We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roosevelt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Old style hotel but right downtown, close to everything you need / want in Seattle. Nice rooms, pleasant staff. Lacks lobby bar and restaurant but close to all major amenities and attractions. Staff was competent, co-operative and very pleasant and helpful. Even ordered us taxis to the cruise terminal and had there at our requested departure time. Overall, very pleasant experience at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank BruceONeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your five star review! We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    710
    246
    86
    71
See reviews for
322
820
166
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Polson, Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I booked this hotel through a tour agency. I wanted downtown and within walking distance of Pike's Market for our one-night stay. The room was very nice - very clean. It was available early in the AM rather than the advertised 4PM check-in which was very nice for our early arrival.

The room was a bit small, but that's due to the historic nature of the building. Other than size, it was beautiful! Friendly and helpful staff. No complaints at all! Starbucks across the street was handy for a quick breakfast. Cafe Yum just up the street offered nice healthy meal options - very flavorful - (yum!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are thrilled by your generous endorsement of our hotel and staff. Thank you for your kind words, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
203 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

A well located hotel in the heart of Seattle.

Rooms were ok. We did experience quite a few issues with cleanliness and wifi, but these were swiftly and satisfactorily resolved. Make sure you get a room with good wifi signal

Request a room with a city view (high floor) if possible.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank silly_sausage_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I'm happy to see that you enjoyed our hotel and all of your issues were resolved during your stay. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I knew going in that the rooms were small and not luxurious. But I was in Seattle and wasn't spending my time in my room! The hotel is well located, very close to the monorail and light rail station. There are a multitude of restaurants close by, and we walked to the baseball stadium on a beautiful Seattle evening. The hotel staff is very efficient, the check in pleasant and we used the express check out. The room though small has a comfortable bed, was clean and had Starbucks coffee in the room as well as in the lobby in the AM. There are of course also about 4 Starbucks coffee shops within a block in any direction. Lots of shopping just across the street and within blocks of the hotel. I will definitely stay there again as the price is right for such convenience, cleanliness and efficiency. BTW, they also have a nice fitness center.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank susansox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are glad that you were able to enjoy so many of our accommodations and that you were able to make the most of Seattle! We thank you for your review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

But I was not impress with the room; too small. I liked that they provided Starbucks coffee in the room and in the lobby during the morning hours only. I also wished the staff were more knowledgeable of the restaurants in the downtown area. We walked around to find them after we used Yelp for recommendations. But the positive side was all the shopping areas available as well as public transportation. Used the monorail to attend the Northwest Folklife Festival (Memorial Day weekend) and the light rail to attend a Seattle Mariners baseball game. Since we are seniors, the fares was awesome. Yes, the benefits of being a senior.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlnLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We appreciate your honesty and apologize that our staff was unable to serving you with restaurant recommendations. We will extend your comments to them and make sure your future visits go more smoothly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Got off the plane at SEATAC and straight on the monorail. $10 for a family of 5 to take us to the end of the line and almost right outside the Roosevelt Hotel in Downtown Seattle. The hotel was very welcoming, clean, efficient to check in. The room was a little small for 5 with a rollaway but the price was pretty good (for Seattle prices!).
No breakfast facilities bar free coffee in the lobby, but there is a Starbucks round the corner (one of 400 in Seattle).
We got a taxi to Pier 91 the next day after our midday checkout. Cushty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJeffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your kind and candid review. We appreciate your review and hope to implement your comments about the lack of coffee bar for guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Built in 1929 this centrally located hotel was surprisingly quiet and the beds were very comfortable. It was within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. This was my third visit to the Roosevelt and every time the rooms were very different. Each room had different strengthens. One had a better view, while another was substantially larger. Bathrooms were a wee bit small but that is expected in a building that is almost a century old. The only real negative was that while the wifi in the rooms was free the signal was not consistent so I when I was in the lobby I would have to check my mail. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lost Lagoon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We thank you for your loyalty to the Roosevelt Hotel. We are grateful that you continue to visit us and have had enjoyed each of your experiences. We apologize for the quality of your internet access and look forward to providing you with a better experience upon your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#30 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#23 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#38 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 1531 7th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Seattle
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#34 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic and iconic hotel located at the corner of 7th & Pine, literally the heart of everything downtown Seattle has to offer. The Washington State Convention Center is one block away, Seattle's retail core including the flagship Nordstrom store is one block away, and the famous Pike Place market is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The vibrant restaurant scene of Capitol Hill, along with the burgeoning Amazon campus are both steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing