We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Wellsville, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is an older hotel, but very clean and staff is exceptionally nice. The location is perfect for seeing Seattle. When we left and were at the airport, we realized we forgot our sunglasses. We called the hotel and talked to Mona in lost an found and she mailed them to us. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlharris24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, staff, and location. We're thrilled to read you would stay with us on a return visit as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    731
    256
    88
    75
See reviews for
339
840
176
503
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Roosevelt is a bit pricey, but it's smack dab in downtown Seattle and has a nice ambience and tasteful décor, so I can see why. I was upgraded to a suite, making the cost more reasonable. I was on the seventh floor so it was quiet, despite the busy traffic below. I would recommend this hotel simply for its location, but also for its friendly staff and pleasant look.

Room Tip: Corner suites are quite large and well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kayleegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
I am delighted to read that you found our location ideal for your time in Seattle. Thank you also for your kind words about our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I don't think I could have lucked in to a better place to stay after 17 hrs travel from New Zealand. Earlier I had gotten concise directions from the hotel on how to get there using the Light Rail Link which made the transfer from the airport simple and inexpensive. Location was great for visit down to the interesting Pike Place Market and then also close to the Monorail for a trip over the Seattle Centre area for Bite of Seattle and other attractions there. Staff were helpful and informative, and there are great food and refreshment options within a block of the hotel (separate shout out to Tap House Grill and it's 160 quality beers on tap soon). My room size was fine for a single traveller maybe a couple may have issues, maybe not. Overall a great experience at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midworlder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your great review! We're happy we could provide you with a comfortable stay after your long journey from New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect: just six blocks from Pike Place market, and right in the midst of all the shopping and restaurants you'd want during a stay in downtown Seattle.

As for the room, it had an odd setup and collection of furniture. Our stay at The Roosevelt was nothing special. When we arrived to our room, there was a maintenance man inside. When we asked if we should come back later, he simply said "no" and hurried out the door and down the hallway. This was very strange. We came to find out later that our bathroom sink was leaking, so perhaps he was trying to fix it.

The room was clean (though somewhat outdated) and the beds were very comfortable. Plus, there was free wifi. However, if I was looking for a place to stay in Seattle again, I wouldn't choose The Roosevelt.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
While I'm happy to read you enjoyed our central location, I apologize we didn't exceed your expectations in other ways. We'd love to renew your feelings toward our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for two nights. We were visiting Seattle for pleasure. The location is excellent , very central for shopping and good restaurants. A short walk to Pikes Place Market which is a fun place to visit. We had breakfast at Lowrey's located in the market. It is cheap and cheerful with a nice view. Our room at the Roosevelt also had a nice view with comfortable quiet rooms, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colourguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful endorsement! We are thrilled that you got to experience so many of Seattle’s finest attractions. Thank you for choosing to spend your trip with us. We look forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

If you're looking for a place to stay right in the middle of the action in downtown Seattle, you might want to consider The Roosevelt. My room was ridiculously small -- smaller than any room I have ever had -- but the location to shopping, restaurants, and the convention center is excellent.

Room Tip: This is an old hotel that has been updated over the years, however, the single room I had for one ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veritastraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your honesty and we’re glad that you were pleased with our location. We also appreciate your feedback about the size of our rooms. We will keep your comments in mind for future planning. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Yes, it's close to Pike's Market and the waterfront and, the light railway which is ideal. Shopping is all around the hotel if that's what you want. Check in worked very well and the staff were very polite and helpful giving some sound advice about restaurants, travel etc. etc.
Our room was very comfortable and had all the amenities even with a wet bar. If there was a downside it would have to be the "tiny" bathroom. "Swinging a cat" would have been impossible. There is no restaurant but coffee is available in the lobby in the morning. Starbucks is "across the road" and there is no shortage of other cafes or restaurants either.
We would have absolutely no problem in recommending the Roosevelt.

Room Tip: Go for higher level floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandY1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our location, accommodations and found us to be a good value. Thank you for mentioning our close proximity to Seattle’s many attractions. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#31 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#23 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 1531 7th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Seattle
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#34 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic and iconic hotel located at the corner of 7th & Pine, literally the heart of everything downtown Seattle has to offer. The Washington State Convention Center is one block away, Seattle's retail core including the flagship Nordstrom store is one block away, and the famous Pike Place market is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The vibrant restaurant scene of Capitol Hill, along with the burgeoning Amazon campus are both steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing