We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property, great service, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Alexis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
The Colony, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, great service, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed at the Alexis 5 nights when we visited Seattle on our anniversary and I don't think we could have made a better hotel choice. The location is great, we reserved a car from the airport to get there and were able to walk or take the bus to wherever we wanted to go. It's a short 10 minute walk to Pike Place (uphill, but then what isn't in Seattle?) with plenty of interest to see on the way and several good restaurants in the area and a nice bar just downstairs. Like much of the city, the clientele on this street is eclectic, you'll walk past a wide variety of establishments, but nothing where I didn't feel comfortable going out on my own.

When I told them we were there for our anniversary, they bumped us to a king room with a sitting room at no charge. Additionally, we showed up early and they held our bags until check in, no questions asked (any good hotel *should* do this, but the response can be surprising) as well as holding the bags for the couple of hours between when we checked out and when the car picked us up.

The room was lovely - comfortable, spacious and well appointed. The view wasn't awesome, we just saw the top of the next building over, but we had curtains drawn for privacy most of the time anyway. The bathroom was beautiful as well, marble everything and garden tub - the Aveda toiletries were a nice tie in to the salon downstairs. Usually I don't really care about hallway decor in a hotel, other than that it's tasteful, but the artwork on display at the Alexis is wonderful. We have a ballerina in the family and took several photos of the displays just to show her.

The only drawbacks I identified were
- that I could have done without walking past the Aveda salon coming in and out, after a day or two, the fumes got to be a bit wearing.
- that the desk staff weren't terribly knowledgeable about the less tourist-y attractions in the area (we were doing more of an 'off the beaten path' focus)

Overall, it was a refreshing change to stay somewhere with personality and charm, rather than the usual cookie cutter modern hotel - definitely worth the extra $20-30. I make a point to recommend the Alexis to anyone we know visiting Seattle and now try to find Kimpton hotels whenever we travel.

Note: Be sure to sign up for the Kimpton rewards membership before you check in so you get points for your current stay. I didn't notice it until we were checking out (I'm sure they would have taken care of it if I had said something, but I was a bit flustered trying to get all those last minute things taken care of before we left town).

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KearstinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve080, Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2009
Dear KearstinB -

Pleace accept our thank-you for sharing your comments and review of the Alexis Hotel. Personal feedback means a great deal to all of us at the hotel, and your review of our property on TripAdvisor will help many future travelers in their travel planning decisions.

At the Alexis Hotel we strive to be less "cookie cutter" and more 'off the beaten path' and it sounds as though in most cases we succeeded! Your comments regarding our front office staff knowledge about the less touristy attractions in the area will be shared for our continued improvement. We are also sorry to hear about the 'fumes' from our Aveda salon just off the lobby. Generally this is not an issue but will investigate to see how we can best manage this issue for future guests and stays. The way our hotel floorplan is laid out - there are 2 "sets" of elevators, depending on which wing your room is located, one set does not go past the salon entry - thereby avoiding this issue, while the other set does. We'll work on this comment (thank you for sharing).

With our sincerest appreciation for your feedback,

Steve S.
for Alexis Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,452
    354
    100
    32
    21
See reviews for
352
821
110
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

Just as I am baffled by the stellar reviews for the appalling Inn At The Market in downtown Seattle, I'm not sure the Alexis merits the spate of poor reviews here.

We moved to the Alexis after two nights at the run-down and pretty ghastly Inn. We booked into the Authors' Suite at a rate we considered entirely acceptable.

So, the good, bad and so on...

Bad first: housekeeping really needs to get its act together. Very variable service: noticed one dirty wine glass remained uncleaned for four days! The Authors' Suite has zero view, looking out onto an alley. The bathroom could do with an update. Useful but over-priced valet parking.

Good: friendly welcome (Inn At The Market please note and copy); vast room at a reasonable price; comfortable bed; excellent location moments away from the Market, Pioneer Square, etc.

So, not the perfect hotel (by a long way) but it balanced location. comfort and price very well - very likely to return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve080, Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2009
Dear csmac -

We'd like to thank you for your review of the Alexis Hotel. Comments such as yours are extremely helpful for us to identify any issues that may need worked on, and your positive feedback as well is equally as important to our success (and of course are staff).

Please note that we will share this feedback with our respective teams - and can't wait to welcome you back to Seattle's one and only - Alexis Hotel!

All our best,

Steve S.
for Alexis Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

Smaller hotel, great location, 2 blocks up from waterfront, 4-5 blocks to pikes market and shopping district.

Rooms clean. Beware of upgrade offer. We made a reservation for an "Alexis Guestroom with one king bed on a higher floor" - the description specifically stated "all offering city views" and a few days later received an e-mail asking us if we wanted to go on their "eStandby" list for a potential upgrade to a deluxe king room for an additional $9.00 more per night. The deal was that you would not know if it was available until you checked in and if upgrade was not you would keep your original reservation and rate. Sounded like a great deal since deluxe room was significantly more than $9.00 more if we had booked it originally.

When we checked in we were informed that we were "in luck" that the upgrade was available. What we were given was a larger room on the second floor facing an alley. When we asked the front desk staff about this we were told that it was a much larger room. We did not feel as though this was an upgrade as we did not come all the way from RI to Seattle to look at the alley. The other bad part of this was that the alley is also where the dumpsters are located and we were there for 4 days and the trucks came two different days at 4:30 am for the trash and then again at 5 :00 am for the cans/bottles. We mentioned this to the front desk staff when we checked out and the told us they had no control over when the city picked up the trash.

There are plenty of other hotels in Seattle, we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinamarieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve080, Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2009
Dear Tinamarieri -

Thank you for sharing your review about the Alexis Hotel. Let us first apologize for any miscommunication or missteps on our part related to our eStandby upgrade program.

The eStandby program is a great way for travelers who may be looking for a larger room, or even a suite - and who may elect those options at check in based on our changing availability. It sounds as though your upgrade to a deluxe room provided the larger room, but not necessarily the views that were intended. Many of our guest rooms offer what would be considered traditional 'city views' (i.e. skyline, landscape, etc.) but due to the nature of our building, this is not the case in every situation. We do still hope to offer customers who elect this option the larger room based on their needs. We sincerely apologize for the city waste collection occurring at inopportune times during your stay. Over the years we have taken measures to 'soundproof'' as much as possible being in a downtown environment (as with any downtown hotel) but will take your comments to heart as it relates to our staff training in how we react to these situations.

Please accept our thanks for your comments and know that our staff are committed to improving upon those areas of concern.

We hope we can demonstrate to you our exceptional hotel on your next Seattle visit!

Sincerely,

Steve S.
for Alexis Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

There's NOTHING wrong with Marriott, Hilton, and all the rest of the standard "nice" business hotels. But if you go on vacation and want a bit of something with flair or je ne sais qois, go get it! The Alexis makes a pretty good attempt at an "oh sweet!" hotel stay. There's art on the walls, good color scheme, you know, a sense that you've escaped the institutional tan and orange and grey boxy landscape of hotel hospitality. Yes, in a way it has got curved lines -- in the funiture, pillows, textiles -- and is just that, girlie. Bec/ sometimes spare, modern minimalism just really doesn't cut it; it's just off putting. Esp on holiday! So that's how we chose the Alexis.

The room itself was a deluxe king facing 1st Ave. (It was surprisingly well sound proofed.) Large, with a couch and armchairs, as well as a little work desk. Rich browns and super high ceilings, and exposed brick. It was CUTE. There were some plumbing design issues with the bathroom, but overall we loved the room and would have stayed a second night if we could. Loved the lobby visuals too.

Second, it's a walkable location. While we stuck to a few spots, the highlights were certainly its proximity to the water/ waterfront with great views of the sound; to Pike's market although I disklike the dining options there; and to any number of coffee shops. These are probably embedded in the fabric of Seattle but still, being sufficiently caffienated would seem to be important to getting the full Seattle experience. The restaurants and coffee and music seemed to be in Belltown, about a half mile walk. A pleasant walk, but watch for the homeless folks who seem more up front with passers by than out east; kinda territorial too. The buses in the downtown area are all free from 8am to about 6pm, quite nifty and handy. Esp handy bec/ the hotel charges $35+ for parking a night.

The not so good is that the concierge takes off at 6pm, exactly when he would be of most use. He was also never there when we needed him, like a reverse clairvoyance (for us, not for him probably). Anyway, didn't get to try room service or the restaurant downstairs. But it's great for location and a bit o' style. Now, I've seen a comment that the place across the street is way better, but I couldn't bring myself to sign up with "Hotel 1000" what kind of a name is that? That's like, totally lazy. Where's Hotel 294? or Hotel 788?

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank urbanlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve080, Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2009
Dear urbanlm -

We'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review of the Alexis Hotel. It is always appreciated when we have guest feedback, and in particular those with take-away items that we can learn from. Your comments will be shared with our team, and we hope that we will continue to be your hotel of choice on your next visit to the Emerald City

Warmly,

Steve S.
for Alexis Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

The Alexis hotel is absolutely beautiful. We had a room with two double beds, and what we werent expecting was the huge roomthey were in, complete with lounge and sitting chair, desk and small sink to prepare food. the room was the largest ive stayed in, was very clean and the bathroom was spacious.

The Alexis is in a great location, only a fifteen minute walk to the victoria clipper and less to the other ferry terminals. The Pike place market is only 10 minutes walk and the shops not far past that. (we recommend the seattle food tour of the markets).

staff were very helpful, especially Woody on check in (what a spunk!!), they also have free internet at the check in desk which is great for checking in for your flight, restaurant and local info.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve080, Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2009
Dear holiday092 -

Thank you for your review of the Alexis Hotel. We are happy to hear your stay with us was a success, and look forward to your next visit to Seattle

Your reccommendation on the food tour of Pike Place Market is also a nice excursion that every visitor to Seattle should try - thanks for sharing that tip as well!

Sincerely,

Steve S.
for Alexis Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

The Fireplace Suite was very large and well-appointed. The staff-was attentive. Complimentary wine hour from 5-6 pm daily was a nice way to kick off the evening. Ethera Salon Spa offered happy hour 30 minute massages for great price - see Meggan, she is an artist and a healer. They offer a wonderful steam room which requires coordination with the front desk which did not go perfectly. Otherwise, 5 stars all the way.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccusim1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

This is a lovely hotel with an art theme. I had an executive suite with wonderful decor and lots of intriguing contemporary artwork. Overall, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient: 1-2 blocks from restaurants Ivar's and McCormicks, a 5-block walk to Pike Place Market, near bus lines, close to the light rail coming this summer, short walk to stadiums, etc. The onsite restaurant was efficient, friendly, and offered good food.

This hotel stretches across 3 old buildings. I was in the "north tower", where the plumbing and air conditioning worked well. While the decor was excellent, the bathroom was very small. The floor above me creaked when people walked around, and the street noise was fairly loud. There is no view, but typically none of the Kimpton hotels I have stayed in have a view to speak of. So I think that is not an emphasis of the chain.

Another problem with Kimpton chains is that the fitness centers tend to be sub-par, and the Alexis is even below that. The fitness center is a small room with one recumbent bike, 2 ellipticals and 1 treadmill, and a small fan on the floor.

But these complaints are really nit picks in a hotel that is a privilege to discover. I definitely plan to return and feel that this hotel's ambiance was a big contributor to the enjoyment of my trip.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mjtraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel 1000
Hotel 1000
#10 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Alexis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Alexis Hotel

Property: Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#8 Green Hotel in Seattle
#12 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Alexis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast's Gold List, Kimpton Alexis Hotel recently completed a $10 million renovation, making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel's commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Library Bistro & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kimpton Alexis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing