We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #30 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This motel was very clean, the staff was friendly and went out of their way to be accommodating. The only down side we found was when we arrived late at night to check in, the parking places reserved for check in were blocked by a pickup across them and there was no one checking in then but us. We had to park down at the end of there lot in the dark and pack belongings and baby up to door past a person chain smoking on a bench out side of the locked lobby door.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fritzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Fritzie W.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at University Inn. We're all very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and please in the future feel free to taxi by the front entrance while checking in, dealing with luggage or asking for assistance with anything. Sometimes the parking areas does get full and we understand not wanting to pack luggage from the end of the lot.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future,

Lacey King
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a school trip and it had a nice lobby, breakfast was fine, elevators slow, when our toilet broke they made me fix it, and they do not have phone books or guides to help you order pizza. Not very impressive but it was nice.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank 17kaylabieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey K, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hi 17kaylabieber,

Thank you for your feedback and I apologize for the lack of attentive service when you had an issue. You are absolutely correct that we don't stock phone books in our rooms however, our 24/7 front desk team and can always assist in recommending local eateries and which ones deliver.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to hope to see you again.

Lacey King
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay near the University, this is the one. As good, if not better than any hotel chain, it has all the amenities you need. Where it really excels is the desk staff. It would be hard or beat the people working there, delighted to guide you, make suggestions, give directions at any hour of the day and night. There's a hotel shuttle as well. Rooms are very good sized.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey K, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hi Val D,

I happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team was very helpful to you. We love helping our guests get to know the U District and all of it's hidden gems!

Looking forward to seeing you again,

Lacey King
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here with extended family for daughter's shower-we were delighted with the accommodations-pretty simple but immaculate and a nice flair that sets it apart from chain hotels. Typical continental breakfast fare and great coffee-

Room Tip: Upper floor, corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey K, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hi Rosemary60,

Thank you for choosing University Inn while visiting Seattle. I'm pleased to see that you really enjoyed your with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is not the most comfortable hotel I have stayed in by a large margin, but it has an aweful lot of things going for it. It is very close to the main University district and convenient to a lot of interesting restaurants. The price is very good. I paid the CAA rate of $124/night and was surprised that this included breakfast. I've had a lot better breakfasts at other hotels, nevertheless, it was OK. The WiFi was strong and excellent. I stayed in room 213 which was off Roosevelt and so was really quite quiet.

The staff is friendly and helpful.

Overall it was a good choice of a place to stay.

Room Tip: Roosevelt is a very busy street at all hours, try and get a room overlooking 42nd, not a pretty view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardFreeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey K, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hi HowardFreeland,

Thank you for taking the time to review University Inn. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back again.

Lacey King
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We enjoyed the amenities and staff was nice. Loved the Tommy Bahama soaps and lotions and the Keurig. We stayed right on Roosevelt so lots of traffic, car and foot, but I like that and it didn't keep me up. It was cute and nicely decorated. We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hunnibutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey K, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Hello Hunnibutt,

I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience with us while in Seattle. Please give us a call next time your headed this way 866.866.7977, we'd love to help you with a reservation!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

When my son was attending the University of Washington, we started staying at the University Inn when we came to visit him. And now we just always stay there when we are in Seattle. It is a small hotel with very friendly people in a great location close to the university and the Burke-Gilman trail. The complementary breakfast is terrific, as is the pool (when the temperature allows). And the shuttle you can take to downtown areas and other popular places allows us to forgo renting a car. The rooms are nice and the ability to use bicycles to get around and use the gym at the companion hotel up the block at the Waterton is a real benefit. And, because it is close to the university, you have a huge variety of wonderful, inexpensive places to eat really terrific food.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms with a balcony overlooking the pool. the rooms in the tower where you can't o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idria50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey K, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Hi Idria50,

Thank you for your very nice review and for your continued support of University Inn! Our pool is opening again very soon, June 1st so come back and see us this summer!

Thanks again,

Lacey King
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 104 in Seattle
1,387 reviews
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#37 Family Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £92 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy- The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can't be beat. Here you're just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing