We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Ranked #62 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2008

After reading the reviews I requested a room away from the the the Interstate but to be honest all sides of the hotel are bordered by city streets. At night there were sirens, motorcycles etc. It was as loud as staying in a Manhattan hotel. So if you are looking for a quiet nights sleep you might be disappointed. The room was nice and the bed was VERY firm. They give you these half pillows. There are about 8 on the bed but I couldn't get used to them. The toilet was clogged the first time we used it but housekeeping was there 5 minutes after we called them.

The breakfast which was included was outstanding. You had the waffle iron, eggs, bacon,sausage,cereal, toast ,bagels, english muffins, toast, fruit and fruit juices,yogurt,danish and of course coffee. (Hazelnut,regular and decaf.) I had no problem ever getting a table. I figured this saved me $20 bucks a day for my wife and myself. The staff are super friendly and efficient. They have a cocktail lounge were you can get appetizers and a happy hour from 4-7.

I had the friends and family rates of $89 a night and no car so I didn't have to deal with parking. Their shuttle service takes you to the Westlake Center and the Space Needle on the hour. ( It would be nice if they added a stop at Pikes Market.) You can also call them for pick up service as well. You are about a mile from the Westlake center and 2 miles to Pike's Market. You can catch a bus outside the hotel which takes you downtown, but beware nobody in Seattle including the Bus drivers know how this system works. I had three large books which I got on various buses and mine still weren't listed in them. There are hundreds of buses in this city. You only can buy an All Day pass on the bus on the weekends. During the week you have to find an outlet that sells them, the location of which, seems to be a State secret. However I must say everyone is cheerfully willing to give you advice so it was hard for me to get mad for incorrect advice because Seattlians are so nice.

There are a lot of hills in the city but if you like walking this hotel is a great choice because you are no more than 2 miles from anything. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kellyjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2008

Stayed at Springhill Suites last night while in town for Supercross race at Qwest stadium. Got a great rate, with taxes and valet parking fee $103., but still not worth it IMO.
The front desk people were great, gave me keys to 2 rooms to check out the noice level, I selected a room on the back side of the 9th floor which had a view of the sound, which was nice. The drapes are only for looks as they do not close (why?), so at about 5am the room started to light up, and though the noice from the Interstate was not loud enough to wake us up it was loud enough to keep us awake combined with the lit up room!
The $21.78 manditory valet parking was a pain, we called ahead, our car was there when we came down but we had to wait for a long time to get the keys because they were so unorganized.
Marriott has been consistently one of our favorite places to stay around the US, but not this one.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank funmomwithteens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2008

This hotel was an awesome deal! We booked through seattlesupersaver.com and it was only $100 a night for king suites!

It's in sort of a random spot but it's a quick walk, shuttle ride or cab ride to downtown stuff. They have a shuttle that leaves the hotel once an hour and it was only $6-8 for a cab ride to other neighborhoods.

The rooms were big and clean and and the hot breakfast buffet was great.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

Taking other posters' advice, we called ahead to request a room NOT on the interstate side of the hotel, and they gladly complied. We arrived late on a Friday night .. room was clean, quiet, and nice. Our room had a king size bed, jack and jill bathroom, pullout sofa, and sink, mini-fridge and microwave.

Breakfast in the morning was great -- Saturday morning was a little busy, there were not enough tables for the quantity of people at breakfast so we had to take our breakfast back to the room to eat it -- lots to choose from: waffles, bagels, cereal, eggs, sausage, bacon, fruit, cottage cheese, coffee, tea, juice, milk..

Location was right off I-5, great for drivers -- my husband and I did alot of walking to see the sights and we decided it was "almost" too far to walk downtown or to the waterfront. We did it twice -- took about 25 minutes.

Starbucks across the street (of course!!) , Subway across the street as well .. REI is less than 2 blocks away, a nice place to see closeby!

Hotel bar closed at 11pm on Saturday night, seemed odd.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pharmernicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights and overall had a good, but not great, experience. The first day we were there, we left the privacy sign on the hotel room door to allow the kids to sleep in for a bit. Left the room at 11am, and removed the sign. The room was not cleaned that day.

The breakfast was excellent although the line up for the buffet and waffles sometimes reached the back of the room. On 2 of the 3 mornings, I left the kids upstairs and stood in the line up and brought the breakfast back to the room since there was no seating in the restaurant.

The room itself (on the 4th floor) was spacious, and facing the highway. We had no problem sleeping and didn't find it noisy. We appreciated the microwave and fridge in the room. Also, even though it wasn't a true suite (seperate rooms), it had 2 TVs which was appreciated!!. The pool is small, but ideal with kids as the deepest it gets is 4'6". The staff were friendly and courteous, allowing us to add an extra night for the same rate we'd already booked in at.

We walked to the monorail with 2 children under 8 in about 10mins and cabbed it to Pike Place the next day ($8 including tip). Great location close to amenities for the price. I would stay there again for a vacation with the kids. Wouldn't choose it for a romantic weekend though.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2008

We stayed here for 1 week and enjoyed it. My wife had a conference at the convention center Sun-Wed and I worked from the hotel room. The chair, desk, and free wired internet were fine and I had no problems. The mini-fridge was nice to have too. We didn't use the 24 hour fitness directly across the street but it was free with room card. We did use the hotel pool/hot tub and it was nice. It was only 10-15 minute walk to the convention center if you weren't able to take the hotel shuttle that only left on the hour.
We did have a room on the 5th floor that faced the highway (I-5 is very close). The traffic was somewhat loud, but I didn't find it very disturbing. I always bring earplugs when staying in hotels and slept fine with them in. If you are sensitive to noise, you should request a room that does not face I-5. The only real complaint I had was it was all one big room. I guess I am used to Embassy Suites where the bedroom is separated by a wall and door. You could not have one person sleep and another watch TV since the TV was between the bed and couch (with 1/2 wall between them).
The breakfast was surprisingly good. You could make your own waffles and they even had fruit and whipped cream toppings along with maple and boysenberry syrup. They had 5+ types of cereal, several types of breads and toasters, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, fruit, and milk/juices/coffee daily. Some days they even had pancakes, but not every day.
Overall, a nice hotel with free internet and free breakfast downtown. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank robstrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

The Springhill Suites was a pleasant surprise. It was very clean, rooms were spacious with a mini fridge and a microwave. A free hot breakfast every morning, and most of all the friendliest staff I have encountered in a long time. They also have an arrangement to use the facilities at the 24 hour gym across the street free of charge. I would suggest not renting a car since driving and parking in Seattle is a total disaster, plus you end up spending a small fortune on parking no matter where you go. They have an hourly free shuttle that goes to the Space Needle and shopping area, and from there you can catch the monorail. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank golfnsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union

Address: 1800 Yale Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-1433
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £83 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. Just minutes from the Westlake Center via light rail, the Convention Center, The Space Needle, Waterfront, Pike Place Market and the Cruise Terminal's, our Seattle hotel's accommodations offer easy access to many of the city's top attractions. Start your day with a free hot breakfast buffet, and end it with a specialty cocktail at our Bistro on Yale Bar (happy hour is from 4-7 p.m.), or enjoy fresh regional fare at the Bistro on Yale Restaurant. Guests can also enjoy our Seattle downtown hotel's swimming pool, spa, fitness center, and free shuttle service. We are also proud to offer Complimentary access to 24 Hour Fitness located across the street. On-site parking is a valet-only service for a fee. All of our Seattle hotel suites offer spacious living and sleeping areas separated by a privacy wall, as well as kitchenettes with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We look forward to welcoming you to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing