Car City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #29 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The University Inn is not downtown and this is both an advantage and a problem. It's an advantage in that Seattle has a rather dead downtown after 6:00. The University area is very lively after dark with a lot of restaurants, bars and activity going on.

The problem is it's not downtown and you have to get there. The hotel has solved this problem by providing a free shuttle service that can drop you off and pick you up at any one of seven points spread around the city. This allows you to do without a car for much of your stay. NOTE: Hotels in the downtown core charge $35.00 a day for parking so be sure to factor this into the hotel price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whithorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Whithorn,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to see you were able to take advantage of our complimentary parking and Pineapple Express shuttle service! We hope to see you again the next time you are in Seattle.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

We recently stayed at the University Inn Seattle for one night because we visited UW with our daughter. Our room was in what appeared to be a relatively new wing of the hotel. The three of us found the room very spacious, clean, comfortable, and nicely furnished. It came with a microwave and a Keurig coffee maker. The hotel also serves many different types of tea, hot chocolate, and coffee in the entrance hall pretty much around the clock. The staff was very helpful with answering questions about where to eat (there are many restaurants close by) and how to get to UW. This hotel is a great place to stay, very reasonably priced, and in short walking distance to UW.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are very large and quiet if facing away from Roosevelt Way .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Renate B,

Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your stay during your recent University of Washington visit. It was our pleasure to answer any questions you had! We look forward to your return soon!

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

University Inn is a great basic hotel for the price, and perfect for touring nearby UW. It is clean and modern, and our room was comfortably furnished, with everything in good working order. The location is within blocks of UW and the cafes and restaurants surrounding the campus West end, but also is convenient to the freeway and an easy drive to the downtown areas for sightseeing. We did not partake of the complimentary breakfast, opting instead for the Portage Bay Cafe next door. Afternoon cupcake hour was a much appreciated nice touch. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank JLMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear JLMUeller,

Thanks for reviewing University Inn. We’re glad you enjoyed our Pineapple Cupcakes! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights while visiting University of Washington and Seattle University with our son. Really nice hotel that was convenient to both University of Washington and to Seattle University as well as to downtown Portland. We stayed in what I think was called the "West Wing". Our room appeared to be newly updated and stylish. The beds, however, were not that comfortable. Additionally, there was a lack of plugs in convenient locations to charge electronics. On the plus side, the breakfast was good, the parking was free and there were umbrellas to use. The front desk was also very helpful with directions and anything else we needed. If we were to stay in this part of Seattle again, we would come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Robert S,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I apologize you found our rooms to be lacking outlets and the bed uncomfortable. Please know we plan on address both of these issues with our next remodel. I’m glad you enjoyed many of our amenities! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in the area.

All the best,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed two nights while visiting UW. Room was spacious, perfectly clean, and very comfortable though not luxurious. Bed and bedding very comfortable, shower is roomy with strong water pressure and some fancy soaps. Very reasonably priced, especially for Seattle. Located few blocks from UW and from University Ave restaurants, so quiet at night.

In addition, hotel has several nice, free amenities including free bottles of water, Keurig coffee makers in room, free laundry, nice tea selection in lobby, free cupcakes in lobby in afternoon, and free parking.

Only criticism is breakfast is very bad.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear M N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy that you were able to enjoy our many amenities. I’m sorry our complimentary breakfast was not to your liking. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the Emerald City!

All the best,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We enjoyed a long stay at the University Inn. Staff were kind and capable and worked to meet our needs. The hotel is convenient to the UW and has a very helpful shuttle that can take you to key locations in Seattle. Breakfast in the lobby worked well. There is (limited) parking onsite, free wifi throughout, a seasonal pool and even umbrellas and loaner bikes to help you out. Cheery, quiet and well thought-out. Will be back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Eliza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Eliza C,

Thanks for your review! We always enjoy taking care of our guests requests and needs. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had an appointment at UW Medical Center and wanted a hotel close so that we would not have to fight the freeway traffic for an early schedule. We picked because of the Tripadvisor reviews and the close proximity to UWMC. We loved it! Great staff greeting us, easy check in and then finding very colorful clean rooms made our day. Very close to large variety of cafés recommended by the staff. Will stay again on our next visit.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear kflyfish,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are pleased to see you loved your stay while visiting UWMC. We look forward to your return soon.

All the best,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 103 in Seattle
1,377 reviews
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#37 Family Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £98 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy- The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can't be beat. Here you're just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing