We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Ranked #62 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The best thing about my stay was the staff very accommodating and professional. The location is okay, valet team was confused. The room was clean enough, the bed was very firm and I am sure some people may enjoy a firm bed, however it was not my preference. The bed linens are minimal and no luxury touches to be found in the room what so ever. The bath towels could be upgraded to a higher standard with being a downtown property. Room service could use more attention to detail; with that said for hotel room service they had very reasonable prices. Food quality could be reviewed again more attention to detail and quality of ingredients. The room was quite, nice inner-city views, very urban. The lobby was nice could use some artistist touches that are uniquely northwest and specific to Seattle, one of a kind art pieces would set this hotel apart from your standard select service hotel. The boxes sitting behind the front desk assumible being sent out for a guest should have been stowed out of view for everyone else to view, again attention to the details. The elevator having nice finishes had stains in the floor assuming it was coffee and this wouldn't normal be something I notice but it was there all four times I used the elevator I would have assumed someone would have cleaned this obvious stain over several hours. They do have a pool and hotel shuttle which are nice service and their arrangement with the gym across the street is a nice service as well. With all this said the property has so much potential.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank portlandguy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed here for a work trip, and extended it 2 nights for vacation. The hotel itself is fine. The lobby is nice, and includes a decent bar. The staff is very friendly and helpful. My room was pretty nice - it had a separate sitting area where I could watch TV and do work, and also had a refrigerator and sink. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was fine and clean enough. However, the rug and walls were dirty (grease stains, black marks) which was kind of surprising - I don't understand why they didn't clean those stains. Nothing that really interfered with my stay, but I didn't want to walk barefoot on the rug.

My room was on a lower floor and faced the interstate, which was just like background noise (it is noisy though, and doesn't ever stop). However, the garbage truck came at 6am several mornings, and woke me up every time.

I ordered room service one night and it was just fair, but there are other restaurants in the area, including a very good Thai place. During the day, the area is totally fine, but at night it gets a bit deserted. There is an encampment of homeless people by the highway, just a couple blocks away. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the Pike Place Market, so a pretty good location, and definitely cheaper than some other nearby hotels. We just took a cab back to the hotel at night, and never felt unsafe.

The hotel has an indoor pool which looked nice, but I didn't use it. The free breakfast in the mornings was great - they even had make your own waffles on the weekend. There was always hot food and cold grab-and-go choices, and the oatmeal was really good. Basic, but much better than most hotel free breakfasts!

In all, I'd say that if you get a good deal here, it's worth saving $100/night and just take a cab back to the hotel at night. Try to get a room away from the interstate though.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fenway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Fenway7,

Thank you for staying with us and making the effort to review the property. We appreciate your comments as well as your business. We hope you will stay with us again when visiting the area.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We went for a quick getaway, we were able to walk to all of the Seattle attractions we wanted to see. Hotel was very busy due to Seahawks game. Service was good room was clean and breakfast was good. The Bar was cozy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonde50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was our first stay in this hotel and the last one, for sure. The lineup for breakfast each morning of our 3 night stay was huge. We had to wait in line about 45 minutes just to discover there is nowhere to sit and very limited amount of food left. People where literally fighting for trays to be able to take breakfast to their rooms. The elevator was so full that we had to use stairs that led us to the outside and walk in the rain to get to the restaurant. Stay away, friends and happy new year!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maliatski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Poor service. Room had view of interstate (not the water or city ). Bathtub and sink would not drain. Room smelled like it was recently sprayed with pesticides. Valet parking was $26 with tax - and the area is not safe at night to be walking with luggage from other parking locations that are free. No assistance with bags - despite arriving at 11pm with young children. Inedible breakfast and coffee. Diaper and towel found floating in the pool. Overall I would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vegatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Decent hotel - clean and basic for the price. At first glance seems like a poor location but actually in good walking distance of many things: downtown, museums, music clubs and great bars and restaurants. The location was a bit better than the downtown hotels ONLY close to downtown. I would have scored it higher (for the price) except for a hiccups.

First, Service staff weren't very friendly. We booked through Expedia and made a note for a room facing away from freeway for noise. Expedia urges you to call to confirm notes - when we did the front desk staff sounded very annoyed that we called and said there request was in our file however when we got the room, we were still facing the freeway.

The other hiccup was with the free shuttle. We got on at the space needle - about a 10 min walk from the hotel. Not far but we were late for dinner. It's a bit of a trip as the shuttle makes a full loop. At the last stop from the hotel (about a 25 min walk) someone got on the shuttle with. Reservation and we were kicked off the shuttle and told to walk - the full 25 min back to the hotel. It ended up costing us an hour. While I can understand that if you make a reservation with the front desk it should be a priority, it's up to the driver to let other guests know the vehicle is booked before letting guests get on. If you have mobility issues, please be awAre of this when using the shuttle.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank backpackingwithstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

From the prompt valet service, to Ben at the front desk, to Gabe at the bar, this stay was amazing.....The room was huge, clean, the bed was super comfy!!!....We will never stay anywhere else in Seattle again!!...this place is great!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith I I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union

Address: 1800 Yale Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-1433
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £83 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. Just minutes from the Westlake Center via light rail, the Convention Center, The Space Needle, Waterfront, Pike Place Market and the Cruise Terminal's, our Seattle hotel's accommodations offer easy access to many of the city's top attractions. Start your day with a free hot breakfast buffet, and end it with a specialty cocktail at our Bistro on Yale Bar (happy hour is from 4-7 p.m.), or enjoy fresh regional fare at the Bistro on Yale Restaurant. Guests can also enjoy our Seattle downtown hotel's swimming pool, spa, fitness center, and free shuttle service. We are also proud to offer Complimentary access to 24 Hour Fitness located across the street. On-site parking is a valet-only service for a fee. All of our Seattle hotel suites offer spacious living and sleeping areas separated by a privacy wall, as well as kitchenettes with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We look forward to welcoming you to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing