We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a few days at the end of May 2014. Everyone is SO friendly and breakfast was always delivered with a smile and kind words.

I can really recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceciljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Well thank you ceciljo! I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back again, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

976 - 982 of 2,129 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just one night here for a work trip but was impressed. While I have stayed in many a Kimpton properties I hadn't heard of this brand (Alexis)- not sure if its a one off or not…
Lobby was nice- cool bar, friendly atmosphere. They do cute things like loan you a bike and have a reception hour with wine every evening- though i didn't partake I like the idea of it.
Room was spacious and well appointed. View wasn't much to speak of but not offensive for a city hotel.
One thing Kimpton properties does that I kind of loath is the animal print robes; I believe a cheetah and maybe a tiger. While the idea of using a hotel robe just doesn't sit right with me the idea of using an animal print hotel robe seems almost obscene. Maybe thats just me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thanks Aaron212 for sharing your stay with us! And we in fact are a Kimpton property. So now you can add us to the list of Kimpton hotels you have stayed at. I’m sure you have seen some similarities between all of the properties with our bikes and wine hour. I’m happy to hear that you like the idea of the wine hour; we do too! And it’s ok to feel the way you do about the robes! Everyone is different. We have come to discover that they are a pretty neat hit with guests. But they aren’t for everyone, and that’s ok! Feel free to let them stay in the closet. We hope to have you back again soon and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Hotel staff as noted on other reviews were very nice and helpful. The restaurant bar on the main floor is nice for a drink after a day of working or walking, nice breakfast as well.
The hotel is situated in a great location in the heart of downtown. Close to the market, art museum and the waterfront. I stayed at the hotel for three nights last week. I arrived at around 11.00 pm and checked into room 301, I was looking forward to a nice night sleep as I had an 8am presentation the next day. Once I got unpacked and in bed I was surprised to hear voices and the tv from the room next door or above clear as day. After putting on my head phones I managed to fall asleep. I was later awakened by the AC unit as it "loudly" turned itself on and then off throughout the night.
Needless to say I wasn't very happy and complained. The front desk was very friendly and changed my room for the next two night.

Overall the hotel was nice the rooms were clean and staff was friendly. It is an older building and some of the rooms more current and noise free than others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirtravelots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I’m sorry to hear about the noise that occurred during your stay. Please feel free to email me at Jenne.Neptune@alexishotel.com if you would like to discuss this further. I am happy to hear that the front desk was able to get you into a room that was more comfortable. But do email me to discuss things further. I look forward to your response, and thank you for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Booked this hotel because it seemed like a good location downtown. It was a great find. The rooms are very cool. Great design and the fixtures are very elegant. We walked to almost all the sights we wanted to see. We had cocktails in the Bookstore, a very nice bar attached to the Hotel. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SupremeCuisine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

How wonderful! Thanks for the great review. We always like to hear when guests are happy with their stays. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of our property. We are in such a great spot in downtown. Super close to everything! Guests love when they can just walk out our doors and wander to all of the hit spots in downtown Seattle. Thank you again for being our guest and we can’t wait to have you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I organized a conference group and we stayed at the Alexis. The staff were fantastic- from my first call with booking questions right through our visit. The hotel location was right where we needed to be and convenient for non-conference activities- it was great to be right by the water and so close to Pike Place market.
Our group loved the free happy hour- we gathered very informally in the lobby for a glass of wine and snacks....which was a really nice perk. The rooms were great and the atmosphere was fun. When we left I left some clothes behind---and the hotel got them to me in 2 days. All around a great stay!
I'd definitely go back on a personal or family trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denverjjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thanks denverjim! Sounds like you and your group had a wonderful stay with us! We do try to make a whole experience great, from meeting spaced to group room blocks. Not only do we have our guests who come to adventure through the city, but we have our business guests that need space for meeting and the easy flow from work to relaxation. Which makes me so happy to hear that this happened for you and your group! I’m also happy to see that we returned your left items back to you as well.  Thank you again for sharing your stay with us and we look forward to your return back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Centrally located, this exceptional Kimpton property puts you where the action is. Restaurants, museums, water taxis, ferries, are just minutes away. The Bookstore bar and breakfast venue are highly recommended. Keith, the Concierge is a treasure, as are all of the staff. Monika at reception is wonderful! Try a suite...some with a water view.Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of The Wheel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you, thank you, thank you!! We always love to hear the word “exceptional” when a guest is reviewing our property. And you are correct, one of the many wonderful things about our property is the location. Guest are always mentioning how easy it is to walk to and from all of the near attractions. I’m happy to hear that you took advantage of that! You are also correct about Keith and Monika too! They are two of our very best team members and we are glad to see that our guests think the same.  Thank you for sharing your stay, and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed at the Alexis on a whim while on a recent trip to Seattle. Beautiful hotel within walking distance of most of the sites in a decent neighborhood. Would stay there again.

A caveat - we did not have a reservation but had checked the hotel rate and availability from our cell phone as we drove by and spotted the hotel. When we walked up to the desk minutes later and asked for a room, we were quoted the 'walk up rate' which was $100 higher than the internet rate. When we pointed this out, we were told you had to book via the internet to get that rate. we ended up stepping aside, sitting in lobby and booking online via the internet to then check in at the front desk to get the better rate. The desk staff gave us the internet code but it seemed like an unnecessary hassle at a $$$ hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank WanderingFeet26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to shay your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I’m sorry to hear about the inconveniences you faced at check in. Please feel free to email me at Jenne.Neptune@alexishotel.com to discuss this further. We would love another chance to show you the kind of service we work so hard to provide! I look forward to your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 105 in Seattle
2,771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
0.3 mi away
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Paramount Hotel
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 105 in Seattle
1,878 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 105 in Seattle
3,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Alexis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Alexis Hotel

Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#8 Green Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £168 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Alexis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast's Gold List, Kimpton Alexis Hotel knows how to raise the bar with stand out hospitality and amenities (including Amazon Echo Dots in every room and suite) making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel's commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Kimpton Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Author's Corner & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Alexis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing