We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Digs, Good Location, Free Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Ranked #60 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a really nice hotel for getting around the Seattle area. If you do not have a vehicle it is only about a 15 minute walk to the Westlake area, where you can catch the light rail to and from the airport, with multiple stops between, including Pioneer Square, Chinatown, Stadiums, etc. You can also catch the monorail at the same place, which takes you to the Seattle Center. Here's the good thing to know, the hotel has a shuttle and on the hour, they go to the Westlake Center and the Convention Center and on the half hours, they go to the Seattle Center (that's where the Space Needle, EMP, Chihuly Museum, etc are). You need to reserve a spot for the time you want to go at the front desk and you can also be picked up at those spots at 10 minutes after the hour for Westlake/Convention Center or 20 till the hour for Seattle Center, with a call to the hotel letting them know you will be waiting. Note that the shuttle only holds like 10-11 people so if there were a big convention in town or something, this wouldn't be something I would county on.

The staff here has all been very friendly and helpful with the exception of the dour man who kicked us out of the jacuzzi promptly at 11pm. They take that cut off VERY seriously, although it doesn't appear they take the gym cut off as seriously since that guy was not asked to leave.

The room is nice. All rooms at Springhill are "suites", but these are really more of a hotel room, with a half wall divider between the living area and the sleeping area. THey do have a very small kitchenette with a sink, small fridge, small microwave, and tiny coffee maker. The bathroom was pretty darn small. The counter did not leave much room for my massive quantity of toiletries and styling tools. heh Also, in our bathroom the towel holder is falling out of the wall and the toilet has a weird flushing issue where you have to hold the handle a long time. We mentioned it to the maid when we checked in because it wasn't flushing and she came and held it down a long time and then it worked and she said, "all fixed now"! Uh, ok. I'll report everything when we leave but we aren't a fan of people in our hotel room... my husband is paranoid.

If you're in an "executive suite" on the 10th floor, that means that you have the same room as everyone else, but we have a coffee/tea station in the mornings and the evenings and snacks put out in the hallway in the mornings and evenings. We also get bottled water in our room. I think we also have more toiletries provided, but since I haven't been in the other rooms, maybe they all come with shoe shiners, body scrubbers, and the little vanity pack. Executive!

I do like that they use Paul MItchell products! I've noticed that at other SPringhill properties before. I'm a P.M. fan, so yea for me!

A highlight in this room is the mass quantity of plugs. So rare and so appreciated in this tech world of ours. Also the clock radio has an ipod dock. Of course the TV is in the middle between the "bedroom" and the "living room". Haven't even turned it on this trip, but it's a little awkward set up like that for viewing.

One "love" I have of Springhill properties is the complimentary breakfast. This one does not disappoint. It varies each day, but they have three hot dishes, plus oatmeal. Both scrambled and boiled eggs are available. The usual bread assortments, some fruit, juices and cereals are offered and to my delight, they had Lucky Charms in the cereal rotation. What? I've been craving that kid stuff. Mmmm... for the last two days I breakfasted like a 6 year old. YES!

Not much for views and next to the freeway so there is some noise, but most of the time I don't notice it.

Overall, I like this hotel, the location isn't CHOICE, but it's good and we've already discussed we would stay here again on future visits. Price? It was really pricey by my standards, but apparently in Seattle, hotels are crazy expensive, at least in August!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side do not face the freeway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyjadegd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

I'm so happy to hear that we've been able to take such good care of you when you've been up in Seattle. It sounds like you've stayed with us several times, and I really appreciate you taking the time to highlight the amenities that we offer. I'm sure guests considering where to stay in Seattle will love the details you've listed.

That said, it's disappointing to see that on your last visit you experienced some issues with your suite. I really appreciate you bringing them to the attention of our housekeeping service, and I'll look into any potential repairs. Additionally, I'd like to apologize on behalf of the night staff member who spoke to you at the pool -- I'm sure he meant no offense, but a harsh tone is never necessary.

Overall, however, it sounds like our breakfast, accommodations and location worked out well for your touring needs -- we look forward to seeing you back!

Stay in touch,
Frank F., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

The folks working the front desk were very helpful. The suite room and the bathroom were more than adequate. The breakfast was very good .All in all a great place to stay. Would go back when we are in Seattle.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetsioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

So glad to hear you were pleased with your room and our breakfast. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Seattle -- keep in touch for when you're back in Washington!

All the best,
Frank F., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

If it wasn't for the the front desk manager who tried like heck, this would have gotten a 2 star rating. The price was high so that is considered in review. Shuttle situation was a cluster. They implied shuttle was included, but it requires cash. Breakfast was marginal and coffee terrible.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank TktPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our accommodations -- we'd never want our prices to put a damper on your stay, nor would we want to misrepresent our services. It sounds like there may have been a miscommunication about our shuttle, because it's complimentary for all hotel guests. As for our breakfast, we strive for a great meal, so we're sorry if it wasn't up to snuff. We hope you'll consider giving us a second chance when you come back to Seattle.

All the best,
Frank F., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The best value in Seattle. I stay here for business. Service is always pleasant and helpful. Free breakfast and exercise room is great with kids. Stay in a high floor because the higher you are the quieter it is. Also, stay on the westside if possible because it faces away from the freeway. Hotel check-in staff has always been accommodating when I ask pro-actively.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Manzanitabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

We're so glad to hear that you've enjoyed all your stays with us. It's so important to us that we make your travels comfortable -- especially on business trips. We really appreciate the feedback here on TripAdvisor -- thank you for taking the time to reach out!

All the best,
Frank F., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very friendly and helpfull staff, also the buffet breakfast was good! We were with four persons and the rooms are big enough, just what you may expect from a suite only hotel!
We personally found the parking kost a bit high, espacially because they only offered valet parking. We checked-in late, after 11pm however still got a full day charged.
Luckily they offered a free shuttle service to and from the Spaceneedle and downtown Seattle, this service compensated the high parking costs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martijn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It sounds like you had a crowd and were comfortable. That said, we're sorry that you found our valet parking cost to be excessive, but it sounds like you made good use of our shuttle service. I hope you enjoyed seeing the Space Needle! Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us -- we hope to see you back on your next trip.

Best,
Frank F., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was dubious after I booked this hotel because there were complaints about the shuttle, about the cleanliness. I found NONE of that to be an issue! The hotel was very clean, the front desk staff was very helpful. The shuttle was never an issue. We were a group of 10, adults and children, and not once did we have a problem using the shuttle. You do need to schedule the shuttle, it runs every 30 min and has 3 drop off locations, but we always got seats at the time we wanted. It takes you within 2-3 blocks of Pike Market Place, and right to the Space Needle and Chihuly Gardens (which are together). You are given a business card, and call when you want to come back. They have scheduled stop times, but then they know you want to be picked up. They had a large breakfast with nice selections. Coffee is available in the lobby, and flavored water at all times...another nice touch. They have 2 computers in the lobby that you can use for free, but free wifi is available in the room. The indoor pool and hot tub seemed nice, but we never had time to use them. Our adult daughter slept on the pull out couch, we put the sofa cushions under the mattress and it was fine then. That made it higher and firmer for sleeping.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MnJH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

What a family trip! It sounds like you had a wonderful time in Seattle, and we're so glad that we could be a part of it. It's always our goal to be sure that our guests are comfortable, but it sounds like you guys were mostly on the move! Glad you enjoyed the city and hope you'll keep us in mind for your next stay.

Safe travels,
Frank F., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed several nights in March of 2014. What a nice pleasant surprise! Very modern contemporary design in lobby and room. Fitness center excellent. Breakfast was outstanding!
Lots of young professionals, nice crowd. In hotel restaurant was used twice and we found it great for a light meal. Free shuttle will drop you off in several downtown locations, Pikes Place etc. Walking distance to REI headquarters store...a good visit.
Only downside is you have to pay for parking but all the downtown hotels are like that.
Going back to Seattle soon and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

I'm so glad that you enjoyed staying with us on your trip to Seattle! Thanks for the heads up about the shuttle for our new guests -- we love being able to help people see the sights. We're sorry that parking was a bit of an issue, but, like you said, it's one of the downfalls of limited space downtown. That being said, we look forward to seeing you later this year! Stay in touch as you plan your trip.

Until next time,
Frank F., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Belltown
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union

Address: 1800 Yale Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-1433
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £88 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. Just minutes from the Westlake Center via light rail, the Convention Center, The Space Needle, Waterfront, Pike Place Market and the Cruise Terminal's, our Seattle hotel's accommodations offer easy access to many of the city's top attractions. Start your day with a free hot breakfast buffet, and end it with a specialty cocktail at our Bistro on Yale Bar (happy hour is from 4-7 p.m.), or enjoy fresh regional fare at the Bistro on Yale Restaurant. Guests can also enjoy our Seattle downtown hotel's swimming pool, spa, fitness center, and free shuttle service. On-site parking is a valet-only service for a fee. All of our Seattle hotel suites offer spacious living and sleeping areas separated by a privacy wall, as well as kitchenettes with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We look forward to welcoming you to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing