We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, some drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Paramount Hotel
Ranked #5 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
“Decent hotel, some drawbacks”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I come to Seattle pretty regularly for work and have stayed in a few of the hotels in the downtown area. As far as quality the Paramount Hotel is quite good. Comfortable bed, decent room service (Dragonfish, the hotel restaurant is a great Asian fusion spot), standard bathroom amenities.

However, as a business traveler, I often find myself in my hotel room doing work at odd hours. One thing I've noticed is that their wifi is pretty horrible, at least compared to some of the other hotels in the area. It drops out from time to time and it's very slow. It's barely fast enough to handle normal e-mail. Attachments take forever and forget about streaming any video with decent quality. Sure, it's free, but a number of other hotels with free wifi have much faster connections. There's also no option to pay for faster service that I could find.

I'll definitely keep this hotel on my list of potentials for my future visits but there's others in the same price range that will win out if they're available.

Oh and for some reason my room and hallway smells like maple syrup and pancakes every morning. This isn't necessarily a bad thing but it's a bit odd.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle A, General Manager at The Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad to hear that you had an overall good experience with us here at the Paramount. We do apologize for the wi-fi performance and any inconvenience that may have caused. We'll be sure to pass your comments along to our team so that we can take them into consideration in future planning. That being said, we do hope you'll consider staying with us again the next time you're in Seattle. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    516
    68
    28
    16
See reviews for
324
693
103
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, CA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This turned out to be a good hotel for our usual summer trip to Seattle.

It is on the edge of 'Downtown' but you can get quiet nights...

Very good front desk service.

Location is just outside of the Pike's Market map center.

Try going with the many--great--Seattle local bus lines from near the front of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle A, General Manager at The Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We're glad that you were happy with your stay. We appreciate you mentioning our convenient Downtown location and good customer service. Perhaps we'll see you again next summer. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentor, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel had very clean rooms wand excellent customer service and is conveniently located close to shopping and the Pike Market. The concierge personnel were very helpful and accommodating with tips on sites to see and restaurants.Free WIFI in rooms was another plus.The restaurant in the hotel was above average and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrekingNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle A, General Manager at The Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hi! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review your stay. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your four day stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our convenient location, cleanliness, and helpful team. We hope to see you the next time your plans bring you to Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at the Paramount over the November 11th weekend and thought it was a great choice of hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms, super restaurant and a very convenient location for downtown. I'd certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a downtown hotel and we'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle A, General Manager at The Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our friendly and helpful team, nice rooms, and convenient location. We're so happy you chose to stay with us and would do so again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

You usually only get friendly, patient staff like the Paramount's when you're in one of those old, small downtown hotels. But they've done it in a building constructed in the 1990s that looks as bright, clean and well appointed as the day it opened. I was greeted by Tom, the exceptionally friendly and conversational bellman who made two trips to my car (one down to the garage) for me and didn't expect an extra tip - I doubled the tip anyway! The front desk staff Is one of the most cheerful I've encountered in 40 years of business travel. They're especially good at briefing on hotel services, even pointing out the wifi code without me having to ask. The gave me a no-extra-charge room upgrade without me asking. Room was medium sized by small hotel standards, but handicapped accessible so it had a big bathroom with very strong exhaust ventilation.
Good art and historic photos on wall for a atmosphere. A little more quiet than most downtown hotels. I appreciated the abundance of electrical outlets on the desk and tops of both night stands for charging my four devices. Only thing more I could ask for would have been faster wifi and a more intuitive alarm clock. BTW, the mp3 connection to that clock generated noise. But generally a delightful stay.

Room Tip: Ask handicapped accessible if available. You get a huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mort1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle A, General Manager at The Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and thorough review. We appreciate the kind words about our exceptional and friendly service. Thank you for mentioning some of the great little details that we enjoy such as the table-top outlets! We'll be sure to pass your comments regarding the MP3, alarm clock, and wi-fi to our team. We hope to see you again in the future and thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Paramount Hotel Seattle. This is a lovely boutique style hotel that is located a few blocks from the main shopping district ( Macy's , Nordstroms) malls and restaurants. The hotel was having a foodbank promo and with the donation of three items to their foodbank drive parking was included ( 33/day) and the rate was reduced. The hotel provided flavored water in the evening and coffee in the morning. Front desk staff were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are not huge but very well thought out with a spa feel to the bathroom with robes provided and plenty of towels. The king size bed was very comfortable.The only small issue with our overall experience was the wifi service which was so slow as to be non existent. We would definately return.

Room Tip: Check on line specials as there seem to be several offered at any time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KT324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle A, General Manager at The Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location for shopping, our amenities, friendly team, and comfortable beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Enjoyed staying at this hotel during recent stay in Seattle for meeting at nearby Convention Center. The staff were most friendly and supportive. The lobby has the hint of a relaxing European hotel. The next door Asian restaurant is great for dinner/drinks/happy hour - I did not try it for breakfast. My only complaint would be the small workout room stuck downstairs on the parking level. More space, equipment and some natural lighting would help. Overall great stay and will go back next time in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DartSkiDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle A, General Manager at The Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Your feedback is important in our efforts to prove the best service to our guests. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you've chosen to return the next time you're in Seattle. Thank you for mentioning our friendly ream and relaxing decor. We've taken your comments about our gym into account and will be sure to refer to them in future planning. That being said, we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 101 in Seattle
3,086 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 101 in Seattle
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt At Olive 8
#9 of 101 in Seattle
2,418 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
2,670 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#18 of 101 in Seattle
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paramount Hotel

Property: The Paramount Hotel
Address: 724 Pine St, Seattle, WA 98101-1843
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#6 Family Hotel in Seattle
#19 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Seattle
Seattle Paramount
Paramount Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing