We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Built in 1929 this centrally located hotel was surprisingly quiet and the beds were very comfortable. It was within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. This was my third visit to the Roosevelt and every time the rooms were very different. Each room had different strengthens. One had a better view, while another was substantially larger. Bathrooms were a wee bit small but that is expected in a building that is almost a century old. The only real negative was that while the wifi in the rooms was free the signal was not consistent so I when I was in the lobby I would have to check my mail. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lost Lagoon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We thank you for your loyalty to the Roosevelt Hotel. We are grateful that you continue to visit us and have had enjoyed each of your experiences. We apologize for the quality of your internet access and look forward to providing you with a better experience upon your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    749
    264
    93
    75
See reviews for
349
861
179
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at The Roosevelt on a quick trip to Seattle. I was a bit skeptical after reading some of the reviews but was glad I did not encounter any issues. The location is excellent and the staff was super friendly. My only issue was that the rooms were a bit small and they provide shampoo/conditioner/bath gel in containers fastened to the shower wall that get refilled. Bring your own toiletries if you're a germaphobe.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rjones-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your kind and thorough review. We apologize that you were disappointed by the size of our bathrooms, and we will keep your comments in mind for future planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The staff who greet you upon arrival are ineffective, rude and make for a poor first impression. When you finally get your room though you will find it is nice. The hotel is located in the heart of everything fun. West lake shopping,meat food, pike place market and waterfront are all within easy walks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Large_Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We strive to provide excellent service and on this occasion it is clear that we fell short. We extend our sincerest apologies. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our accommodations and our location despite the quality of the service you received. We hope you will visit us again so we can provide you with a flawless experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

An amazing stay at a very traditional comfortable cosy hotel in a brilliant location.
The hotel breakfast/dining area was being refurbished so we took breakfast at the
NYC Deli and Market(Boars Head) which was just over the road at 1520 7th Ave.
Travelled to and from Sea-Tac airport on Central Link light rail with just a little walk
to hotel with our cases from Westlake Station.Journey cost $2.75 per person one way
which is an absolute bargain to get to The Roosevelt compared with the Taxi fare.
We could not fault the hotel and without asking was given a room upgrade to room
1705 which was a large spacious room on two sides (corner) of the hotel building.
There was very little traffic noise and a pleasant high level city view.

Room Tip: Great corner room location room 1705 Very quiet air conditioning and sunny location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank mikeb1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for providing a review. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed the city and our accommodations! We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms are in bad need of an update. The room we had was dingy and very small. We would not recommend this hotel the front desk person was nice but disorganized. Great location but truly a depressing hotel

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CINDY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for providing a thorough review of your recent stay. We appreciate your candid comments about our amenities and will include your feedback in future planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

If your a shopper, this hotel is located right on Pine St, with a shopping complex "Pacific Place" right across the street, and "Westlake Center"a few blocks away. There's a movie theater in Pacific Place to occupy teens and fathers who may not want to shop, and a variety of food establishments including the famous Pike's Chowder. At Westlake Center, there's a monorail that takes you straight to the space needle.Oh, there's a small food court there too. Pikes is also within walking distance. One thing about this hotel, our room did not have a safe or refrigerator, but my brother in law's room did. So, if that's important to you, ask for a room that includes it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your complimentary comments about your experience. We are especially thrilled you had a pleasant experience with our staff. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was my first time in the Roosevelt and I was very pleased. Check in was easy and the hotel staff friendly. It's very secure with a room key required in the elevator for all guest room floors (not that I would have felt unsafe otherwise). I was pleasantly surprised by the size of my room. It was much more spacious than what my colleagues described at their hotels. The location was perfect. I took the Link rail in from the airport and it was super easy and a very short walk from the Westlake Station. I was attending a conference at the Westin and it took no time to walk over each day. And it was a very pleasant walk with lots of great shopping and dining en route or within a few blocks. As a woman traveling alone I felt fine walking in the area at all times of the day. I would definitely stay at the Roosevelt again, no question.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Delish73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#32 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 1531 7th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Seattle
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#34 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic and iconic hotel located at the corner of 7th & Pine, literally the heart of everything downtown Seattle has to offer. The Washington State Convention Center is one block away, Seattle's retail core including the flagship Nordstrom store is one block away, and the famous Pike Place market is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The vibrant restaurant scene of Capitol Hill, along with the burgeoning Amazon campus are both steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing