We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“august 2014 stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #43 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“august 2014 stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

no restaurant/bar in hotel. ask for a room away from elevator/housekeeping closet. fairly standard downtown hotel. three star/not four. large room/small bathroom. centrally located in downtown seattle.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from elevator/housekeeping closet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks for your very precise review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    795
    281
    107
    89
See reviews for
378
909
189
556
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here one night before our cruise. Easy walking distance to the market and lots of shops and restaurants nearby. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but they do provide coffee in the foyer area. The beds were very comfortable and the room was quite spacious. The reception staff were friendly No complaints - got what I expected for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review! I'm happy to read you found our guest rooms comfortable, and our staff friendly - two very important features when choosing a hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I enjoyed my stay at The Roosevelt. I had a room on the 20th floor with a great view of the Pike Place Market. The room was nice and cleanwith a comfortable bed. The hotel is surrounded by great bars and restaurants and within walking distance of all downtown attractions and the monorail to the Space Needle. This hotel is very easy to get to when using the light rail from the airport. I will definitely stay here again when in Seattle.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarS91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review! I'm glad you found our central location, great views, and comfortable guest rooms to your liking. We're honored you'd choose to stay with us again when visiting Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Roosevelt while we attended a baseball game at Safeco Field. We were especially impressed with the friendly and helpful front staff. Our room was very clean and tastefully decorated. The location is ideal -- close to shopping, restaurants and transportation. We would both definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to our friends! The only thing we missed was an onsite restaurant / Bar facilities, although there are lots of choices close by.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We really appreciate your recommendation to others, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The entrance lobby offers a warm, stylish introduction to this hotel. Having been warned that the bedrooms were likely to be small and rather old fashioned, we were very pleasantly surprised by the size and decor of our room, thoughtfully laid out and equipped. The bathroom, though quite small, was fine for our one night stay. The staff were friendly and helpful in all requests including a splendid restaurant recommendation. Though it would have been nice to eat breakfast in the hotel, we found an excellent venue nearby. The location of the hotel is one of its great assets, within walking distance of most of the main sights and attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midlandmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our location ideal for your time in Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We hadn’t had a great day and by the time we’d checked in at the Roosevelt Hotel utter exhaustion had set in. Imagine our disappointment when we opened the door of our “King Junior Suite” to find ourselves in a small, rundown, old room totally lacking in such essentials as a fridge and safe. For a three night stay in the middle of summer this was totally unacceptable!

I immediately phoned through to Reception and voiced my disapproval. To her credit Hannah had us into a much improved room within ten minutes. It had an entry foyer with a fridge, coffee making facilities, glasses etc., which then opened up into a spacious suite containing a large lounge, coffee table, work desk, and king size bed. Around the corner was a wardrobe containing a safe, plenty of hanging room and two bathrobes. The bathroom however, was absolutely tiny! There was a shower over a bathtub with good water pressure. Shampoo, conditioner and shower gel were attached to the wall and easily accessible. Lighting was good for the application of makeup. There were plenty of towels and these were good quality. Our only gripe was that it was so small!

A microwave and electric kettle (and I did ask if one was available), would have completed the room facilities nicely. The free wifi was a little sketchy and kept dropping out.

Our room was on the seventh floor and although we could faintly hear the traffic below it didn’t disrupt our sleep at all, especially when the heavy blackout curtains were pulled. The gym contained cardio equipment – two treadmills, a cross trainer and the very rare for a hotel Concept 2 rowing machine – big tick here! There was also a selection of free weights up to 45lb, mats and a fitball. The only thing missing was a sign stating that small children should not be allowed to use the gym without parental supervision! It is very annoying when you are trying to work out with kids running amok – obviously the parents have sent them off so they can have some quiet time! The atmosphere in the reception area of the hotel is lovely and coffee urns are set up for guests to indulge in the mornings. Why not go the whole hog and install a bar? We met friends on two occasions during our stay and had to go elsewhere for a drink.

A business centre is located on the second floor next to the gym. I attempted to print out boarding passes but the printer was backed up with too many documents from a previous user and were unable to be deleted for some reason. Luckily, the receptionist at the front desk was able to print out my passes for me and had them delivered to our room – many thanks.

The hotel is centrally located in downtown Seattle within walking distance of the major department stores, shopping centres and Pike Place Market. It is a slightly longer but still comfortable stroll to the Space Needle and EMP Museum complex.

We ate out around the area and can recommend Dragonfish, Urbane – especially for a late night meal when everything else is closing up, Blueacre Seafood and the Daily Grill for breakfast (has an omelette station and smoked salmon on the menu for those of us who don’t like bacon, sauasages etc).

We booked the Roosevelt Hotel through Clipper Vacations when we bought our ferry tickets from Victoria. It is a charming, older style hotel with just the bathroom size being the only negative feature of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreoCreatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your very thorough review of your recent stay with us. We value your feedback and will share it with our team. We hope you enjoyed your time in Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

When visiting or working in Seattle I always stay at the downtown Rosy. Close to everything and super friendly people. Can't wait until they get the new restaurant. Because it is an older hotel the windows open up which is really nice to enjoy the fresh Seattle air.

Room Tip: Get an 08,05 or 03 room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful five-star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#33 of 101 in Seattle
2,333 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
1,729 reviews
Motif Seattle
#40 of 101 in Seattle
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayflower Park Hotel
#20 of 101 in Seattle
2,179 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,019 reviews
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#37 of 101 in Seattle
4,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 1531 7th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Seattle
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#34 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic and iconic hotel located at the corner of 7th & Pine, literally the heart of everything downtown Seattle has to offer. The Washington State Convention Center is one block away, Seattle's retail core including the flagship Nordstrom store is one block away, and the famous Pike Place market is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The vibrant restaurant scene of Capitol Hill, along with the burgeoning Amazon campus are both steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing