We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seattle Pacific Hotel
Ranked #96 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Except the location nothing else was good about this hotel. Very untidy, dirty, run down and not at all worth the price. Don't get carried away by the continental breakfast, bagels and muffins?? Even the attitude of the owner was bad, called for a problem in the bathroom and even before looking at it he starts defending and gives a stare after figuring out I was doing it wrong. After my cruise I had called in and requested to store my luggage since I had a late night flight, they agreed on the phone but once I got there the owner again showed attitude. Stay somewhere else.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SXM-Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo K, Manager at Seattle Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2015
Hi Rick. Thank you for staying with us and for your review of our property. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our central location, but we're sorry the rest of your stay was unsatisfactory. We pride ourselves on having great customer service, and it sounds as if we failed with your stay. On behalf of all of us here at Seattle Pacific Hotel, I apologize for the negative attitude of the staff member. I hope you'll give us another chance to improve on your first experience with us. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    20
    29
    24
    123
See reviews for
30
53
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
682 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Sure, I read the reviews that people wrote before we booked a room.....but I thought, some people just expect too much. I was wrong, I admit it, it definately IS as bad as people say. Oh of course this place will always have a lot of guests because it is so close to Seattle Center (about 2-1/2 blocks). The SPH owner knows this and probably feels he doesn't have to fix anything. Where do I start? hmmm.. STAFF: although most are friendly, the early morning staffer is old, grumpy and smells like he hasn't taken a shower in a week. Someone spilled coffee in the breakfast room and he was swearing up a storm. He also was cranky when we complained our card key to our room didn't work. The owner/manager is also not too much of a "people person". THE ROOM: our card key never worked very well, usually had to simultaneously wiggle the card back and forth in the slot, and give the door a kick. We had 3 different staff people on each day of our 3-day stay come up and open the room door for us because the key didn't work. The AC unit was behind a curtain (had to place the curtain on a chair to get air flow), was set at 60 degrees and the temperature adjustment button was broken (the room gets VERY hot without AC). The TV is very complicated to operate with a wall switch, two remotes, and a separate power box all needing to be synchronized to get it to work (we had to have a staff person come up to show us how to work it). Extremely bright construction flood lights are on all night outside the room window, so the curtain needs to be tightly closed (see above AC problem making this impossible). BREAKFAST: consists of orange juice, mini-bagels, mini-muffins, and poor coffee...skip breakfast here. The website says that they recently remodeled, but I think it was only the new floor tile in the lobby area because the rest of the place looks like it hasn't been updated since the 1950s. There is currently construction in progress on all sides of the hotel, so walking or driving to and from the parking lot is not the best or convenient. The view from our hotel room window is of the space needle and EMP, which would be great except the view is obscured by construction cranes and cement trucks. They are building a freeway tunnel behind the hotel. If you want to be near downtown, spend a few bucks more and avoid this place. Lowest price is not the best choice in Seattle.

Room Tip: Do not book room #314 (faulty door lock)! Ask to see the room first, and make sure the card key work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltheworld012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo K, Manager at Seattle Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2015
First of all, thank you for taking the time to review our property. We constantly try to provide our guests with the best possible service and hospitality, and we're sorry that we didn't meet your needs during your stay. Our policy is to provide great customer service, so we were troubled to hear that our staff was unusually negative towards you. Your concerns have been communicated to the management team to review and address. As far as the construction goes, we're sorry your beautiful view of the Space Needle was obstructed. Unfortunately, this project is out of our control, and we can guarantee that it will improve with the completion of the new tunnel. Finally, we are constantly looking for ways to improve our rooms and make them more comfortable for our guests, so we will take your comments into account. Thank you again for your review, and we hope you'll return to Seattle again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seattle hotels

Rancho Cordova
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Wasn't expecting the disrepair of this hotel.. Bathroom had broken and mix match tiles, looked like they replace some of the flooring with what ever they had laying around.
Pool & Spa was full of Algae, Totally unusable in the middle of July.
Wifi would not work.

We definitely will not stay there again or recommend to anyone!
All this for $128 per night.

Room Tip: Had wifi but they said no guarantee that it will connect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahoe2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo K, Manager at Seattle Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2015
Thank you for staying with us, and we apologize for your negative experience. We're always working on improving our guest rooms, so we will keep your concerns in mind. We hope you enjoyed your time in Seattle and that you'll return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel has an exceptional location if you want to be close to the City Center and all the activities there. Our son had an event at the Key Arena. We stayed at the Seattle Pacific Hotel so he could walk to the four day event. Is this place the Ritz? No, but it was clean, safe and quiet. The air conditioning worked; the shower had good pressure and hot water; the television worked fine. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There was a lot of construction going on nearby, but most of the cab drivers knew how to maneuver around it. I would stay there again if this was the area I needed to be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACrumpler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo K, Manager at Seattle Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2015
Thanks for your review, and thank you for staying with us! We're looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I didnt exactly have high expectations prior to my stay given the reviews but I missed my flight and there was no other availability in downtown Seattle that night. How a hotel can charge $200 for the night but resemble a shabby truckers motel beats me. It might be walking distance to the Seattle Needle but nestled in between a huge construction site and the rowdy 99 Highway, this hotel isn't exactly location location location. My advice, if you want to stay downtown then cough up a few more dollars for somehwere much better or just stay somewhere cheaper and nicer but further afield.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterc333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo K, Manager at Seattle Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2015
Hi Peter. Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our business. We continually strive to provide an affordable, comfortable, and welcoming place for travelers to stay. We're sorry that your stay with us did not live up to our standards. We understand the construction projects around our hotel are slightly inconvenient and annoying, but we're sure that things will improve once they are completed. We're sorry you didn't feel like you had a choice staying with us, but we do hope you'll give us a chance to improve on your first experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We checked into this hotel after making our reservation through an online travel company. Our biggest mistake was not reading reviews before booking the reservation.

The hotel was a total DUMP! Our room door was warped and difficult to open. The carpet was stained and dirty. Screens were missing from the windows, and the air conditioner casing (from the exterior wall) was broken and looked tacky. The light bulb was missing from the lamp on the single night stand, and the clock wasn't plugged in. Worse yet, the swimming and wading pools were half empty and filled with green, swampy water with algae growing at the pool bottom.

The parking lot (which cost $10/day) was difficult to manuever through -- a limited number of small, narrow spaces located next door to a construction zone. Located next to Highway 99/Aurora Avenue, the hotel was almost impossible to locate because it was across a busy freeway divided by a concrete barrier. There was constant traffic noise from the adjacent freeway, so we had to keep the windows closed for the short period we were there.

The poor desk clerk was frazzled, and appeared to be the only employee at the hotel. He seemed to be a "jack of all trades," serving as clerk, housekeeper and janitor.

We got the impression that the hotel was almost empty of guests. Our room was located at the end of the hall, and there were no other people staying on our floor. It was a perfect scenario for a suspense movie; we likened it to a "Chamber of Horrors."

We couldn't leave the place fast enough and didn't stay a single night -- although we were supposed to be there for three evenings. We immediately checked out and instead stayed at a beautiful four-star hotel in downtown Seattle, which was heaven on earth compared to the Seattle Pacific Hotel.

Do NOT stay at Seattle Pacific Hotel! The best fate for this hotel is to be razed. It's a health hazard waiting to happen and should be condemned for sanitary and safety reasons.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cfcminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo K, Manager at Seattle Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2015
Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. We always take our guests' opinions into account and are constantly looking for ways to improve our property. We're sorry to hear that you felt as if you were in a "House of Horrors" and that you decided not to stay with us. Your review has been sent along to management to review and address.

We will soon be improving all of our rooms, so your concerns will be remedied in the near future. Also, the construction and difficulty getting around said construction will be finished soon, and the noise as well as the new tunnel will be greatly improved.

Thanks again for reviewing our property, and we hope you enjoyed your time in Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here one night because it was within walking distance of the seattle space needle. The horrible stay was not worth it and if you want to save some money just stay in Kent. "Free Wifi" sticker on door was a lie. Hallways smelled disgusting. Our bathroom door almost locked me in because it would not unlock. "Free Breakfast" was not only extremely skimpy but 50% of it were mini beagles which were either stale or literally soaked with water somehow. We thought since this location was close-ish to city centre there would be other businesses to walk to besides space needle and Chihuly museum, but in fact the whole surrounding area was desolate, reminded me of Gotham city in fact. Also we stayed in Kent the night before for no exaggeration, 50% the cost of this hotel and it was so so so much nicer.

Room Tip: Just don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo K, Manager at Seattle Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2015
Hi there, and thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Seattle Pacific Hotel, we strive to provide a nice place to stay for visitors of Seattle. We're sorry to hear that your stay with us was a negative experience. We're always improving our rooms to make them more welcoming and inviting to guests, so we will take your review into account when making these improvements. We're aware that the construction around our hotel isn't the most attractive thing in the world. However, once the new tunnel project is completed, this will be greatly improved. Thank you for bearing with us during this time, and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Queen Anne
#72 of 100 in Seattle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Belltown
The Loyal Inn
The Loyal Inn
#59 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seattle Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seattle Pacific Hotel

Property: Seattle Pacific Hotel
Address: 325 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4608
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Seattle Pacific Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 59-room property that is 2.5 blocks from the Seattle Center. We are 95% smoke free and have pet-friendly rooms. We have AAA, Senior, and Corporate rates and children under 10 stay free. Each room comes equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, and cable television. Free wifi is available in all public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seattle Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing