We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Amazing service”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The staff at this hotel from the door to the desk were so friendly and helpful. We had a view of the ferris wheel and it was easy walking distance to the waterfront, aquarium, etc. The hotel itself is really lovely, clean and spacious. I can't wait for another chance to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Well we can’t wait to have you back as well! It makes me very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us. It sounds like you had one of our Executive Suites? They do have some pretty wonderful views of Elliot Bay! Thank you again for being our guest and sharing your stay with us. Till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,489
    361
    100
    32
    23
See reviews for
355
847
112
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Planned to stay at nice 4 star hotel after Alaskan cruise, but for over $400 a night, this place fell well below expectations. Even though we booked a room with two double beds and arrived early, they placed me in a room with a king and suggested we use the pull out couch. After we refused, they "found" a room on the second floor. While they did apologize with a free bottle of wine, we were given a room that had a few noticeable issues. 1. Grout in bathroom / shower was moldy. 2. A tub/shower for a 4 star hotel--really? I expect that at Homewood suites. 3. Sharing balcony with neighbors--weird. And door didn't fully close so we got to hear road noise all night. 4. Dark room, and hard to find light switches. And, then to make matters worse, the party they had in their entertainment room (1 floor below) could be heard at full volume all night. When I called to explain that I had to be up at 530 am for a flight--again, nothing they can do. Deal with it. Basically, I would spend your money elsewhere---avoid the issues and stay at a hotel that meets 4 and 5 star expectations.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric_edison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
I have reached out to you via email and phone call and look forward to getting this resolved to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
317 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband stayed for a week and I joined him for three days.

Location – awesome if you want right downtown Seattle a few hundred steps from the Pike place Market.

Service – Good to very good especially the valet guys that meet and greet you at the street. Wonderful coffee service in the lobby in the morning and wine in the evening
.
Room – Appropriately funky and differentiating from the usual Marriott, Westin, etc. Wish they had a coffee pot in the room even though they have a great coffee service in the lobby. Quite and clean.

Gym – very small but OK. Lots of great walking opportunities nearby including a wonderful trail on Puget Sound.

Price – We were paying a corporate rate of about $300 night which was fair but the $42 for parking felt a little high.

Issues – A slightly weird smell in the room that they were covering up with air freshener. The hotel restaurant for breakfast is cute and has good food but the service is extremely hit or miss – like one star to five star.

We would go back and we might recommend it to friends….depends on the friends and what they were looking for.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austinjjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us! It is very detailed, and we always appreciate the feedback. I’m glad to hear that out of your top three things, it was the service and actual rooms that you enjoyed. I apologize for the lack of the coffee maker in your room. We do not have them in every room, but they can be available upon request. And our gym is on the smaller side, so I’m happy to see that you took advantage of the running path near the waterfront. It is something in the works that we are working on expanding. So do look forward to that! As for the parking, we do recognize that it is on higher end of parking prices downtown, but we do over parking discounts with certain rates that are booked. We do hope that you will give us another chance so we can show you the true, full Alexis Hotel experience. Till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Islip, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Was our first time in Seattle and through TripAdvisor, seemed like a good choice. What a wonderful find. Close to everything, was able to walk to the market as well as a Mariners game. Nice big, clean and modern room. If we visit again, would stay here again, no doubt.

Room Tip: We had a suite, nice and large. Perfect for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccgolfballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Well we sure do hope you come back for another visit! We would love to have you back. We thank you and your family for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to hear when guests are having a wonderful time! And you are correct in our suites being perfect for families of four. We are lucky to have different suite types and sizes that it makes it easy for guests to book certain rooms that they need for their families. Thank you for mentioning that, and we look forward to having you back in the future. Till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Mum and I stayed here for a couple of nights before our cruise. First impression wasn't too good. The man on the door helped us to unload our luggage and was friendly. At reception when we explained that we were a bit early, the lady just said that our room wasn't ready. We said that wasn't a problem but could we leave our luggage and come back later. 'You will have to see the men on the door' she said. I'm afraid I was expecting a few more words from her....like....Good afternoon, welcome to the Alexis, I'm afraid your room isn't ready yet, would like to leave your luggage with the door men and return after 3?. Perhaps we caught her on a bad day. When we returned to the door there was no one there. We approached the concierge's desk to ask if he could help and waited for a few minutes while he chatted casually to a couple sat nearby and ignored us. One of the door men returned and dealt with our luggage. When we returned a couple of hours later a very helpful man was on the desk. He explained how to get to the elevators which were about 100m away. We couldn't find them at first so returned for more directions!
Our room was in the adjoining building. The room had a hall about 20m long with lights and a small closet. The room was large with twin double beds which were very comfortable. There was a sofa, chair, coffee table and large desk. Lighting was very poor. A table lamp between the beds and one on the desk. The shower room was a good size and very clean. Towels were good but only one hand towel between two?
Storage was also poor. A drawer in the bedside table, one in the bathroom and a small set in the small closet. There was no hotel information in the room other than the room service menu. We asked the grumpy lady the next day - she was happier that day - and she said there should be an information book in the room and she would see to it. We never did get it. I was interested in using the ' yoga mat in room and complimentary yoga channel'. Thankfully I realised in time from the mini bar menu that the mat was not complimentary, but cost 45USD! An expensive yoga session that would have been.

The hotel seems geared towards business meetings. There are several conference rooms but no restaurant. There is a nice coffee shop in the foyer. Good for breakfast and light meals.

The Alexis is in a great position, walking distance of Pike Place, the waterfront, Macy's etc. It was very quiet even though we faced the main road.

Would we stay there again? Probably not. I thought it was very expensive, even though we got a good deal through our travel agent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near main elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
I am genuinely sorry to hear that your stay did not reflect the pride we take in caring for our guests. Please reach out to me personally at jenne.neptune@alexishotel.com if you would like to discuss your stay further. We would love another chance to show you the kind of service we work so hard to provide! Thank you for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I've stayed at the Alexis many times, it's my favorite Kimpton in Seattle based on location, service and restaurant. I like the small feel and the staff is always helpful. Some of the rooms are quite large and they often offer upgrades. Also, I once forgot my sunglasses in the room and they shipped them to me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thanks so much Michael! I’m very happy to hear that we are your favorite Seattle Kimpton! We love to hear that. That’s fantastic that we were able to find your glasses for you and have them shipped back. We appreciate your love and support, and can’t wait to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at hotel for 1st trip to Seattle. Had been use to Kimpton hotels in NYC, and curious if my experience would be similar. Not surprisingly this boutique, greatly located hotel, with its tremendous staff and extremely well adorned rooms, lived up to my expectations. This hotel had it all. Would stay in a minute again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank louis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
What a wonderful review! Thank you Louis G.! We appreciate you taking the time to share your stay with us. I especially love hearing that you thought our staff was tremendous. Oh, and that we lived up to your expectations! As a general manager, we love to hear about our staff and their effect on our guests. We strive to make those expectations for ourselves and feel grateful when guests notice it! Thank you again for being our guests, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
2,949 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loews Hotel 1000, Seattle
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Alexis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Alexis Hotel

Property: Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#8 Green Hotel in Seattle
#12 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Alexis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast's Gold List, Kimpton Alexis Hotel knows how to raise the bar with stand out hospitality and amenities (including Amazon Echo Dots in every room and suite) making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel's commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Kimpton Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Author's Corner & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Alexis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing