We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky little hotel ...”
Review of Belltown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belltown Inn
Ranked #46 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We really liked The Belltown Inn but we would've enjoyed our stay there a whole lot more if our room had been air conditioned. The temperature in Seattle when we were there was 93 degrees and our room was probably ten degrees hotter. Despite having the balcony door wide open, a ceiling fan above the bed and a fan on each of our night tables blowing full blast, it was almost unbearable. But having said that, we would definitely recommend it and stay there again ~ in fall, winter or spring. Our room was small but very comfortable (apart from the temperature), the furniture is funky and attractive, the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful and it's an easy walk to several very good restaurants, shopping and Pike Place Market. Plus, for the brave of heart, they have bicycles and helmets available at no cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the dog park across the street if you're not early rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheJets0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 826 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

I have nothing good to say about this hotel. The hotel is next door to a construction site and is not in a great part of town. The room we were given was small and hot (no AC). There was food in the fridge from the previous guests, the blanket on the bed was threadbare, the mattress was hard and springy (no pillow tops here despite the hotel advertising that they do) and the TV (which was no bigger than a computer monitor) didn't work. The staff were rude and we checked out less than 1 hour after we arrived.

On the outside of the building was a big banner that claimed room rates of $49 per night. We had paid significantly more than that. If you pay more than $49 a night for this dump then you will be disappointed. There are many other hotels closer to the Market area that are better value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller831_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

A great location in Seattle about halfway between Pike Place Market and the Space Needle. You could walk to both from the inn. They also have bycycles (and helmets) available to borrow. This was a very comfortable place to stay. There is no AC in the rooms but you don't need it with the ceiling fan and the floor fan available and windows that open. There was a lot of noise down on the street on Saturday night but with the fans going it didn't bother us at all. A variety of nice restaurants close by. Don't miss the coffee shop, Bedlam, just a block away. The cinnamon toast is to die for..

Room Tip: The northwest corner was probably not the best location with both street noise and construction nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BK233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a place to stay near our cruise pier that wouldn't cost an arm and a leg, and found it with Belltown Inn. Who can dislike a place with complimentary microwave popcorn? Nice remodeled funky place is no chain and that was fine with us. Well located, with friendly front desk! Just a block from some hoppin nightlife.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nytex1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We just completed an overnight stay at Belltown Inn. The location is great and the price is good but there are some significant negatives as well.
We were in a corner room which was exceptionally loud with street noise, especially the repeated emergency vehicles that leave from the station which is around the corner. But if you shut the windows the room is an oven because there is no air-conditioning.
Also the mattresses are uncomfortable.
Parking also an issue because there isn't any. you have to find street parking or use a lot that about 1.5 blocks away.
The overnight front desk staff were unhelpful and suggested that we were in fact in a good room that "people pay an extra $75 for ususally". Hummm. However the morning staff were very nice and even went out of their way to find a balloon for my toddler.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earlham99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

When we checked in - he said you have 2 choices.. Street Noise rooms or CONSTRUCTION noise rooms.. We choose construction - they start at 7:30 ish, so we could shower and go out for coffee. The construction workers can look right into your room, we were on the 3rd floor. The good thing is there is Free water bottles!! so we got lots every day.. NO AIR CONDITIONING either.. so the rooms were HOT, as all they have is a Celing Fan, and a stand up fan in the corner. We walked everywhere.. Lots of restaurants close by. Doggie Park across the street, was the highlight.. fun to watch them play.. Street construction right on Bell too, so hotel hard to get to. We wouldn't stay there again.. I am NOT a complainer, but Someone should have told us about all THE CONSTRUCTION NOISE.. we woud have chosen another hotel.. nice enough people at the front desk. local 360 was our best meal.. $$$$

Room Tip: go as high up as you can.. away from street noise and construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloverdaleCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The only thing going for it relative to other hotels in the area is price. Bus service is good an there is a lot that is within walking distance, so if you don't have a car, it works. If you do have a car, be prepared to pull out some bills, but it's the same at the big hotels downtown. There is no a/c, so you have to decide if fresh air is worth keeping the window open and getting the full street noise as opposed to partial. I was surprised at the amount of noise when the window was closed. Not well insulated. The bathroom door was not hung properly, so it was awkward to close. The mattress was okay, the pillows were balloonish and the bedding was on the rough side. We were woken up a little after 5AM by the elephant in room above us.

In the future I'll stick with getting a room in a B&B on Capitol Hill. The accomodations are better and when you add in parking a meal, less expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 104 in Seattle
1,578 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#36 of 104 in Seattle
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Warwick Seattle
Warwick Seattle
#45 of 104 in Seattle
1,958 reviews
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Mayflower Park Hotel
#17 of 104 in Seattle
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belltown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belltown Inn

Address: 2301 3rd Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £75 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belltown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer beautiful guestrooms in a fantastic central location. We're located within easy walking distance of the historic Pike's Public Market, the Space Needle and Seattle Center grounds (including the Opera House, Key Arena, the MoPOP museum, Pacific Science Center and more), the Symphony Hall, the Convention Center, two major malls, the cruise ship terminals and central waterfront, and so much more. Our lovely guest rooms include beautiful, crisp linens, spacious work desks, and kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belltown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belltown Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing