We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE...only a 1 because I can't give a 0!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seattle Pacific Hotel
Ranked #95 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Yes it was close to everything we wanted to do. When we booked the hotel it said they had a pool, which upon checking in they said it hadn't been functional in years. We booked a queen but walking into our room and found a "full size" it was more like a twin. Luckily they were able to switch us rooms...only to get a room with a broken AC unit. And in 80+ degree heat that was a no go. Our entire floor that day REEKED of pot to which they did nothing about. The door have about a 1 inch gap at the bottom so you hear noise from outside and the people outside your door can hear you. We ended up shoving a blanket there to keep the pot smell out. The continental breakfast is mini bagels, mini muffins, gross warm overly pulpy orange juice and burnt tasting coffee. The elevator is straight out of some horror movie. You can hear highway 99 thru the window. The fridges and microwaves seem to be from the 80s. The beds are either way too bouncy or firm. The pillows were tiny and uncomfortable, luckily we brought our own. The front desk guy who works at night is very rude and kinda creepy. I HIGHLY recommend that you just pay more and go to a different hotel were you'll have updated everything and actually get the stuff that they list in the accommodations.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank scheffler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo K, Manager at Seattle Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Thank you for staying with us and for finding time to write a review for our business. We place great value on our customers' opinions, and yours will be communicated to the management team.

We're sorry that the room did not fit your expectations. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the comfort and usability of our rooms, so we will definitely take your concerns into account.

In addition, we were troubled to hear that you smelled marijuana in the hallway. Smoking marijuana on our property is strictly prohibited despite Washington's legalization of marijuana. Is it possible for you to email us with the dates of your stay so we can look more into this matter? If so, please email me at jo@seattlepacifichotel.com

Thanks again for your business and for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Besides the horrible conditions and ridiculously over priced room, we were greeted by the manager as we were leaving the room at checkout time telling us to "get the____ out and that he wouldn't ____ my wife because she was too ugly!" Customer service at its finest! Our list of complaints are too long to relate. This place should be shut down!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo K, Manager at Seattle Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Thanks for your review, Brian. We're sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, and we're disappointed in ourselves for not providing a satisfactory experience. On behalf of everyone here at Seattle Pacific Hotel, I deeply apologize for the outburst by the manager on shift. Not only was it unacceptable, but it also goes against our policy of providing excellent customer service to our guests. You concerns were communicated to the management team, and this will not happen again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and we hope you'll give us another chance to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Except the location nothing else was good about this hotel. Very untidy, dirty, run down and not at all worth the price. Don't get carried away by the continental breakfast, bagels and muffins?? Even the attitude of the owner was bad, called for a problem in the bathroom and even before looking at it he starts defending and gives a stare after figuring out I was doing it wrong. After my cruise I had called in and requested to store my luggage since I had a late night flight, they agreed on the phone but once I got there the owner again showed attitude. Stay somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank SXM-Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo K, Manager at Seattle Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Hi Rick. Thank you for staying with us and for your review of our property. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our central location, but we're sorry the rest of your stay was unsatisfactory. We pride ourselves on having great customer service, and it sounds as if we failed with your stay. On behalf of all of us here at Seattle Pacific Hotel, I apologize for the negative attitude of the staff member. I hope you'll give us another chance to improve on your first experience with us. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Sure, I read the reviews that people wrote before we booked a room.....but I thought, some people just expect too much. I was wrong, I admit it, it definately IS as bad as people say. Oh of course this place will always have a lot of guests because it is so close to Seattle Center (about 2-1/2 blocks). The SPH owner knows this and probably feels he doesn't have to fix anything. Where do I start? hmmm.. STAFF: although most are friendly, the early morning staffer is old, grumpy and smells like he hasn't taken a shower in a week. Someone spilled coffee in the breakfast room and he was swearing up a storm. He also was cranky when we complained our card key to our room didn't work. The owner/manager is also not too much of a "people person". THE ROOM: our card key never worked very well, usually had to simultaneously wiggle the card back and forth in the slot, and give the door a kick. We had 3 different staff people on each day of our 3-day stay come up and open the room door for us because the key didn't work. The AC unit was behind a curtain (had to place the curtain on a chair to get air flow), was set at 60 degrees and the temperature adjustment button was broken (the room gets VERY hot without AC). The TV is very complicated to operate with a wall switch, two remotes, and a separate power box all needing to be synchronized to get it to work (we had to have a staff person come up to show us how to work it). Extremely bright construction flood lights are on all night outside the room window, so the curtain needs to be tightly closed (see above AC problem making this impossible). BREAKFAST: consists of orange juice, mini-bagels, mini-muffins, and poor coffee...skip breakfast here. The website says that they recently remodeled, but I think it was only the new floor tile in the lobby area because the rest of the place looks like it hasn't been updated since the 1950s. There is currently construction in progress on all sides of the hotel, so walking or driving to and from the parking lot is not the best or convenient. The view from our hotel room window is of the space needle and EMP, which would be great except the view is obscured by construction cranes and cement trucks. They are building a freeway tunnel behind the hotel. If you want to be near downtown, spend a few bucks more and avoid this place. Lowest price is not the best choice in Seattle.

Room Tip: Do not book room #314 (faulty door lock)! Ask to see the room first, and make sure the card key work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveltheworld012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo K, Manager at Seattle Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2015

First of all, thank you for taking the time to review our property. We constantly try to provide our guests with the best possible service and hospitality, and we're sorry that we didn't meet your needs during your stay. Our policy is to provide great customer service, so we were troubled to hear that our staff was unusually negative towards you. Your concerns have been communicated to the management team to review and address. As far as the construction goes, we're sorry your beautiful view of the Space Needle was obstructed. Unfortunately, this project is out of our control, and we can guarantee that it will improve with the completion of the new tunnel. Finally, we are constantly looking for ways to improve our rooms and make them more comfortable for our guests, so we will take your comments into account. Thank you again for your review, and we hope you'll return to Seattle again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Wasn't expecting the disrepair of this hotel.. Bathroom had broken and mix match tiles, looked like they replace some of the flooring with what ever they had laying around.
Pool & Spa was full of Algae, Totally unusable in the middle of July.
Wifi would not work.

We definitely will not stay there again or recommend to anyone!
All this for $128 per night.

Room Tip: Had wifi but they said no guarantee that it will connect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tahoe2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo K, Manager at Seattle Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2015

Thank you for staying with us, and we apologize for your negative experience. We're always working on improving our guest rooms, so we will keep your concerns in mind. We hope you enjoyed your time in Seattle and that you'll return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel has an exceptional location if you want to be close to the City Center and all the activities there. Our son had an event at the Key Arena. We stayed at the Seattle Pacific Hotel so he could walk to the four day event. Is this place the Ritz? No, but it was clean, safe and quiet. The air conditioning worked; the shower had good pressure and hot water; the television worked fine. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There was a lot of construction going on nearby, but most of the cab drivers knew how to maneuver around it. I would stay there again if this was the area I needed to be.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACrumpler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo K, Manager at Seattle Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Thanks for your review, and thank you for staying with us! We're looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I didnt exactly have high expectations prior to my stay given the reviews but I missed my flight and there was no other availability in downtown Seattle that night. How a hotel can charge $200 for the night but resemble a shabby truckers motel beats me. It might be walking distance to the Seattle Needle but nestled in between a huge construction site and the rowdy 99 Highway, this hotel isn't exactly location location location. My advice, if you want to stay downtown then cough up a few more dollars for somehwere much better or just stay somewhere cheaper and nicer but further afield.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterc333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo K, Manager at Seattle Pacific Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2015

Hi Peter. Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our business. We continually strive to provide an affordable, comfortable, and welcoming place for travelers to stay. We're sorry that your stay with us did not live up to our standards. We understand the construction projects around our hotel are slightly inconvenient and annoying, but we're sure that things will improve once they are completed. We're sorry you didn't feel like you had a choice staying with us, but we do hope you'll give us a chance to improve on your first experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at Queen Anne
#73 of 104 in Seattle
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 104 in Seattle
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seattle Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seattle Pacific Hotel

Address: 325 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4608
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £93 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Seattle Pacific Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 59-room property that is 2.5 blocks from the Seattle Center. We are 95% smoke free and have pet-friendly rooms. We have AAA, Senior, and Corporate rates and children under 10 stay free. Each room comes equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, and cable television. Free wifi is available in all public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seattle Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing