We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Hotel Max

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Max
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

After reading some the reviews I was expecting a very small room in a dated hotel, however the room was reasonably large, a modest (but very cute) bathroom. I was on the 9th floor - 901 - which is RIGHT next to the elevators. I did require earplugs during the night as the older style elevators are fairly loud, but with earplugs I wasn't disturbed too much. However the bed placement might take some looking at - as the head of the bed is right against the wall of the elevator shaft.

I arrived around 11:30pm and the check in staff were great - there was some confusion about what room I was booked into - which revealed itself when I got to the room.

In turned out the windows in the room had been left open during the day, while it rained, and all of the carpet along that side of the room was saturated. I called down to the frontdesk who said they would send up housekeeping (and were already aware of the issue and apologised as they thought it had been addressed - but was obviously the cause of confusion at check-in, disappointing they didn't move us into another room immediately, because there was a larger room available), however as it was 11:45pm at this stage, I declined... consequently the room began to smell a bit like wet dog over the next 2-3 days.

The hotel restaurant was great and had a good range of beer on tap. Every staff member I interacted with was friendly and helpful and I would stay again.

Only a small issue - as this is an older building the elevators are teeny tiny and there are no service elevators for staff. If there are 3-4 people with luggage waiting for a lift in front of you, you may be stuck for 10-15mins waiting to get to your room. It would be great if staff would help coordinate getting bags up to the rooms a little more proactively, to allow guests to use the elevators more freely - 15mins is a long time to wait just because the group in front have suitcases. Otherwise stay on a lower floor and use the stairs!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelGeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello there RachelGeee!
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your story on TripAdvisor. We are so thrilled to hear that you were pleasantly surprised. Additionally, thank you for the information on your room. I'll be looking into whether or not we can modify the room layout of that particular room. Please know that we are working with the entire team to better utilize the elevators and encourage our team to take the stairs when available.
Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,226
    648
    241
    109
    48
See reviews for
271
880
190
622
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I had a nice stay here. It's in a good spot in Seattle and the hotel is pretty trendy itself. The staff was nice and the rooms were well decorated and clean. I'd definitely go back. Would recommend to friends as well!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello there Mandy C.!
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We truly appreciate the feedback and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our team to be nice and welcoming. Love that you found our property to be trendy and clean. We are very proud of our Housekeeping team and the work they do.
Again, thank you for staying with us and we look for welcome you and your friends to the Max in the future.
Regards,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The location is outstanding as you can take the light rail to 6th and Pine for less than $3 per person. from Seatac. Hotel Max is located within walking distance of most all major sightseeing items. I used Lyft for the 1st time and it was really cool to Kerry Park for $8. The staff are extremely helpful , professional, and very kind. I was able to get a cot ahead of time for free from the manager for my 11 y/o son. The rooms were very clean but some might be a tad small. But honestly you are supposed to sleep in it and tour most of the day. The have a trendy bar with awesome beer made locally. We got free wi-fi but .44 Mbps is kinda slow in Seattle (fiber)but I am spoiled at 100M U/D with fiber to the home in Korea. The elevators are small and can be a little noisy if you have an adjacent room. I was able to book the room at an outstanding rate and the value for the room and all the benefits are impossible to match. I would advice you to stay here if you are interested in value/cost. It is not theTaj Mahal by any means but it is a cool, trendy, hip style hotel that is an awesome ROI on your dollar.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator >.<
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hey there John B.
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your five bubble review and story with TripAdvisor. Truly appreciate your kind words about our location, team and overall value. Three things we are very proud of. Also, thank you for the heads up on the bandwidth. I'll have our IT team look into it as we recently upgraded our network.
Again, thank you so much for staying with us and I hope that you and your son had a great time enjoying the city. We cannot wait to welcome you back!
Cheers,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

After reading other reviews I was a little worried that this was one of the only hotels we could book for our trip to Seattle. We arrived at 11pm to be better by two friendly front desk staff and we promptly checked in. We are given room 901 which when we arrived in was much more spacious than anticipated. There was plenty of space for my wife and I to be comfortable. Yes the bathroom was small but by no means unusable.

We were directly behind the lifts which did mask old building creaks and groans but once we put in the supplied ear plugs it was not a problem.

As other reviews waiting for the lifts can sometimes get about tedious but not a deal breaker for me.

The craft beer hour is a nice touch and well appreciated.

All staff I met were very helpful and nothing was a problem. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Distant_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello there Distant_Scott!
Thank you so much for choosing the Max on your recent trip to Seattle! We are thrilled to have you share your experience with TripAdvisor and are so pleased to hear your comments about our team, our craft beer hour and, of course, our rooms. We completely agree and believe they have great design and functionality to them.
Again, thank you for staying with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back to the Max!
Regards,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our stay was great, staff was friendly, hotel is beautiful. The rooms are small, however this is due to the fact that this is an old hotel that was remodeled. From 530 to 630 every evening they serve free draughts of local craft beer to guests. The attached restaurant, Millers Guild, is very nice (somewhat pricey) and has a great vibe. This hotel is only a block or two away from the Westlake Light Link station and the monorail that takes you to the space needle which was so so convenient. I feel that the room rate was a little steep for the size of the rooms, but other than that I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristinmarie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello there kristinmarie11!
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts with TripAdvisor. We love hearing that you enjoyed your experience and found our team to be helpful and our hotel beautiful. We are so proud of our history, architecture, design and our brilliant team. They truly make the Max shine.
Again, we just loved hearing your feedback and cannot wait to welcome you back in the future.
Cheers,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Max for two nights and was very pleased with it. The decor and scene are hip but not pretentious. The staff were warm and welcoming. The room was very small but a good deal for the price and convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janichic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello there Janichic,
Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent trip to Seattle and for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our team to be warm and welcoming. We are so proud of them and jobs they do each and every day.
Again, thank you taking the time to share your story and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Cheers,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Mayflower Park Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
The Roosevelt Hotel
#40 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#14 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Property: Hotel Max
Address: 620 Stewart Street, Seattle, WA 98101-1212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Seattle
#29 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#31 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Max 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Denny Triangle neighborhood of downtown, just minutes away from Pike Place Market, the Convention Center, Capitol Hill, and the Amazon campus, Hotel Max is Seattle's home away from home for art lovers, musicians and the creatively inclined. Showcasing the work of iconic local photographers on each floor and original paintings all guest rooms, Hotel Max mixes urban adventure with art, music and style. Within easy walking distance of the city's most iconic attractions, best restaurants and world-class shopping, the 163-room Hotel Max is the perfect place to stay while soaking up the hip Seattle scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max Hotel Seattle
Hotel Max Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing