We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seattle Revisited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Seattle Revisited”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our second stay at the Inn, this time with our pet dog. With a fee of $20 per night for a pet is a little expensive, but worth it for having the pet stay in air conditioned room during extremely hot days is more than worth it. They do have a pet policy which should be read before booking, but at long as the dog is not a barker, this should not be a problem. The rooms for pets should be booked with that in mind, these rooms are in the older part of the hotel but still very good value.

Another great visit and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park are quieter, there is constant traffic on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterJtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi PeterJtrips,

Thank you for choosing University Inn again! We love that you returned and were able to bring your dog to stay with us as well, we love our four legged guests. #pineapplepups

We look forward to your next visit!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    290
    72
    23
    6
See reviews for
290
173
51
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My daughter was checking out the Univ of Washington and needed some place close by. The hotel was perfect. Walking distance to the university. Rooms were nicely furnished and quiet. Parking was free and there were plenty of spots. Three blocks over towards the university there are a variety of restaurants. It is only a few blocks off I-5 and there is easy access to get back on towards Seattle.

I would highly recommend it for anyone needing to spend time near the university.

Room Tip: The rooms toward the parking lot are quieter since they are away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cali95762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Cali95762,

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. We're pleased you found our location helpful and convenient to UW and downtown. We hope that you keep us in mind if you return to Seattle in the future!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights. Deluxe King room was comfortable and quiet. Free bicycle rental is very convenient, and they provide a helmet and lock. The Burke-Gilman Trail runs just south of the hotel, allowing easy access to University Village, Gas Works Park, and Ballard.

All the front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. Jediah helped me on several occasions, including check-out, and he was friendly and efficient.

Free shuttle bus to Westlake was on-time and very handy.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Brendan901,

It sounds like you got to know the area and do quite a bit of exploring while you were here! So glad that you found our bicycles and shuttle helpful to get around! Jediah is a fantastic and we're very lucky to have him as part of the Pineapple team!
Thank you for sharing with the TripAdvisor readers and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our family of 5 really enjoyed our stay at the University Inn. We stayed in the newer wing and found everything quite satisfactory. The bed was comfy, the room was a good size, and the staff very helpful.
We had the breakfast one morning and it was fine, but we would really recommend the brekkie at Portage Bay Cafe! It is next door and excellent if you can afford it.
We really enjoyed the location and felt that overall this hotel was excellent value!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddieperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Eddieperth,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're delighted to see that you and your family enjoyed your time in Seattle and that we could be a part of that experience.
We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Seattle!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here while particpating at a meeting at UW. I loved it. Conveniently located to UW. Has complementary shuttle to downtown Seattle. Also offers complementary bikes which is nice to get around. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank SOKESCO
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi SOKESCO,

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we love to be a pleasant surprise for our guests! Thank you for your great review and we hope to see you again soon.

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Folsom, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I were in Seattle to do a 2 day bike ride to Portland. There are 12,000 riders who do this ride so the area around the University of Washington was quite busy. I have to say, the University Inn did a fantastic job of getting everyone in our party of 12 checked-in with no complications at all. They were polite and competent and eager to help us out. The rooms were big - we had a small suite with a king bed, sofa, frig, microwave, TV, etc. The air conditioner worked very well which was nice since Seattle was experiencing ultra warm temps that weekend. They had nice shampoos and conditioners in the bath and a sink inside and outside the bathroom. I've never seen both before in a hotel room. Extra bonus - since most of the people staying at the hotel were doing the ride, the hotel opened breakfast at 5:00 am instead of their normal time just to accommodate us. That was above a beyond a nice thing to do.
If I'm ever in Seattle and want to stay near the University, this is the first place I'll make a reservation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy95630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi Cindy95630,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us! The STP race is always a really fun weekend and we're glad that everything went smoothly for your group.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

What an awesome change from the chains. A greeting from the staff everyday of my four night stay. My room was cleaned each afternoon as if I had just checked in, the lobby and hall ways are just as tidy. I never had a question enter my mind as far as bed linens. The furniture in the room is fairly comfortable as well. Walking distance for lots of restaurants down on university.
On the down side, parking is a little tight and the breakfast buffet could be expanded with more selections but that will not stop me from coming back.
As a professional traveler I highly recommend the university inn.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We love any opportunity to introduce Pineapple Hospitality to new guests, so thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Seattle. We're glad that you found everything clean and comfortable and we hope to welcome you back should your travels bring you to the PNW again.

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 101 in Seattle
1,352 reviews
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#37 Family Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy- The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can't be beat. Here you're just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing