We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - Great location for Seattle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - Great location for Seattle”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel was was a compromise between location and cost. The location of this hotel meant that we could walk out right into the action of the city without paying too much for a fancy 4-5* hotel. Room was nice - tea and coffee facility was much to be desired. On our last day we were able to leave our bags at the hotel until out late evening departure. Staff were friendly and there is a nice lobby with fireplace.
Would a visit again....Yeah I would

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your trip to Seattle and our convenient location. Most importantly, I appreciate your compliments about our service. Thank you for providing us with feedback and mentioning you would stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    750
    265
    95
    76
See reviews for
351
864
180
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We spent the night for a short get-away in our home town. The staff was polite and helpful and the room was large and reasonably comfortable. They also offered free wifi, a welcome service. However, the selection of TV channels was limited and they offered no in-room movies. The most disappointing aspect, however, was the lack of temperature control on the shower. The temperature bounced all over, from scalding to freezing, with no warning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
I appreciate your comments and apologize for the inconvenient issue with your guest room shower. I will share your review with the appropriate management so we may make the necessary improvements. Thank you for your valuable input and we hope you return so we may have the opportunity to restore your affinity for The Roosevelt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed this past weekend at The Roosevelt. It was a comfortable stay in the best location in downtown Seattle. Now that we've stayed here, we'll never stay anywhere else when visiting Seattle.

I got a good deal off Hotwire and have to admit that some of the reviews on here had me nervous. Yes, the room was a little small and the bathroom a little small, but cmon...breweries, Pike Place, monorail, shopping, restaurants, art museum, Pioneer Square, Bell Town...all of it right outside the hotel within short walking distance. Who's going to stay in the room long enough to feel cramped? If you booked a room in downtown Seattle, then get out there and experience all the fun and excitement! We had absolutely no problem with the size of the room. The beds were soft and comfortable. My girlfriend loved the soft pillows! I'm a pretty light sleeper, yet was able to sleep-in as late as I wanted so the area is quiet enough to get a good sleep. The room, bathroom, hallways and elevators were all clean and tidy. Absolutely nothing to complain about.

Check-in was quick and efficient. Jeremy at the front counter was super friendly and was very kind enough to offer some of his favorite Seattle places for visitors. Check-out was just as efficient and we had a cab waiting for upon check out. We used the fitness facility one morning and it small but very functional.

We visit Seattle 2-3 times per year and I'm glad to have found our "go-to" hotel. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanCityChamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location, accommodations and found us to be a good value. Thank you for mentioning our close proximity to Seattle’s many attractions. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I was making a booking for myself and 4 friends coming to see a concert at the Paramount Theater. We all loved our stay. The Piano Guys put on a great concert, we had dinner two nights, went to Pike Place market and some shopping downtown. All within walking distance of The Roosevelt. I parked my car and never needed it during my stay. Rooms can be quite small, typical of older hotels, but were comfortable.

Room Tip: corner rooms can be bigger than others, only 10 rooms per floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BararaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
I am delighted that we met your expectations during your visit and appreciate your comments about our great location. Seattle has so much to explore, we look forward to serving you on return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Just returned from a trip to Seattle and stayed at the Roosevelt. Wasn't expecting that I'd be there for the NFC championship when I reserved but glad I was there as the 49ers were staying right across the street at the Grand Hyatt!

The location of the Roosevelt couldn't be better. You can take the train from the airport to the Westlake (last) stop. Easy walk - no car necessary! Check-in was great and I was very thankful to get checked in early and get an upgrade to a junior suite. I had a good deal on Hotwire so this was an added bonus. The junior suite was quite big and not what you'd expect from a city hotel.

This is a historic hotel but I think they really need some help getting it right because it just feels old. The lobby is very outdated and couldn't be any less cool - historic can be cool if it is done right! This uncool historic theme continues to the room where it looks like your grandmother's furniture was purchased from an estate sale and thrown in. Some of the fixtures in the room were cool and modern (the lamps and USB charging plugs!) but other things were curiously outdated like some of the furniture and one of the most pathetic 80s alarm clocks I have seen in a while. It's like they had two consultants working independently to renovate the rooms and it makes the whole thing a bit of a confusing conglomeration of styles and decades.

The room is clean and the bed was supremely comfortable and the pillows were some of the best I've slept on. I had a great night's sleep. There was a fridge in my room and that was appreciated. Starbucks coffee as well!

The bathroom is tiny but usable. Water pressure in the shower is pretty terrible. It looks like they got new towels, which looked good, but my friend joked that I was using the bath mat towel but realized it was the regular towels. They are good looking towels that dry you like a bath mat. The bath products were good and there are dispensers in the shower for shampoo/conditioner/shower gel but also there were little bottles of it as well.

The Grand Hyatt is right across the street and my friends had a room there. If you want a modern, cool hotel with style then you will want to stay there. The Roosevelt has a lot of potential but they need to figure out a better way to make historic feel hip. Maybe they should consult with the W hotel group or visit the Hotel Blackhawk in Davenport, Iowa, which is one of the best renovations of a historic hotel that I've ever seen. At least your grandma's furniture at the Roosevelt was comfortable!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank everyshadeofblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you so much for your compliments regarding our location and comfortable pillows. We certainly appreciate all your suggestions and will utilize your comments in future planning. Thank you for providing a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel within steps of everything in the heart of Seattle. Super convenient to the light rail that brings you right in from the airport. Dining and entertainment are all around you, including the theater. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tgaribian24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
We are delighted that we met your expectations during your visit and appreciate your comments about our great location. Seattle has so much to explore, we hope you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

When I am in Seattle for business I stay at this hotel. Not by choice and I understand now why I opt to stay with family while on business. Front desk is not very welcoming. A simple request to charge my card upon arrive was like asking them to do surgery. Come on how hard is it to say hello and smile when a guest approaches the desk. If this hotel was not so close to the convention center and and wasn't the preferred vendor for my company. I would stay elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that the service you encountered during your stay was less than satisfactory. We always strive to exceed our guests' expectations, and apologize for missing the mark on this occasion. I appreciate your feedback, and hope to serve you again in hopes of renewing your feelings regarding our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#35 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#21 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 1531 7th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Seattle
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#34 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic and iconic hotel located at the corner of 7th & Pine, literally the heart of everything downtown Seattle has to offer. The Washington State Convention Center is one block away, Seattle's retail core including the flagship Nordstrom store is one block away, and the famous Pike Place market is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The vibrant restaurant scene of Capitol Hill, along with the burgeoning Amazon campus are both steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing