We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for UW visit!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We chose this hotel based on the proximity to UW and because they offer free shuttle service to the University, among other destinations. We were extremely happy with our choice. We reserved the shuttle at check in and were promptly picked up at the requested time in a very nice (& new) shuttle bus. We chose to walk back from the campus & it was a pleasant 10-15 minute walk back. The hotel was a short 10 minute drive into downtown Seattle so we were able to easily catch a play in the evening and still obtain parking in the hotel's free onsite parking lot when we returned at 10 PM.

Our room was very clean, had comfortable beds and nice linen. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the room was stocked with Tommy Bahamas soaps and lotions. There was a Keurig coffee maker with Tully coffee in the room.

This hotel was a great value to begin with but when you add in all the things I mentioned above, I think it was an exceptional value. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. There is a continental breakfast which was fine. However, if you have time, the hotel is connected to the Portage Bay Cafe which is excellent for breakfast.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JP21Portland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey K, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

JP21Portland_OR,

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our proximity to UW and the downtown corridor. Thank you for the great review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Lacey King
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

I came here after a friend recommended it and was really disappointed. My room was small and had a view of the dumpster and cars driving down the hill, so the drapes stayed closed. The bathroom was small and the toilet ran the whole time even though I asked for it to be checked. There was no ice machine near my room, no ATM at all, only a few outlets in the room, the clock time was wrong so I was late, and the heat-a/c unit was the old motel-type model that was either on or off. I had a second stay planned a month later, but have cancelled that.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlustkeelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Wanderlustkeelz,

Thank you for writing a review. I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We use all feedback as a tool to better our services and amenities for all of our guests. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I can be of assistance, aguyton@universityinnseattle.com.

All the best,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This incredible value in Urban Seattle puts you right in the heart of Washington University with easy access to all points north and south. Every day at 3:00 PM, fresh cupcakes come out to join the delicious house-brew coffee. Breakfast is included along with WiFi. After Memorial Day the outside pool is also open for quests to relax in. The rooms are colorful, retro, and comfortable. The small elevator, while transporting you to your floor, makes you think that you could be in Europe. This hotel, while not one of the national chains, is still of national caliber for service, comfort, location and cleanliness. A wonderful find at a great price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6211GardenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear 6211GardenTraveler,

Thanks for writing a detailed review! We are thrilled you have been able to enjoy many of our complimentary amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Nice and clean room, excellent service! The stuff were very friendly and there were "well come cup cake and coffee" by the lobby. Their hospitality was very nice.
The free parking was plus.
The location is within blocks of UW, so easy access to down town Seattle.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiroko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Hiroko B,

Thank you for writing such a great review! We are glad to see you enjoyed our hospitality. We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The University Inn is not downtown and this is both an advantage and a problem. It's an advantage in that Seattle has a rather dead downtown after 6:00. The University area is very lively after dark with a lot of restaurants, bars and activity going on.

The problem is it's not downtown and you have to get there. The hotel has solved this problem by providing a free shuttle service that can drop you off and pick you up at any one of seven points spread around the city. This allows you to do without a car for much of your stay. NOTE: Hotels in the downtown core charge $35.00 a day for parking so be sure to factor this into the hotel price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whithorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Whithorn,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to see you were able to take advantage of our complimentary parking and Pineapple Express shuttle service! We hope to see you again the next time you are in Seattle.

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We recently stayed at the University Inn Seattle for one night because we visited UW with our daughter. Our room was in what appeared to be a relatively new wing of the hotel. The three of us found the room very spacious, clean, comfortable, and nicely furnished. It came with a microwave and a Keurig coffee maker. The hotel also serves many different types of tea, hot chocolate, and coffee in the entrance hall pretty much around the clock. The staff was very helpful with answering questions about where to eat (there are many restaurants close by) and how to get to UW. This hotel is a great place to stay, very reasonably priced, and in short walking distance to UW.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are very large and quiet if facing away from Roosevelt Way .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Renate B,

Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your stay during your recent University of Washington visit. It was our pleasure to answer any questions you had! We look forward to your return soon!

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

University Inn is a great basic hotel for the price, and perfect for touring nearby UW. It is clean and modern, and our room was comfortably furnished, with everything in good working order. The location is within blocks of UW and the cafes and restaurants surrounding the campus West end, but also is convenient to the freeway and an easy drive to the downtown areas for sightseeing. We did not partake of the complimentary breakfast, opting instead for the Portage Bay Cafe next door. Afternoon cupcake hour was a much appreciated nice touch. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank JLMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear JLMUeller,

Thanks for reviewing University Inn. We’re glad you enjoyed our Pineapple Cupcakes! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Cheers,
Amanda Guyton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 104 in Seattle
1,389 reviews
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#27 Family Hotel in Seattle
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £90 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy- The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can't be beat. Here you're just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing