We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome location, great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Belltown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belltown Inn
Ranked #53 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome location, great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. They know about all of the good restaurants nearby. The rooms were very clean. The location is very conveniently located, right downtown. You can walk to the Waterfront and Pike Place Market; it's right downtown. They have free bikes to loan. There's some street noise because it's right in town, but we slept well in the comfortable beds. The price if you reserve at their website was only $114 a night, which was much less than other hotels I checked. We'll definitely go back there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    412
    155
    61
    39
See reviews for
102
438
146
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

The good: The location within the city is great - the hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the Space Needle, and 15 minute walk to Pike Place Market. It is also located within the flat fee zone for downtown-to-airport taxi service. Though that particular stretch of 3rd Street doesn't host the greatest population (lots of men's shelters along that stretch), Belltown itself has a lot of amazing restaurants that are just a block from the hotel. Also, there is a dog park right across the street, so there is a lot of foot traffic from Seattle professionals taking their dogs out after work, so that helps to make everything feel more secure.

The bad: As I mentioned, there are a lot of men's shelters along 3rd ave, so as two young women, we felt a little apprehensive from time to time at night when walking back to the hotel. Also, the only A/C in the hotel is in the lobby. Granted, Seattle is not a city that typically needs A/C, but during a heat wave (perfect timing, right?), going from walking around in the sun, to riding around in an unairconditioned city bus, and back to an unairconditioned hotel room can be pretty draining since you can't find an escape from the heat. The more important issue was noise at this hotel - since it was so hot in the room, we had to keep the windows open. When we checked in, we weren't told that there was a construction site 10 feet from our window that begins operating at 6am. The next morning we requested a room change and were immediately accomodated. Though we escaped the construction, the other side of the hotel is on a very active bus route. These things really wouldn't have been a problem if it was cool enough to close the windows (our experiments showed the windows to be pretty soundproof), but unfortunately, the heat wave prevented that. I will say that around the courtyard in the hall, even next to an open window, it was shockingly silent and peaceful.

The price was good for downtown, the rooms were large and clean, and the staff was friendly. I wouldn't mind staying there again in cooler weather, but would likely stay elsewhere if hot temps were predicted due to the heat/open window noise combo. Once the major construction ends next door, I would feel a lot more confident in recommending the hotel.

Room Tip: Courtyard room, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We really liked The Belltown Inn but we would've enjoyed our stay there a whole lot more if our room had been air conditioned. The temperature in Seattle when we were there was 93 degrees and our room was probably ten degrees hotter. Despite having the balcony door wide open, a ceiling fan above the bed and a fan on each of our night tables blowing full blast, it was almost unbearable. But having said that, we would definitely recommend it and stay there again ~ in fall, winter or spring. Our room was small but very comfortable (apart from the temperature), the furniture is funky and attractive, the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful and it's an easy walk to several very good restaurants, shopping and Pike Place Market. Plus, for the brave of heart, they have bicycles and helmets available at no cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the dog park across the street if you're not early rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJets0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

I have nothing good to say about this hotel. The hotel is next door to a construction site and is not in a great part of town. The room we were given was small and hot (no AC). There was food in the fridge from the previous guests, the blanket on the bed was threadbare, the mattress was hard and springy (no pillow tops here despite the hotel advertising that they do) and the TV (which was no bigger than a computer monitor) didn't work. The staff were rude and we checked out less than 1 hour after we arrived.

On the outside of the building was a big banner that claimed room rates of $49 per night. We had paid significantly more than that. If you pay more than $49 a night for this dump then you will be disappointed. There are many other hotels closer to the Market area that are better value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller831_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

A great location in Seattle about halfway between Pike Place Market and the Space Needle. You could walk to both from the inn. They also have bycycles (and helmets) available to borrow. This was a very comfortable place to stay. There is no AC in the rooms but you don't need it with the ceiling fan and the floor fan available and windows that open. There was a lot of noise down on the street on Saturday night but with the fans going it didn't bother us at all. A variety of nice restaurants close by. Don't miss the coffee shop, Bedlam, just a block away. The cinnamon toast is to die for..

Room Tip: The northwest corner was probably not the best location with both street noise and construction nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BK233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a place to stay near our cruise pier that wouldn't cost an arm and a leg, and found it with Belltown Inn. Who can dislike a place with complimentary microwave popcorn? Nice remodeled funky place is no chain and that was fine with us. Well located, with friendly front desk! Just a block from some hoppin nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nytex1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We just completed an overnight stay at Belltown Inn. The location is great and the price is good but there are some significant negatives as well.
We were in a corner room which was exceptionally loud with street noise, especially the repeated emergency vehicles that leave from the station which is around the corner. But if you shut the windows the room is an oven because there is no air-conditioning.
Also the mattresses are uncomfortable.
Parking also an issue because there isn't any. you have to find street parking or use a lot that about 1.5 blocks away.
The overnight front desk staff were unhelpful and suggested that we were in fact in a good room that "people pay an extra $75 for ususally". Hummm. However the morning staff were very nice and even went out of their way to find a balloon for my toddler.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earlham99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#57 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#34 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#31 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Belltown
The Loyal Inn
The Loyal Inn
#62 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belltown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belltown Inn

Property: Belltown Inn
Address: 2301 3rd Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Belltown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer beautiful guestrooms in a fantastic central location. We're located within easy walking distance of the historic Pike's Public Market, the Space Needle and Seattle Center grounds (including the Opera House, Key Arena, the EMP and Sci-Fi museum, Pacific Science Center and more), the Symphony Hall, the Convention Center, two major malls, the cruise ship terminals and central waterfront, and so much more. Our lovely guest rooms include beautiful, crisp linens, spacious work desks, and kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belltown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belltown Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing