We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I really wanted to love this hotel...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Walla Walla, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I really wanted to love this hotel...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Last time we were in Seattle, we stayed at the Maxwell and LOVED it. They were sold out this trip, so we went with their sister Pineapple property, the University Inn. This was definitely a mixed bag by comparison. Let's start with the good news.

PROS:
SLEEP - The beds and especially the pillows are trademark wonderful. If all I wanted the room for was sleep, then this is a slam dunk.
CLEANLINESS - They keep the property and the rooms sparkling.
PERSONNEL - The staff is about as kind and friendly as it gets.
PET FRIENDLY - Lots of spots for their walks.
RIGHT ABOVE PORTAGE BAY - Best breakfast in the PacNW
FREE PARKING - In Seattle, that's golden.

CONS:
WIFI - If you're here to do business or anything on the web, this is not the place. The wifi is abysmally slow when it works. I was told after we unpacked and settled in that the rooms furthest from the lobby area were prone to poor connectivity. We do our entire business online and every task was either a non-starter or just plain took about ten times longer than dial-up. Their IT guy installed an access point near our room, but that didn't work. After three days, I realized I had to change the automatic settings on my computer. If you know how to do this, you need to change the DHCP settings manually. Manually enter a higher (above 50) router address on their router IP (you'll see it in the settings) until you're on. Also, make sure your subnet mask is set to the standard 255.255.255.0. They have theirs default to a wrong setting. I don't know how they do that. But they did.
LAUNDRY - The complimentary laundry room was out of order the whole time we were here. Not what we were counting on when we packed.
POOL - "Outdoor seasonal pool is open May-September." What they didn't say was it wasn't open until May 29, Memorial Day weekend. One less activity crossed off the list.

Those seemingly benign annoyances really sapped a lot of the enjoyment and need for accomplishment from what we were expecting and what was advertised. I can't eat the complimentary cupcakes, but they looked great.

So again, if you're not here trying to do online business or binge watch internet TV, have a full arsenal of clean clothes for the week, or actually hit the swimming timeframe, you'll love it here. Nearby restaurants along University Place are eclectic and terrific, and the Trinity Grocery makes outstanding sandwiches. Bonus. If I could give U Inn a 3-1/2, I would, but I can't quite give it a 4.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front may be warm with the sun beaming in and trucks do barrel down Roosevelt, a on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hello HowHoff,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I do apologize that you found our wifi a bit lacking for your needs, we do share all of our guest feedback with our IT team as to correct any deficiencies we may face. We are pleased that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable during your stay and that our staff was very welcoming.

If there is anything I may do please feel free to contact me directly at 206.632.6867

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    263
    65
    21
    5
See reviews for
258
156
46
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent boutique hotel that is convenient, clean, dog friendly with a excellent staff. We were not sure what to expect, yet after our first trip to Seattle for business we will be back to explore the city more and plan on staying here. Parking was a concern though not a problem at all. Beds are comfortable, modest sized rooms and although walls seem thin (you could hear people from the hallway) inside the rooms all was quite. Appreciated the alcohol swabs left by the phone & alarm clock.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi Y S,

Thank you for the great review! We're so happy to see that we have exceeded your expectations. Seattle has so much to offer you can always find new things to see and do; and yes, we love your four legged guests too! Seattle is a very dog friendly city.
#PineapplePups
We look forward to your next visit,

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This lovely boutique hotel offered all the amenities we needed to our visit to the University of Washington and Seattle. They have a free shuttle bus to take you to the university, and to points of interest downtown (you are in northeast Seattle and need a ride downtown -- too far to walk). They will pick you up at appointed times and bring you back to the hotel.

Great helpful, knowledgeable staff -- could not have been more accommodating!

Nice breakfast, though no hot eggs, free parking (a GREAT plus in Seattle), nice room with refrigerator, and free WiFi throughout all rooms. Pool, small health club, restaurants in the area (it's the university district after all) all make this a comfortable and convenient economical stay in Seattle, rather than the price downtown hotels with very pricey parking additional.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartiNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi MartiNewYork,

We're thrilled that you enjoyed your experience at University Inn so much! It's great that our location worked out so well for you and that you were able to utilize our Shuttle program to access downtown more easily. Come back to see us this summer and try out our bicycle program for another fun way to get around the city!

Looking forward to your next visit,

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colfax, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This motel was very clean, the staff was friendly and went out of their way to be accommodating. The only down side we found was when we arrived late at night to check in, the parking places reserved for check in were blocked by a pickup across them and there was no one checking in then but us. We had to park down at the end of there lot in the dark and pack belongings and baby up to door past a person chain smoking on a bench out side of the locked lobby door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fritzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Fritzie W.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at University Inn. We're all very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and please in the future feel free to taxi by the front entrance while checking in, dealing with luggage or asking for assistance with anything. Sometimes the parking areas does get full and we understand not wanting to pack luggage from the end of the lot.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future,

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a school trip and it had a nice lobby, breakfast was fine, elevators slow, when our toilet broke they made me fix it, and they do not have phone books or guides to help you order pizza. Not very impressive but it was nice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 17kaylabieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey K, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi 17kaylabieber,

Thank you for your feedback and I apologize for the lack of attentive service when you had an issue. You are absolutely correct that we don't stock phone books in our rooms however, our 24/7 front desk team and can always assist in recommending local eateries and which ones deliver.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to hope to see you again.

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to stay near the University, this is the one. As good, if not better than any hotel chain, it has all the amenities you need. Where it really excels is the desk staff. It would be hard or beat the people working there, delighted to guide you, make suggestions, give directions at any hour of the day and night. There's a hotel shuttle as well. Rooms are very good sized.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey K, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi Val D,

I happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team was very helpful to you. We love helping our guests get to know the U District and all of it's hidden gems!

Looking forward to seeing you again,

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here with extended family for daughter's shower-we were delighted with the accommodations-pretty simple but immaculate and a nice flair that sets it apart from chain hotels. Typical continental breakfast fare and great coffee-

Room Tip: Upper floor, corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey K, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi Rosemary60,

Thank you for choosing University Inn while visiting Seattle. I'm pleased to see that you really enjoyed your with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#60 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#37 Family Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy- The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can't be beat. Here you're just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing