We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in a rough location, and OUCH the beds are hard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Ranked #64 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in a rough location, and OUCH the beds are hard”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed for a convention last month. The hotel itself is nice, well appointed, foyer area is nice and lively. Front desk clerks could not have been nicer or more professional.

The problem is if you are on foot this is in a rougher area of downtown. Walking between here and the convention center was never without something interesting going on, and I may have broken up a drug deal or two by my presence. I never felt my life was in danger, but felt I could witness something else going on at any time.

I had a 2 bed room unit with a small kitchenette. The room was nice enough, seemed clean and was fairly spacious.

But then we come to the beds. The 2 beds in the room are the hardest beds I have ever slept on in my entire life. I was surprised when I pulled up the blanket to see an actual bed there, and not a large plank of wood or concrete. The pull out couch was actually more comfortable than the bed was.

Room Tip: As with most hotels, the higher the room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyDp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    346
    134
    47
    26
See reviews for
226
170
40
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is very well appointed with an excellent breakfast buffet and nice lobby. The valet parking is necessary and cost is lower than most downtown hotels (theirs is $22, most are over $35+ a day). The rooms are clean and well appointed but I think the bed and couch should be switched. I say this because the property is basically on top of the 5 freeway and the noise/hum was never ending. If the bed was further from the window, possibly it would have been quieter.

There was no security that I could see, and one night we had a guy walking our halls that seemed to be misplaced. I would have preferred that the room keys activated the elevators after a certain hour, because there is a side entrance that bypasses the front desk, so people could come in and go straight to the elevators.

There is no concierge but the front desk is helpful with directions, unfortunately one girl really did not know her way around and she finally admitted it.

We did not use the shuttle service because we had a car, however I would not recommend walking around this neighborhood unless you had a male figure in your group. There were some questionable looking characters at the youth center, which is adjacent to the hotel. Although it was a good value, if I was traveling with just my daughter (as I do often) I would have switched properties.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JKRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were part of a group of nine traveling together from many parts of the United State. We chose Spring Hill Downtown because of the location. All of the most significant travel destinations were easily accessible.
The hotel was the standard American style and very comfortable. The breakfast, included in the price, was in the range of expectation: anything from scrambled eggs to yogurt and fruit.
One of the reasons we chose this hotel was the availability of a passenger van which was used as a shuttle to any part of the city for no more than a tip to the driver. A very welcome "extra" but it requires advance notice for a time of departure which is fixed the the half hour.
Also, lunch at the Space Needle on a sunny day is a great experience. The restaurant revolves a complete 360 degrees while you eat. All of the urban area and parts of the Sound are seen quite clearly. The food was acceptable but not outstanding for the price of $125.00 per couple which includes entry to the tower.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, USA
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very good choice for downtown Seattle. It's a little bit of a hike to Pike Place and the Needle, but if you catch a good day, well worth the walk. It's right off I-5 and couldn't be more convenient to get back on the highway to the airport. The breakfast was better than most SPS and the service was great.
If you're in Seattle, check out The Crumpet Shop... It's amazing

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechMarauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Howdy TechMarauder! Thank you for the kind words. Great tip on the Crumpet Shop also. Hope all is well in Houston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We've stayed here for our last two cruises out of Seattle. There is a complimentary shuttle that can drop you two blocks from Pikes Place Market or at the Space Needle. The complimentary breakfast buffets are excellent. The front desk can arrange a shuttle to nearby cruise piers for $7 per person. There is no shuttle from the airport, but this hotel is a regular stop for Shuttle Express, which currently costs $18 one way or $31 round trip per person. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful with directions and local information. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hi Kristine! Thank you for your feedback. I hope you had a nice cruise to Alaska. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

If your looking for a hidden gem, go with this well placed hotel in the heart of Seattle. You can walk to the space needle, chihuly garden, pikes place, pioneer square, heart of downtown shopping etc. dont miss the amazing free breakfest each morning. Rooms are very clean and the staff were very friendly. The best location for the price. They also offer shuttle service if you are boarding a cruise ship as we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GassonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I often stay at Spring Hill Suites. Much like the rest of the Marriott family, they are reliable. This site is clean, modern and has plenty of amenities like free access to 24 Hour Fitness and a great free breakfast.

However, the benefit of staying in a downtown hotel in Seattle is the ability to walk wherever you want to go. I would not walk near this one except during the day time. Several unlit streets nearby and all the streets feel unsafe. The area is run down.

If you want a Marriott, stay at the Courtyard by the lake and feel safer.

If you want downtown, the Westin, Sheraton and others are much better option and still offer points on frequent traveler programs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadowfax_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Greetings Shadowfax! Thank you for your review. Though we do face the challenge of being in the city, our neighborhood is as safe as any other here in the downtown area. We are excited to be in the South Lake Union area and in close proximity to the new Amazon campus. We work very hard to keep our city clean and safe by working with local agencies and our neighbors. Our guests' safety and security is our top priority. Thanks for staying with us. Safe travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union

Property: SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Address: 1800 Yale Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-1433
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. Just minutes from the Westlake Center via light rail, the Convention Center, The Space Needle, Waterfront, Pike Place Market and the Cruise Terminal's, our Seattle hotel's accommodations offer easy access to many of the city's top attractions. Start your day with a free hot breakfast buffet, and end it with a specialty cocktail at our Bistro on Yale Bar (happy hour is from 4-7 p.m.), or enjoy fresh regional fare at the Bistro on Yale Restaurant. Guests can also enjoy our Seattle downtown hotel's swimming pool, spa, fitness center, and free shuttle service. We are also proud to offer Complimentary access to 24 Hour Fitness located across the street. On-site parking is a valet-only service for a fee. All of our Seattle hotel suites offer spacious living and sleeping areas separated by a privacy wall, as well as kitchenettes with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We look forward to welcoming you to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing