We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gray Line of Seattle”
Review of Gray Line of Seattle - CLOSED

Gray Line of Seattle
Attraction details
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
624 reviews
475 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 859 helpful votes
“Gray Line of Seattle”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The Grey Line of Seattle meet are needs. My wife and I had never visited Seattle and were there for just one day. Having had great experiences with hop on and hop off bus tours in other cities we thought that this would be a good way off seeing a good part of the city in one day. There are 8 stops covering the major attractions and close to the major hotels. Space Needle, Olympic Sculture Park, Bell Street Pier 66, Tillicom Village (Pier 56), Pioneer Square, Pike Place, Shopping District and Belltown (Warwick Hotel). The loop takes about an hour. I suggest that you ride the full route first. Take note of the stops since they sometimes are not marked. Sit on top and take pictures and listen to the imformative information given about the city. After a full loop decide where you want to start and jump off. A two day pass cost about $31 and the bus runs from 9am to 6 pm, May through October. They say that the bus arrives at it's stops every 30 minutes. Well our experience is that it arrives sometimes sooner, sometimes later. Some stops can be easily walked so you do not have to wait for the bus and I suggest you do not. If you are a young physically fit person, you could possibly walk the entire route. At 63 I decided to ride the bus although I might have walked it and left myself little time at the stops and physically worn down. A further suggestion is to combine the bus with a City Pass, it saves you a lot of money and you can see so much more. My biggest regret is that it was a ttight loop and did not include some neighborhoods like Queen Anne and Capitol Hill.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank duck8to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    4
    6
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Informative and easy to use”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I am a big fan of Hop on-Hop off tours, and this was another typical tour. There are 7 or so stops around Seattle, you can get off and on whenever you want. They will also take pictures of you near attractions, so that is handy. It is an open bus, so if it is going to be cool, dress correctly. For $31 you get 2 days of this tour, i used the first day to learn about the city and the 2nd day as a "bus pass" to get around to the places I wanted to see again. Very nice and a good value.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank skirkland68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“had trouble finding the stop”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Loved our informative and entertaining bus driver and host. Be prepared to cover up cause it was a cool ride. I quickly left my husband alone on top deck to go below for warmth and was surprised to find a large opening where a window should go. Perhaps this was done to maximize viewing of sites - not sure. All I know is that I was cold. We wasted too much time trying to initially find the Gray Line (the stop is near Argossy on the pier). Even some shop owners knew nothing about it. Stop at Argossy to buy your tickets and they will direct you to the little sign just down the street.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jillsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Passing grade for a Tour”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Went to this tour on a Saturday, tour guide Lee picked us up on the hotel lobby on time, he is very knowledgeable of the tour, just babbles whatever is significant.
The only downside of the tour is that it should at least explain to tourists that they have to allow pick up time at least for an hour before the bus leaves for the actual tour.What is upsetting of course, are either tourists who does not show up on time and tourists coming on to a wrong bus , and adding extra waiting time for everyone and delaying the trip.
These are issues that are unavoidable and we can't blame it on the tour guide.
We had 2 stops as we headed to the park , one is a fruit stand stop and the other is a restroom break at Safeway, one good pointer though we had with Lee is he was briefing the tourists on how to save time and enjoy the most of the day trip that we had by offering in advance a menu of the 2 restaurants on Crystal Mountain and gave us the option to grab a lunch somewhere to avoid the long wait of restaurant seatings in the Resort.

If you decide to go on a weekend it's always a better option to pack your lunch and grab a bite while enjoying the sight to behold which is the Mt Rainier. In the first place, for a limited 2 hour stop on top of Crystal Mountain, it's not advisable to eat out and miss every opportunity either to hike or simply enjoy the view.Do not go on this tour if you plan to dine out on top of the restaurant and complain that you miss the spectacular sight. Dining out on the top of the resort is advisable for tourists who got a private car.

We were given 2 hrs to enjoy the resort but the problem was there were 2 tourists who overstayed for 20 minutes cutting our next stop which is the Lake inside Mt Rainier National Park for 30 minutes.I wished we could have stayed by the lake and enjoy the picture perfect scenery with the blooming wildflowers and the vista of Mt Rainier in the background.
Since some of the tourists in the bus are of other nationalities it would be helpful at least that Grey Line should provide and educate foreign tourists to be considerate of the time by placing translated guidelines in their native tongues.

We had a brief stop over again at an ice cream shop before we headed back to Seattle.Lee did a great job by being polite despite the fact that people were grumbling about tourists who showed up late.Great recovery move there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank rex31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice to get around”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

It is a good way to see the city, especially if you are staying for 2 days. They cover pretty much all interesting spots and they have 2 busses running every 20-30 min.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank admitr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gray Line of Seattle also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing